We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to its name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Plaza Hotel
Ranked #42 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
952 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Lives up to its name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Very central location. Just cross the river and you will find the train station. This is also the area of the high end shopping of Zurich. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We stayed for one night and returned 2 nights later. On the second time, we were given a smoking room which smelled very bad. I requested for another room. We were pleased with the alternative room which had a view of the river. Even better than our first room.

We had the buffet breakfast. Nothing impressive about this, just the standard choice of cheeses and cold cuts and fruits.

I would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    311
    121
    36
    22
See reviews for
97
221
61
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Gruezi!

So out of all of the hotels I reviewed and kept looking for a decent deal money-wise and amenities / look & feel I logged on to my trusty Trip Advisor and Expedia and will not blame either but truly say - Stay Away!

This hotel is so out of date and really puts the beautiful city of Zurich to shame! The rooms are old, not up to date and to be honest out of the 7 European countries I've visited on my mini tour this was the worst hotel. There are plenty of hotels around this area plus honestly you can get to Central Zurich in about 10-15 mins max. I would recommend the Sheratons, Park Hyatt, Widder Hotel. This hotel is about 280 CHF (~300 USD) per night and absolutely not worth it.

The first night I got there they put me in a smoking room - which I could not breathe and asked them to move me but they were 100% booked. I was moved the next day - thank goodness on my insistence! There is no complimentary water in the rooms, the rooms have this dank smell and just odd feel. The bathrooms are old, old, old! This hotel needs updating something bad! Honestly, I enjoyed their gym because I have to work out everyday but the machines are old - the work out room is right when you enter and in plain view of all to gawk.

The only plus to this hotel is the location - literally 2 mins from Zurich HB (walking), 10 mins from Zurich Airport by SSSB (approximately 6.67 CHF (7.10 USD), 3 min walk from Bahnhofstrasse, 10 mins or less to Alstadt, Gross and Fraumunster, 2 corner Starbucks and a local grocery store - COOP, if you want water and quick snacks - better than paying the 5 USD for a bottle of water. At COOP, Evian etc is 1.10 CHF (~1.45 USD). As I mentioned, in my other reviews I am a loyal SPG member - should have stuck to the Sheratons (even in Sihlcity).

Looking forward to my Le Meridien experience in Vienna next! Tchuss Central Hotel - when I am back in Zurich next you will not get my business! Sorry not being a hater but just trying warn my other fellow wanderers! Happy & safe travels!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamieN_Global_Sole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked this hotel primarily for the location and would stay here again for this reason. It was less than a five minute walk from the main train station, which is the easiest way to commute to the airport. The hotel was also across from a tram stop and less than five minutes from a COOP grocery store, which turned out to be very useful considering how expensive eating out in Zurich can get. The room came with free wifi, which was slow at times but always worked. The room was a little small but was clean and comfortable. The fitness center was a big disappointment, as there was no privacy such that anyone entering the hotel can watch you exercise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had 24 hours in Zurich on our way home from a long trip. Given that Zurich Airport has one of the most amazingly efficient Airport/City train systems, we opted to grab a hotel in the City upon landing on a Sunday evening at 9pm.

Upon our A320 landing it took just 25 minutes to disembark the plane and arrive at the check in desk of this hotel. The train leaves under the arrivals hall at the airport and takes just 10 minutes to arrive in Zurich city centre.

We walked less than five minutes (critical considering it was January) from train station to hotel. Pleasant and minimalist rooms. Particularly large LCD television and we had a very pleasant view of the river from the room.

Again, I would recommend the Central Plaza for it's convenience if you are a transit visitor who would benefit for the location to the train station and airport access. This hotel does have some charm as it's an old building and not part of a highly commercialized chain.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wfiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Small rooms but clean and tidy. Just what you need for business not for romance.
Excellent bar and excellent localisation.
Didn't eat so no idea about quality of restaurant. Breakfast is good but you need to wait a little bit to be served and it is Swiss price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CulinaryExplorer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed in the hotel as part of my business trip to Zurich. The location is great: you are just across the square from the central train station, there are all major tram routes around and the main shopping street is literally 5 minutes away. There is a good restaurant downstairs. Free wifi which is unusual for economical Switzerland. They say there is a gym... I wouldn't take it seriously. Ask for a room on the top floor - you won't regret.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank safaricakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundrum, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I chose this hotel for its proximity to the station. It is a nice clean hotel with just about everything you need. It also has free wifi and a small fitness room. The hotel does not have tea/coffee making facilities in the room which is disapointing, nor does it have an iron in the room - two small things that frustrate me in a businesss type hotel. Other than that the breakfast was nice and the hotel was comfortable.

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle and coffee!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#27 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#56 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Property: Central Plaza Hotel
Address: Central 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#67 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the heart of ZurichThis is as close to the heart of Zurich as it gets. The four-star Central Plaza Hotel is located directly on the River Limmat, only a few minutes' walk from the railway station. Bahnhofstrasse the most famous shopping street in Switzerland, the shores of Lake Zurich and the charming old town with its boutiques, restaurants, and bars, all are in easy walking distance. And to delve into culture, all you have to do is step right outside – a wide variety of cultural events awaits you, at the Opera House, at the Schauspielhaus (Zurich Playhouse), and more.We are looking forward to showering you with comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Plaza
Central Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing