We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 *??? How?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Plaza Hotel
Ranked #44 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Nantes
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4 *??? How?”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Not sure how they managed to get 4 stars... The rooms are okay but nothing special! Room service charges CHF 5 everytime you ask for something! Ate the WORST club sandwich of my life, so disappointing after a busy day !! How can you not make a club sandwich yummy??!
Only positive note, the location, that's it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Front Office at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for your feedback. We regret that you are disappointed regarding the quality of our club sandwich. We will discuss your input with our Chef to improve our quality and services, and again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Franziska Jahn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    316
    122
    36
    23
See reviews for
103
224
61
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while on business. Perfectly located 5 mins walk from the main station. And 40 CHF in taxi to the airport (15 mins). The rooms are quite compact but for one person adequate. The bar was lively with an excellent pianist. Staff on reception very helpful. Will certainly return when next on business.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PistolPete2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Front Office at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your feedback regarding your stay.
We are glad that you would like to visit our hotel again. Please contact us directly for a future reservation (info@central.ch or jahn@central.ch).

We look forward to welcoming you here in Zurich.


Kind regards
Franziska Jahn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Central Plaza Hotel on the last leg of our tour of Switzerland last Feb 23 to 25, 2014. Hotel was decent and centrally located. Took us only a 10 minute walk with our luggages from the train station. We chose this primarily for this reason. We were travelling with another couple friend of ours so we requested for rooms next to another and to our delight we were put in this area all to ourselves with a door that kept it private. Beds were comfortable with the extra pillows we requested for but I did not like the bathroom too much. It was small and tight. On our last day we wanted to take the train station to the airport but we decided to take a taxi instead so I requested one from the bell hop. We were in a rush and forgot to ask the price of the taxi so when we got to the airport we got the surprise of our life. The driver was charging us CHF 70 for a 15 minute ride to the airport. We felt we were taken advantaged of because when we arrived in Zurich a week ago we likewise took a taxi but to a different hotel (Hotel Alstadt) and we were only charged CHf 20. This experience really was a rip off!!! Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taguirre131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Front Office at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your feedback regarding the taxi price to the airport. A public taxi from the city center to the airport costs always between 55.00 to 65.00 CHF. The price for the limousine service which we order is regularly 60.00 CHF. We contacted the limousine company - unfortunately the driver charged 70.00 CHF because there was a lot of luggage .We regret this and have already refunded CHF 20.- to your friend's credit card.

Again, we are sorry that you have left Switzerland with this experience and hope to, to welcoming you again in Zurich. For any further information please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I was prepared to write a good review about the hotel but after our experience, I felt highly taken advantage of.

The rooms were clean although a bit small (but we were willing to overlook that) and the location very central to the train station as it's all within walking distance.

My husband and I were traveling with a couple friend and had requested for rooms near each other with extra pillows and were happy to note that both requests were accommodated. However what completely ruined our whole stay was that upon our check out (we stayed for two nights) we asked for a TAXI each to take us to the airport. The train would have been a better option for us but since we were traveling with two big luggages plus two hand luggages, we thought it best to take a taxi instead. Having expected a taxi and in a rush to get to the airport, we completely trusted the hotel staff and got in to what we later discovered was a limo service instead. Once we were waved off and settled well on our way, my husband was looking for the taxi meter and asked the driver about it having noticed that there was none. The driver could not communicate well in English and kept telling us "to ask my boss" pointing to the other "taxi" ahead which our other friends were riding in. Once we were dropped off at the airport, we again asked for the cost from our driver and was again told the same thing "ask my boss" and he promptly walked away to consult with his "boss". After a few minutes and having placed our luggages into the airport trolly, the driver returned to us and informed us that the fare was CHF 70!!! We were so surprised and kept being told that it was the "normal" fare when we complained about it. We had taken a taxi from the airport to another hotel in the city (Hotel Altstadt) when we arrived in Zurich a week ago and had paid around CHF 20, so we were expecting to pay about the same if not slightly higher, but CHF 70 (!?!) . We felt highly taken for a ride ..literally and figuratively. The staff at the hotel should have informed us that they were giving us a limo instead of a taxi which we clearly requested for. It was very sly of them to not inform us about this. We travel to the continent every year and have never experienced such a thing in all of our travels thus far. We found the Swiss friendly and courteous during our 10 day trip around the country but the staff of the Central Plaza Hotel really took advantage of us!!!

Very, very disappointed. 1 star for hotel service!

Alexandra Cojuangco

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aissabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Front Office at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your feedback regarding the taxi price to the airport. A public taxi from the city center to the airport costs between 55.00 to 65.00 CHF.

The price for the limousine service, which we order, is regularly 60.00 CHF. We contacted the limousine company, and, unfortunately the driver charged you 70.00 CHF because there was a lot of luggage. We regret this and already refunded 20.00 CHF to your credit card.

Again, we are very sorry that you have left Switzerland with this experience, and hope to welcoming you again in Zurich. For any more information, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I spent one night here on an overnight journey. The hotel is situated in the very heart of Zurich, just a very small walk from the train station, and you are able to walk throughout the downtown core and along the river. Just lovely. Amenities are wonderful, room was standard, pricey, but worth it. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but it was full whenever I walked past.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Front Office at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your stay at the Central Plaza Hotel and for your nice review which is very much appreciated.

For a future reservation we recommend to reserverve on directly with us (info@central.ch / jahn@central.ch). We offer the best rate guarantee.
Thanks again for your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

Kind regards
Franziska Jahn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here in January. The hotel is very central, pleasant, a little cluttered, quite pricey. I had two different rooms - one on the third floor next to a room of surly Russians smoking, my room with a so-called "river view", and another on a no-smoking floor, which was better but the room was pretty small. Comfortable, but rather compact. Bed was pretty good, sound-proofing protection from the trams was acceptable.

Breakfast buffet is pretty good if expensive, normal Zurich prices. Didn't try the hotel restaurant in the basement.

Access to the main Zurich station is very good (5 minutes walk across the river), trams stops right net to the hotel. Many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Front Office at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your feedback regarding your stay.
We also have really spacious Superior room, Junior Suites and Suites.
If you would like to visit our hotel again you could contact us directly for a future reservation (info@central.ch or jahn@central.ch).

We look forward to welcoming you here in Zurich.

Kind regards

Franziska Jahn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel was fabulous. We stayed for a few nights while we explored Zurich by foot and took a train out to Lake Lucerne for a day. We loved its location near eateries, Starbucks, movie theater, local attractions, and very near the main train station. We were able to walk and pull our luggage along the short distance upon arrival and departure. The hotel has a great little fitness center, delicious food, incredibly helpful and friendly staff. (I was even given some of their wonderful coffee to take home.) The front desk staff helped us with travel departure plans and were always quite kind. Because we stayed on two separate occasions with a trip to Austria between, we ended up in two different styled rooms- junior suites. Both were very modern, clean, spacious, and comfortable. The beds were firm but cozy- just right. We appreciated the slippers and the bathrobe as well as the rain umbrella available for borrowing or as a souvenir purchase. If we ever return to Zurich we will book in here once more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Front Office at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the stay in our hotel and for your detailed review which is very much appreciated.

We wish you a pleasant time.

Sunny regards from Zurich

Franziska Jahn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
939 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#46 of 139 in Zurich
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 139 in Zurich
388 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#89 of 139 in Zurich
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Property: Central Plaza Hotel
Address: Central 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#67 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the heart of ZurichThis is as close to the heart of Zurich as it gets. The four-star Central Plaza Hotel is located directly on the River Limmat, only a few minutes' walk from the railway station. Bahnhofstrasse the most famous shopping street in Switzerland, the shores of Lake Zurich and the charming old town with its boutiques, restaurants, and bars, all are in easy walking distance. And to delve into culture, all you have to do is step right outside – a wide variety of cultural events awaits you, at the Opera House, at the Schauspielhaus (Zurich Playhouse), and more.We are looking forward to showering you with comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Plaza
Central Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing