We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #28 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, the reception staff were fantastic. It is in easy walking distance to the town, has public transport at the door. The room was clean & reasonably sized. The bed was comfortable & having a pillow menu was a plus. If we ever return to Zurich again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear ColinCox53,

Thanks a million for your fantastic review. Zurich is such a beautiful boutique city - you should definitely visit it again. And I know a hotel which would be the perfect match for you.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    840
    243
    43
    34
See reviews for
205
920
227
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed only for one night. We really enjoyed the location, the staff, the breakfast and we're amazes on how clean the room and bathroom was. Truly a five stars hotel on our end..;)
We intend on coming back to Zurich and will surly stay at the Continental hotel again..!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank roei s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Grüzie roei s ,

Please do not hesitate to do so and stay with us again. We would be very happy to welcoming you back.
Five stars from you as well. We are very proud to receiving comments like yours.

Best regards,
Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had the booking done by Swiss tours. The hotel was just near the Bahnhof . However we got a bit misguided and took a longer walk to the hotel.

the breakfast was great and the staff spoke perfect English.

They were very obliging to loan out a travel adaptor to charge the phones/tablets.

Hotel is conveniently located to go near to any attractions in Zurich,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear aks73 ,

Your feedback is highly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experiences on tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I & MY wife travel regularly to various destinations across the world and are regular ACCOR GUESTS - it is always a great pleasure to stay at a ACCOR HOTEL that provides an extra touch !!
We stayed at hotel continental from 29th july to 2nd august 2014 ..
From the time of check in to the room maintainence (housekeeping) and all the other services - I would rate this hotel at 5 star !
the location is great- walking distance to the station and a tram stop just across the entrance
Also a very helpful front desk with yummy fresh apple juice - just ready for weary customers as they enter the reception area
the breakfast and the F &B services are also good

We would surely recommend this hotel to all travellers visiting Zurich ...

Room Tip: you could select a room away from main road - the quieter side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIRAG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Grüezi VIRAG S,

What a nice review. Thank you!
Kind that you consider the Continental being a five star hotel. We are proud to be an Accor upscale hotel striving to offer five star service to our guests.
See you soon again.

Best regards,
Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The bed was like a cloud and we slept wonderfully in a well equipped room that was spotlessly clean. Breakfast offered a wide choice in pleasant surroundings. Conveniently located the hotel is only a few minutes from the city centre and train station. Despite facing onto a road our room was quiet and peaceful. Would stop again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear LouJohnson,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Please do so! Stop again at Hotel Continental.

Best regards,

Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Continental and the friendly welcome at reception included the information that they had already taken the soft 'topper' off the mattress! I was puzzled until told that we had complained about the soft bed in comments after our last stay. Very efficient!

As Gold Accor members we were upgraded to an Urban Swiss Superior room, which was a very good size with desk, good lighting and storage and a very modern bathroom with a walk-in shower rather than a bath - our preference. The room decor is typically Swiss, with lots of wood, and the same theme runs through the hotel. I find it a bit 'twee' and old fashioned, but it seems to be the norm around the country.

I rather concur with the comments about breakfast service made by the previous writer. The hotel was busy, but there were only two staff serving at breakfast. Yes, there were people waiting some time to be seated, the staff looked a bit harassed and there were failings in service. The breakfast itself is a real feast, very enjoyable.

The hotel is convenient for the city and old town, with a tram stop just down the road if you tire of walking. Altogether a good, well-appointed hotel with very friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Grüezi claranda,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Conerning the breakfast. Obvioulsy you have stayed on the same date as Jari V who had a similiar experience. Meanwhile I followed up on the comments and we had unfortunately two team members less present than scheduled. But rest assured that this is not our regular team size for breakfast service.

Really great that you could enjoy your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel Continental Zurich is located 5 min walk from the main railway station and start of the main shopping street. Also old town with many restaurants is close by and there is tram connection available just outside of the hotel. There is plenty of dark wood and some textiles used through out hotel giving it personal feeling. They also have some apples and apple juice at lobby for guests to take.

Room is pretty standard size for an European hotel. Bed was comfortable and offered good night sleep. Shower is inside bath and there is moving glass that is supposed to block water spilling all around the floor of bathroom. Unfortunately one can very easily push the glass just a bit to cause just that. But otherwise the room and bathroom where well functioning. Room was also well cleaned, no issues with that.

We had special offer with breakfast included to room. Selection of items was good. Omelets needed to be ordered separately from kitchen but without separate price still. Only problem was that there seemed to be too few people and even getting coffee to table was challenging. Maybe it was vacation season for personnel but that is not really an excuse. Assuming that normally there are more waitresses in duty, I would not have complains on breakfast.

As we had car in use it should be noted that the hotel parking in their cellar has limited space to navigate. With a bit larger car it was tricky to find place between pillars and tight corners. We also noticed at home that hotel charged extra night for parking from us. Refunding of this was handled very fast and efficiently but of course it cause some extra work for us too.

Overall Hotel Continental Zurich is well located, clean and functioning option to stay. We stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Terve Jari V,

Good that we were able to meet your expectations. Next time we will do our utmost to exceed them.
Our Breakfast team is usually staffed with a ratio that is used in five star properties - obviously there were team members missing during your stay. We are very sorry for this.

See you hopefully very soon again

Kind regards,

Esko Rebstock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing