We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$382
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$772
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$463
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (2,252)
Filter reviews
2,252 results
Traveller rating
913
953
291
58
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
913
953
291
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh apple juicem galleryold towntrain stationswiss chaletminute walkmain stationsuperior roomcomfortable bedan upgradeexcellent hotelbuffet breakfastsingle roomnespresso machinethe air conditioningcentral locationzurich hb
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,252 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My most positive comments relate to the the hotel location, staff friendliness and the breakfast buffet that was included in the price of my room. To be precise what I liked about the location was the proximity to the Haupt Bahnof and yet away from all the tourist spots, was close to a residential area. This worked for me, but may not be for all.

The less positive includes the condition of the room, it felt quite dated (especially the carpets). Additionally the size of the bathroom was quite small, I even knocked my head on the door handle when getting off the toilet. Lesson learned, even if staying alone close the door

I had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening because was too tired to walk elsewhere, and I must admit the service and food quality were quite mediocre, would skip next time for sure. For same price can do much better at many Zurich restaurants.

Overall, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vik83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGContinentalZRH, Guest Relations at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Vik83,

Thank you very much for leaving us your thoughts regarding your stay and awarding us 4 stars! We are happy you enjoyed our unbeatable quiet location in the heart of Zurich as well as staffs our friendliness.
I regret that your experience with our restaurant was not up to your expectations and I would like to extend my apologies. We are also aware that the hotel is old and sometimes outdated, how ever I would like to inform you that we are in fact planning refurbishing renovations for the near future.

We hope to host you on your future travels to Zurich and to exceed your previous experience with us.

Best Regards,
Oscar Lax
Guest Relations

On behalf of Sawas Simeonidis (Operations Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked in here because we are Accor members and because we have stayed in the brand before. 
This time around something was missing.
Yes it was meant to be chalet themed so wood everywhere.
Welcome was warm and professional.  The local travel voucher a very enduring touch. Well done. The room was a junior suite and spacious overlooking the nondescript road.
As we had to wait for our room we sat in the 'courtyard'.  Here our welcome drink was served and a light lunch ordered.  This was effeciently attended to by Alex. Alex also used to meet us for breakfast.  He was full of life and enthusiastic, unlike the rest of the morning staff.  When he was not there, they were poorly coordinated, slow to bring coffee or tea.  The breakfast Buffett was adequate.  No egg station.  The scrambled eggs were reminiscsnt of my schoolboy camping days.  Gluggy and overcooked. The coffee was hot and strong.
The hotel has an extreamly limited lunch and dinner menu so we were forced to eat out. 
We had trouble with our security key on 5 occassions  requiring us to come down to reception and back up again.
House keeping was careless and not up to Sofital standard.  Glasess not refreshed.  Empty bottle not removed. Request for firm pillows unheaded.  Special request to reception had to be made: pillows were delivered.  
A very nice touch was the bottle of bubbly and chocolates as a welcome gift.
The evening chocolate on the pilllow at night was appreciated.
At reception a young man: Derek was polite. Professional. And perfect!; a true ambassador for the brand; a role model for the others.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGContinentalZRH, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear IAN M
Thanks for your honest review of our hotel, we appreciate the feedback. Sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences with regards to our housekeeping services. That the scrambled eggs was overcooked is absolutely not acceptable. We have put a lot of love and detail in our breakfast buffet for all guests and therefore I regret the quality during your stay. Please notice that you have always the option to order eggs "a la carte" or to use the boiled eggs at the breakfast as well. Still, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the free water and chocolates. Also your satisfaction regarding our services is a great source of motivation for our team and I had a lot of pleasure to share your comment with Derry our welcome. We have taken good note of your remark regarding the service of Alex. However, be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence at our breakfast. Thank you very much for your feedback, which is most valuable to us. It is my hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Sawas Simeonidis
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MGContinentalZRH, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hotel with convenient location close to Zurich center, walk distance to major sights. Big rooms in quite location.
Small issue with underground parking, does not fit for big SUV, but hotel staff can park you outside.

Room Tip: facing inside yard
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmail2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGContinentalZRH, Guest Relations at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear bmail2016,

Thank you for leaving your comments about your stay. We are happy you appreciated our location in the heart of Zurich. As you mentioned our parking garage has max height and some very large cars do not fit unfortunately, however I'm happy to hear our staff sorted it out for you.
We hope to greet you in our hotel soon again.

Best Regards,
Oscar Lax
Guest Relations

On behalf of Sawas Simeonidis (Operations Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a quick trip with very little planned. The welcome at the hotel was very nice. Added bonus was the underground car park so that there was no problem with parking in the city. For the rest we walked and used public transportation. The hotel is very well situated close to the bahnhof. Also close to the river and old town with lots of restaurants and terraces.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are well furnished. Little extra touch of luxury were toiletries especially for the ladies. Enough choice at breakfast to satisfy most tastes.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Saudibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGContinentalZRH, Guest Relations at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Saudibunny,

Thank you for choosing us on your spontaneous trip to Zurich.
We are happy we could provide you with good service and that our room amenities were of your liking as well as our large breakfast buffet.

It is my hope we can welcome you with us soon again, on the behalf of the team I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a good review.

Best regards,
Oscar Lax
Guest Relations

On behalf of Sawas Simeonidis (Operations Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews