We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Stay”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Outstanding hotel!
It looks like a castle but very modern and comfortable inside.
We could see lake Zurich and a part of the city from our balcony. The room was large, soundproofed, clean and beautiful. We had a remote control for TV and lights, a super comfortable bed and a very large bathroom with a fancy bathtub, shower cabin or rather shower room, a "toilet room", TV and radio.
Food was tasty and sophisticated.
The staff, professional and nice, made us feel like emperors.
In the evening we enjoyed some drinks at the bar or at the terace bar.
From jacuzzi in the spa area we could see Zurich from above. Amazing!
The Dolder train is a very good way to reach the city but also you can walk.

I warmly recommend this hotel and I would definitely love to return here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    106
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
130
394
56
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surlej, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The best hotel I have been so far. Arrived in the early morning. Not looking too crisp after a 16h flight and a ton of luggage and a surfboard. Probalby not your everyday Dolder Guest.
Everybody made me feel welcome right away. Not pretencious, just honest hospitality. Check in was fast and easy. room superb. Location by far the best in Zürich. Hope to be back soon and thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel setting is magnificent and the overall quality outstanding. Having said that I found the interior design particularly in the main reception area disappointing and not in accord with a 'Grand Swiss Hotel' There has been no expense spared but i do question having large posters/images showing Mao Tse Tung alongside Cow and Gate mike advert etc I feel they let the interior designers try ' too hard' just to be different. Also the Garden Restaurant is very functional in appearance and has somewhat of an 'executive lunch venue' in a large company. The Spa area is fantastic.
The staff are as you would except - very professional and the food was a good standard but nothing memorable. Also be aware if you want to see Zurich town this is not your best location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adder26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for sharing your honest opinion with us.

We are delighted to read that we could meet your expectations in many respects and appreciate your positive overall conclusion.

In terms of your comment regarding the design of the reception area, we truly regret that «Big Retrospective Painting» by Andy Warhol was not to your taste. Did you know that you can take advantage of our «art iPad» to discover the more than 100 artworks, which are mainly displayed in the public areas? Furthermore, it is worth adding that a Hotel shuttle bus service runs regularly during the day, taking guests to the nearby city centre free of charge.

We truly hope to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand on your next visit to Zurich. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Unfortunately, we didn't stay at this amazing hotel but we will next time on our next business trip. We caught a taxi up from Zurich city to what looked like a fairy tale castle and were awe inspired on arrival by the amazing view it commanded over the snow capped alps and Zurich city and the hotel's unique architecture.

We were greeted by friendly and professional staff and shown around for that time we will return. We sat at the outside bar under the warm heaters for a good part of the evening and enjoyed the lovely cocktails and wine. It was a wonderful evening and we look forward returning, but next time to stay at this grand lady.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bardi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your wonderful feedback following your visit to the Dolder Grand.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great evening with us enjoyed the beautiful views over a glass of wine or a cocktail. Have you tried our Signature Drinks «Wasa Khaan» and «Saffron Mojito»?

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand as a hotel guest on your next business trip to Zurich in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in the modern wing.
I wanted to extend the trip for another ten days just for the spa, and I am not a spa person.
The service was wonderful. A little outside downtown Zurich. A taxi is 30/40 francs one way if you don't mind that. It would be a long walk.
This is the place to stay. Worth every penny. It was a wonderful refuge from the city.
Gorgeous property. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the modern wing with a balcony. The view was enchanting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChigirlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your favourable feedback following your stay at the Dolder Grand.

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, and that you savoured the pleasures of our Dolder Grand Spa as much as the friendliness of our staff. In terms of your comment regarding the comfortable location of the hotel, it is worth adding that a Hotel shuttle bus service runs regularly during the day, taking guests to the city centre free of charge.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand and recommend to check out our «Spa Retreat at the Dolder Grand» Package. In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I really spend a great week end in this palace, we enjoy the pool, sauna and all the SPA facilities - great hotel surrounding and superb food in the 2 restaurants - Top 2 stars Michelin diner - great served breakfast... all was perfect from car valet service to check out time.
If time - just enjoy it - promenade near the hotel and forest nearby was also quite nice and a great 9 holes golf...

Room Tip: ask old building and room with terrace facing lake and Zurich city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdgardGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for your favourable feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt comfortable in and around the hotel.

It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back to the Dolder Grand for many more enjoyable moments. Did you know that this September, our Chef Fine Dining Heiko Nieder, invites 12 Michelin starred Chefs to our Owners Gourmet Festival «The Epicure»? Perhaps you will find the opportunity to join us for these days of Culinary Masterpieces. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

...and it turns out some do! It turns out that most of their signature suites are actually in long term rental! Wow!!

Our return to this fabulous hotel once again did not disappoint. While many may prefer to stay in town, in my opinion the hilltop location of this great hotel makes it the perfect choice. We love being nestled in the quiet solitude of this forested neighborhood where you are only one charming ride on the Dolderbahn plus an easy few stops on the clean and reliable tram to get to town. The hotel is not cheap, but what is in Switzerland? I love the classic Club Sandwich, the spa facilities are amazing, the views incredible, staff is great (much improved from previous visits)! Yes, the rooms have gotten a little high tech. A previous remote control was easier to use but I suffered through it...besides, who wants the shades drawn with that view! This place evokes a James Bond movie like setting, but it was also the setting of our engagement several years ago so it holds a special place in our heart! We will continue to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing