We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful city but overpriced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar
Ranked #2 of 46 Zurich B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful city but overpriced hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked this hotel because of the location and good reviews but room was tiny-the smallest room we have ever stopped in! The wardrobe space was way too small with only 4 coat hangers for 2 of us to share with 4 day's worth of clothes. However, despite feeling disappointed with the room we settled down to sleep thinking everything would feel better in the morning! What followed was the worst night's sleep I have ever had- noise from people shouting in the streets to church bells ringing throughout the night ending with a lorry outside shifting furniture very noisily at 7am! After breakfast we checked out and found another hotel which seems much more peaceful- fingers crossed! Think of the hotel as a trendy youth hostel then perhaps you won't be as disappointed as we were but for £200 a night we expect much better. However the staff were very accommodating and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 401Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    72
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
5
89
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We two women (seniors) booked eleven nights here during the Zurich Film Festival in late September/early October. It was in the most perfect location we could have asked for, the room (with the “surprise” ensuite bathroom) was spacious and comfortable, and our hearty breakfast each morning really set us up for the day. There was, as some have noted, a fair amount of street noise during several of the very pleasant nights, but we knew this was a possibility and came equipped with earplugs, so no problem! Great value for money is this very expensive city, particularly since we booked online and got the free breakfast option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlaygirlsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the charming Niederdorf neighborhood, but the Classic room with a balcony is very small. This petite room might be better suited for a single traveler. The quaint space has more of a B&B feel, especially since the reception area also runs the bar/café. The hotel's best asset is Sigi, a very friendly & accommodating member of the otherwise indifferent staff. Perhaps a younger, independent traveler would fair best here since reception staff interaction is minimal. Breakfast in the bar is adequate for a simple, no-frills start to your day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California (San Francisco Area)
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel while we were in Zurich. We were in Room 9 on the 2nd Floor. The Hotel Platzhirsch has a bar/lounge underneath the hotel and upon our arrival and being a bit jet lagged we didn't realize that there were two seprate doors to this establishment (one door said Bar above it and the other said hotel - we thought it was one long sign). So we walked in through the bar with our luggage and was pointed to a huge sliding glass door that connected to the entry way of the hotel (which we should have entered through). I started laughing when I realized that the person in the bar area who directed us through the connecting door to the hotel side actually stood in place and turned around to face us through the hotel reception window. I think he realized he had been pretty silly in insisting we dealth with him through the hotel reception window instead of the bar desk (which was actually one and the same).

We had reserved a room WITH A BATH ROOM IN THE ROOM and a Balcony since we are now older and can afford a few luxuries in life. The room was clean and comfortable and a good size for a European Room. The room contained a safe, hair dryer, free wifi (they gave you the code upon registering) and small refigerator. Even though the room size was small it was adequate for two people - had a comfortable double bed. The only problem was that I had brought a 26 inch piece of luggage instead of my 21 incher since we had to bring our hiking gear as well as nice clothes on this trip and It was difficult to find a place to spread out this piece of luggage so I ended up just taking out only what I needed for the day instead of trying to unpack.

Loved the balcony where I could sit out side and watch all the happenings on the plaza! Just wished the weather had been better so I could sit outside more - sigh!

Location was EXCELLENT! In the heart of the old town and close to trams and bus (we took the train in from the airport and walked the few blocks from the train to the hotel. The hotel is in the historic center of Zurich so it was fun roaming around and exploring especially early in the morning and later in the evening when the tour bus people were gone. Then it becomes a local hang out place and other areas would became quiet neighborhood places if we wanted to escape the hustle and bustle.

It's also close to a major grocery story "Co Op" and a "Migros." Note: Migros has more smaller portion, ready to eat items great for a picnic and Co Op is larger and sells beer and wine and in some locations have their own resturants as well.

Noise factor - since we requested a balcony room, it was right over the bar and it could get noisy at nights but we were always up early in the morning and back late at night so we were so exhausted we didn't hear the noise. We did discover that the double doors to the balcony also works as windows that open depending on how you work the handle but if we closed it properly it muffled the noise quite a bit. From reading the other reviews of this place I knew it could be noisy and brought ear plugs just in case but didn't have to use them.

Breakfast - we booked this room directly with the hotel and got their internet special that included breakfast. It was served in the bar area and was quite good. The normal contenital breakfast - crossants, variety of breads and spreads, cold meats, cearls, fruit and your choice of tea, coffee or chocolate.

Staff - They were great! Staff was friendly and helpful. They provide us with extra coffee in the morning for no extra charge (hubby got to have at least two cups of coffee each morning to wake up). Even when our friend came and met us they didn't charge him for a cup of coffee when they realized he had been waiting for us to come down from our room.

It was worth staying here and is a nice place - highly recommend paying a bit more for a room with a bathroom and balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My friend and I stayed here in the twin bedroom during September. Service and location were great. Bathroom is very interesting. The shower is actually in the room with the shower door not offering much privacy and the sink is in a cupboard. Also the beds were very close - close to being like a double. It didn't bother my friend and I but make you stay here with some one you are comfortable with. Breakfast is great!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadeneDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just stayed there for a week overseeing a conference I was co-organizing. Great and convenient location. We had a "Superior" room, which was really pleasant and large - ideally for camping out there for a week, with lots of luggage.

If you're sensitive to noise then this might not be the best location - it overlooks a busy pedestrian square with lots of outdoor bars and cafes - great if you want to go out for a quick drink before bed, not so good if it's hot and you want to keep the window open. I always carry earplugs so that helps already, otherwise I'd recommend to go for an out-of-town hotel instead.

Nice (but simply) breakfast in the morning, friendly staff, great location (did I mention this already?).

Minor issue was the shower door not closing well, resulting in a puddle every time you took a shower. Never bothered to let reception know, however, so mostly my fault for not reporting it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marclang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location, location, location. Went to Zurich for a huge wedding, and we were all over town. However, our hotel kind of became party central because it is on a corner, and it has an outdoor bar area. Great area for restaurants, shopping and a short walk to the train station. Splurge for a private bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EARTHLINGTOURIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#33 of 139 in Zurich
475 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wellenberg
#53 of 139 in Zurich
616 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
922 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar

Property: PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar
Address: Spitalgasse 3, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in a historic landmark and stylish surrounding. Right in the city center, in the middle of the historic quarter called "Niederdorf", situated in a house built in the year 1879 in neoclassical style, our 24 rooms with Swiss Made design provide a perfect home base for your leisure or business trips to Zurich. The main train station, the lake side area and the world famous "Bahnhofstrasse" are only a few foot steps away. Access to Zurich's public transport system can be found in the immediate surrounding. Mark you territory become a PLATZHIRSCH! Translated into English the German word "Platzhirsch" means "the leading stag". The meaning is equivalent to a top dog or old bull. Our aim is to create a personal and individual rest area in a vibrating world city where you can feel at home and leave the world outside. Furthermore we assure you free WiFi as well as offer you iPads free of charge to stay connected with the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing