We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a country where even good hotels are a rarity..”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
new york ny
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a country where even good hotels are a rarity..”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have been visiting Switzerland every year for the past 20 years on so to attend the art fair in Basel. This is a country with exceeding bad hotels with very big price tags. The dolder Grand is certainly an exception. This is a first- rate hotel in every. Delightful front desk staff, perfect concierge. The parking attendants are lovely, as are the bell boys, laundry service, and room service. I would recommend this hotel to any one attending the Basel Art fair. The trains run from the Zurich main station every 1/2 hour, well into the evening. It is an easy hour plus commute from the front door of the hotel to the front door of the fair.
The hotels in basel are a nightmare. This is a great alternative. Quiet, extremely clean, great bathrooms, comfortable beds and bedding, fabulous location overlooking mountains and the lake.
Perfect...forget the hotels in Basel, believe me!

Room Tip: Seems as thought all of the rooms a great..a great hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    111
    41
    14
    17
See reviews for
135
409
59
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was attending a Family Office conference. This is a beautiful old fashioned (in the best meaning of the term)hotel located on a hill overlooking the lake and a golf course.
The staff were great and got my phone back for me which I had left in a taxi.
Service and décor were impeccable and breakfast (thankfully included,otherwise 30-50 SF) was a delight on the open terrace overlooking the lake.

While my room was spacious and filled with all obvious needs it was too hi tech!
The TV and room controller were complex and I ended up having to get out of bed to turn the lights on as there is NO switch by the bed as it is supposed to work from the one controller. However, you cannot see it in the dark and the print is so small you can hardly even read it in the light! The bathroom was again a nightmare of too many options for taps, lighting, TV ,etc. Sometimes simple common sense (like a light switch by the bed) should not be handedd away to designers who clearly live on another planet!

Room Tip: Not cheap but exceptional old world charm.Read my notes re the hi tech bedroom. Not a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our stay at the Dolder Grand was just perfect. Arrived Friday morning and had lunch on the garden terrace with friends. Service is just impeccable, and food tasty.

Room was spacious with balcony & view towards golf course and Zurich See. Only thing missing was a networkcable to directly connect notebook to internet and last but no least some mean of playing my own music over the soundsystem (no bluetooth or cable)... this is something I'd expect when I have a TV built in to the bathroom mirror, a B&O TV and curtains that open by pushing a button :)

Breakfast on the garden terrace was just as good as lunch when it comes to service and food quality. I must say that the eggs benededict were cooked to perfection, never had them any better!

Saturday night we had dinner at "The Restaurant" and had the pleasure to taste the tasting menu with pairing wines: WOW! That's the way I like it.

Sunday we arranged a daytrip with one of the hotels mercedes cabrio's. We went to Luzern, furkapass & toured around the Vierwaldstättersee.... what a day what a day!

Monday a day in the Spa, which was packed... but enjoyed that day outside under a parasol (it was 35C).

We'll be back when we come to Zurich!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartBvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I can honestly say that I have NEVER stayed anywhere as nice as the Dolder Grand. Ever. We had a junior suite which, while crazy expensive, was totally worth the money. It is a 5 stary luxury resort, so you have to know going in that things aren't going to be inexpensive. Sometimes that is exactly what you want. We had floor to ceiling windows that opened out onto a huge balcony (where we ate most of our meals) that looked out over Lake Zurich and the Alps. Cannot beat THAT view. The amenities were top of the line, and the service was beyond fabulous. The property is filled with art of all kinds and the atmosphere is serene and peaceful. The architecture is lovely and the new wings (spa and golf) that were added fairly recently meld well with the original building. The Dolder offers a shuttle to take you into town that runs on the hour all day. The driver was happy to show us some of the sights and explain what we were seeing along the way. The concierge offered us water as we set out for the day -- which since it was 92 degrees was a very nice touch. We were at the end of a vacation, and this was a perfect way to wrap it up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robsmom32207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A place to be for people interested in architecture and luxury things. The hotel had a total remake by star architect Norman Foster. The fusion of traditional parts in combination with very modern elements is great. Specially the golf- and spa-wing rooms are very nice, also in the lowest price category. We stayed in an junior-suite. Very spacious and very cosy design. The spa is outstanding, with areas men/women separated and ares together. Massage quite expensive but very good. Overall a must see in Zurich, not cheap but you will remember it.

Room Tip: I would take the spa-wing-rooms, direct access to spa by elevator and great view over lake of zurich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a great time at the Dolder Grand.
Kept ordering jugs of water for our numerous cuppa tea ... By the tenth jug they figured it might save them a bit of time by handing us a kettle so we could do it ourselves. Breakfast was a bit expensive but so worth it.

The food display was very impressive. Highly recommend it. Staff was very polite and helpful. I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your recent visit at the Dolder Grand and for sharing your opinion with us.

We appreciate that you took the time to express your experience and we are delighted to read that you admire the performance of our staff. Please be assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my entire team, since they highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

We are sorry to hear, that you did find the prices of our Breakfast a little bit expensive, however we are glad that you have still enjoyed it and particularly commented the impressive food display.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back at the Dolder Grand on a future occasion. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It's hard to rate expensive luxury hotels because you also have to consider if it's really value for money or not. But in the case of the Dolder Grand the hotel really delivers - it's a true 5+ star hotel with nice rooms, gorgeous views, excellent service, fantastic restaurants and an amazing spa.

ROOMS
The rooms categories start with Single/Double Superior which have a view towards the back side/forest/courtyards. We were lucky to be upgraded to a Double Deluxe which means you have a front side view towards the golf course/lake/Zurich/alps.

We chose of the 6 historically decorated rooms which means a newly renovated room with hand-painted ceiling, hand painted/printed wall paper, (new) furniture and bathroom fittings in the 1899 style, and a great B&O television. We loved our room! The only negative detail I can think of is that 1899 style lamps don't give a huge amount of light, so the room is a little bit dark after sunset. If you want a lot of light, maybe you'd prefer a room in one of the 2 modern wings (Spa Wing and Golf wing).

The higher category rooms also face the front side (with the view) in various angles: Junior Suite Superior, Junior Suite Deluxe, Junior Suite Grand, and then the many different top end Suites.

RESTAURANT
We didn't try the Michelin starred restaurant but the "Garden" restaurant was very good. Breakfast is not a buffet but is served at the table. Everything was beautiful and delicious, and service was attentive and semi-formal but friendly. One morning we had the breakfast in the room and it didn't cost much more than eating in the restaurant (okay it's already a bit pricey to start, since it's high end).

SPA
The spa was a huge positive surprise to us. There's a free.-form indoor swimming pool, 3 different kinds of bubbly tubs outside of various temperature, several different saunas and steam rooms, hot lava stone beds (?), a freezing cold snow room, etc etc. Also plenty of sunbeds on differenet terraces outside and a couple of different kinds of chill-out rooms inside. The main area is mixed male/female and then there are also a men-only area and a women-only area. As a hotel guest you have free access to the spa - normally for outside guests a daypass is CHF 250 on a Saturday or Sunday. We didn't try the spa treatments; they are naturally quite pricely and probably excellent. Access to the gym was easy via a footbridge from the main building to the Spa Wing. The spa is at the bottom floor of the Spa Wing, so if you plan to go there a lot, maybe it's nice to stay in that wing to be able to just take the elevator down.

GYM
The hotel gym is also excellent, with about 12-15 brand new Technogym weight machines, cardio machines, free weights, and all kinds of interesting workout gadgets. Staff was very friendly and happy to show how the machines and gadgets work. If you want music while working out, bring your own.

SERVICE
Service was truly excellent. Somebody wrote that staff was not that friendly but I feel they were super nice. A luxury hotel will always be a little bit formal, but everybody from the bell man, reception staff, restaurant staff, roomservice staff, spa staff, gym staff - all were very nice and very service minded. Really amazing staff.

In summary, the Dolder Grand is an amazing place - very expensive but also very, very, very nice - definitely deserves a rating of "5" even considering the room rates. And especially if you have time to enjoy the spa!

Room Tip: The room categories start with Single/Double Superior which have a view towards the back side/forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your detailed and positive review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our refreshing and positive service attitude and especially mentioned the Dolder Grand Spa which pleasantly surprised you. Please rest assured that I will forward your motivating words to my staff as they inspire us to continue in the same direction with enthusiasm and joy.

We are sorry to hear, that you felt the lighting in your room was too dark. Of course, we will review the dimming levels of our historical rooms in order to evaluate improvements.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
675 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
212 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
473 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#5 of 138 in Zurich
757 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing