We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes ya just get lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sometimes ya just get lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had never been to Zurich so we used Tripadvisor to pick out our hotel and WOW, this hotel is truly stunning and lives up to all the high expectations.

Service is truly great, the views are lovely, the room we had was fabulous with a great balcony and a view of the city.

The ONLY drawback to this property is that it is a couple of miles from downtown. If you consider that a drawback, which we didn't. We were in town over the Swiss National Day and our location on the hill was great to watch the fireworks after we finished dinner.

Really cannot say enough great things about the property. Ask for a room on a high floor looking over the lake, it's worth it!

The rooms are exceptionally quiet due to the doors being at least 5 inches thick. I have never seen anything like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor in the main building overlooking the lake and mountains. Wow, what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddandLisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    106
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
131
389
56
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is gorgeous. It looks like a castle surrounded by nature in one of the most beautiful areas of Zurich. Beautiful view of the lake and city. Who wants to spend a beautiful holiday would recommend a stay at the Dolder.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Dolder Grand is quite literary one of the most luxurious hotels in the world you can ever stay stay at. At the time of writing, No 1 on trip advisor at this price level is quite an achievement for top priced hotel. It's not in the centre of Zurich so must have transportation. The views of the Alps do make up for it with excess. We had a suite: luxurious furnishings, high-tech without being ott, views. The most lavish room service breakfast. Impeccable service. Superb spa with offers of plastic surgery and medical checkups on demand. We travelled with a young child and we found it to be great (couples of course would find it even more agreeable). Live at Sunset is a sublime outdoor event. You can take children to the playground and pool near it, go for walks in the forest. Rare experience of perfection.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wow what a stunning place. One of the best hotels in the world. Views are amazing, They have the best spa too. Pricey but nice to get pamapered once in a while. Definately worth a visit. They do offer a free shuttle during the day from the hotel to the city and centre and back. Its also well connected with public transport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cool18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Dolder Grand is a special hotel. Staff go out of their way to make everything perfect for guests. We booked through Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts and were upgraded to a very nice Junior Suite with view of the lake and mountains (although sadly we could not see the Alps until the morning of our departure due to rain clouds and fog). The Restaurant offers a great dining experience with incredible service, although extremely pricey. The breakfast in the Garden restaurant downstairs was also very good with great service. What really stands out at this hotel though is the peerless concierge service. Special shout outs to Jens, Markus and Caroline with whom I interacted frequently during my stay. They gave us one of their convertibles for a day trip to Stein am Rhein, Schaffhausen and Rheinfalls. They also arranged for train tickets to Berne and Lucerne. Jens suggested a very nice day trip to Mt Rigi and he assisted with all arrangements for this trip.
We were traveling with our small son and were impressed by the level of attention he received, he was even offered toys on a couple of occasions.
Although it does not affect our overall rating of our Dolder Grand experience, there was a major downside that was related to the fact that we were with a small child. They do not allow children under 12 at the pool. This was a bummer since we were not able to enjoy one of the key amenities that this property offers. To be fair, they went out of their way to compensate for this policy, they even drove us to Dolder Waldhaus, a 4 star property close by. However, the conditions there were not even remotely comparable to the real deal. So, yes, we found that a little unfair particularly taking into account that this is the only hotel we experienced such restriction and after all we paid the same as guests with no children who were able to experience all amenities.
While not located in the heart of Zurich, it is very easy to get from the hotel to the city centre. There is a shuttle service every 30 minutes and there is also Dolderbahn, a cable car that runs from the premises to the city, where one can take a street car for 5 minutes to the center.

Room Tip: Be cognizant of their policies if you travel with children under 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Driving up to the entrance of the hotel is like stepping into a Swiss fairytale!! The lobby is beautifully appointed and the reception staff is very helpful and friendly. We booked a Junior Suite in the new wing which was quite a long walk away from the reception but every inch of the hotel is a juxtaposition of old and new which makes it a pretty interesting walk! The room was a dream. As modern as they come, incredibly spacious and with a beautiful view over the lake. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel which was nice with good quality food & service but the restaurant lacked any sort of atmosphere. Overall I would probably want to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I'm having trouble remembering the time in my life before The Dolder Grand. I mean, it was only a week ago that I didn't know of this hotel's majestic property, but life before was just a blur.

Life is clearer than ever after The Dolder Grand experience.

Let's be honest. This hotel is EXPENSIVE. So expensive. But it's worth every single penny. It's clean. It's beautiful. The staff is like a warm blanket on a cold day. Like an umbrella in a torrential downpour. Like all your best friends and favorite family members rolled into one giant, better version of all your best friends and family members. Friends and family members that will never argue with you, just shower you with compliments and kindness. Does that even exist in real life? WELL IT DOES AT THE DOLDER GRAND!

Complimentary breakfast? You betcha!
Radio and television IN THE BATHROOM MIRROR? You better believe it, sister!
Free coloring books and colored pencils? Uh...yeah! Who doesn't want to sit on the balcony while giving life to a black and white teddy bear?
Fossils in the shower? Obviously! They only used the finest materials when meticulously crafting each room.
Having the ability to keep the room temperature at 69.7 degrees? Of course! We all know that .7 makes all the difference in the world!

The views. The ambiance. The grandeur.

The Dolder Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Jacob_TDG, Managing Director at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your wonderful feedback following your visit to the Dolder Grand. We are overwhelmed by your unique praise - if only half of your very personal words are true, they made our day.

At the Dolder Grand, we aim to give every guest a personal experience and to provide a quality of life that enables our guests to escape the everyday. Your comments are a ringing endorsement of our day to day efforts and have been shared with the entire team.

Please do come back and give us another chance to contribute to a memorable stay in Zurich in the very near future. We would love to surprise and delight you with even more personality and uniqueness. How about a tour of our herb garden together with our chef?

Yours sincerely

Mark Jacob
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#8 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing