We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accommodation at Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    845
    244
    44
    33
See reviews for
205
928
230
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Continental is within ten minutes walking distance from the train station but close to the centre of the city.

The staff where great and the restaurant fabulous. It was also great to meet so many Aussies in the hotel.

When next in Zurich this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good hotel not far from the centre. Good access by car. Underground parking, good bar, smoking place in the atrium. Nice staff. Rooms clean and beds comfortable.But the best value is excellent Chinese restaurant. As everything in Zurich, a little bit expensive.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms to street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 750Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as a stopover for our European vacation. We chose it since it was close to the train station. We were given a handicapped accessible room which in and of itself is not bad but that's the best thing I can say. The air-conditioning on a rather warm day did not work. When I called the front desk the woman who answered came right up and confirmed that it was not working. Instead of offering to move us to another room or calling someone to fix the air conditioning, she ended up bringing a fan for us to use. This was not a satisfactory solution! The door to the bathroom would not stay closed. The shower curtain was broken and falling down while in use and the remote for the television did not work. I understand that Zurich is an expensive city but for what we paid for this hotel I expected more. Upon check out when I was asked if I found everything satisfactory. I responded with the list of problems we encountered. The response from the front desk person was "okay, thanks for staying with us". An apology or at least an attempt at some compensation would have been nice. Anyone visiting Zurich, my advice is to look elsewhere for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank GaryB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very central, they serve an excellent Breakfast, the staff provided efficient and polite service, well furnished and comfortable room, clean bathroom, very clean and soft linen, strongly recommend this good place to stay in Zurich

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimpykhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Where can I buy one of these beds? Damn that was a great nights sleep! This hotel was fairly well located, nice and handy to the train station and Bahnhofstrasse shopping/dining strip. Although other hotels may well be closer, Hotel Continental is close enough to be handy yet avoids any night time street noise.

The entrance to the hotel from,outside is a little drab looking, it's really just a spinning glass door entrance in the side of an otherwise grey concrete monolith... But once inside it nicely resembles the traditional swiss chalet style look n feel... At least reception area does. The hallways could do with a makeover, perhaps new carpets etc but nothing wrong with our room itself. Shower pressure was good and water was hot! Both very important to me.

Had a most enjoyable buffet breakfast in the morning, which was included in our room rate and the selection was of the standard you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Personally I think the price was rather steep in comparison to everywhere else we stayed on our European trip... However, having said that it was one of the cheapest prices we could find for accommodation in Zurich.... So it might be very well priced when compared to other Zurich hotels of a similar star rating. The staff were very warm and friendly not to mention helpful.

Zurich itself is quite expensive, and is definitely designed for the rich and probably famous. We felt totally put of place. The prices of accommodation, taxis, food, drinks were all well outside our budget and we struggled to find somewhere to eat that we could actually afford. I wasn't going to pay the equivalent of AUD$96 for a steak. Eventually we did find a nice Chinese restaurant (I wish I knew its name so I could review them because their food was very good), but for the most part almost very restaurant we reviewed the menu too we had to walk away from based purely on price. Even McDonald's wanted AUD$35 for 2 burger combos with small drinks and small fries! Ridiculous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Zurich HB is about 15 minutes walk away. Beware that there is a slope upwards to the hotel if you were to walk from the HB, dragging a heavy luggage was a little tiring. If you are lazy, it is also very convenient to catch a tram back to the hotel.

This was the first and only hotel to ask if I would like to upgrade for a larger room (since there were 2 guests). I guess perhaps its due to the hotel being in Zurich, but I had gotten free upgrades in my other accommodations so this left a sour note. Front desk staff were not as friendly and felt a little curt.

Room was well sized although outdated. Beds were not that comfortable as the middle had sunken in. Bathroom was of decent size as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babysilve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing