We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice sized room, great front desk help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Ranked #81 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2008

We chose this hotel for its high rating on your website and we'll keep the score high. The front desk was very, very helpful as we did a poor job pre-planning and didn't know what to do in Zurich or where to go. The #13 tram takes you on a 7 min ride to the main center of Zurich and from there you can walk the fashion mile or go to old town shops. The tram stop is about a 2 min walk from the hotel.

You can take a 5 min walk to a big shopping mall right around the corner from the Hotel.

The room was very large and the view was nice. The beds were very comfortable and there was a fancy Nespresso coffee maker in the room. Too fancy for me!

The breakfast was good and we had a nice dinner in their restaurant our first night.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MaryLeeStenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2007

Used Expedia. We couldn't change (reduce) our stay without paying 100% penalty on the days we wanted to reduce our stay! What a rip off!! Far from town. Nothing out here. Beware before booking here.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank mlrosen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

The service, quality of room, location and restaurant were superb. This rates well above other Zurich hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SLHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Best Western Hotel Engimatt. We arrived at the end of a 14 day holiday, and we were tired. We booked here at a "senior" rate, and the room was described as large. It was almost large, and was very attractive. We also enjoyed the quiet of the hotel and the neighborhood.

This hotel is not in the old town section, but out a bit, in a lovely suburb. We like to walk, so we found it easy to walk to the old town, and walk to the lake. Walking took us through some charming areas of town, where "real people" live. We chose this location, hoping for the large room, to do our repacking for our flight home. There is a tram available one block away, if you don't want to walk.

The hotel dining room and the garden dining room are both attractive, and we ate in each. When they saw how tired we were, the staff was very caring.

We used the hotel shuttle to get to the airport for our departure. We would recommend this hotel for those who don’t want to stay in the middle of town, and those who want a quiet location.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

This hotel is somehow rated as 2 start on TripAdvisor even thought it's a 4 star hotel. Rooms were big, b-fast was good, atmosphere was nice. Really good for a business stay. My only comment would be that the location is not 100% central so if you're planning a short evening walk w/out the need of taking a taxi, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ronchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

I recently stayed at the Hotel Engimatt and found it to be a wonderful hotel. I stayed there for six days and loved the location, the staff, the cleanliness, and the fantastic water pressure and hot water in the shower.

The neighborhood is quiet and there are several very good restaurants within walking distance. In fact, most of Zurich is within walking distance.

The only downfall was a somewhat lumpy mattress. Not bad, but just not as great as my Tempurpedic mattress back home.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travellingteacher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2006

The Engimatt is a well placed hotel in the center of Zurich. It's not far from the central tram station which is a very good way of getting round the city. But it's not so close that's it's noisy.
The rooms are excellent, quite spacious and very clean.
We found the staff to be very helpful with guides and looking after baggage etc.
The breakfast was quite simple but aqeduate for our needs. One good point is that it's very close to the main restaurant area which is ideal after a day of sightseeing.
They also offer a shuttle bus to airport which is cheaper than a taxi.
All in all it's a good hotel for a few days stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WorldFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sihlcity Zurich
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ascot
Hotel Ascot
#78 of 137 in Zurich
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Wellenberg
Hotel Wellenberg
#54 of 137 in Zurich
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich
1.1 mi away
Hotel Glockenhof
Hotel Glockenhof
#24 of 137 in Zurich
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engimatt City-Gardenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engimatt City-Gardenhotel

Address: Engimattstrasse 14, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Zurich
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Business Hotel in Zurich
#43 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#49 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £151 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Engimatt City-Gardenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Oasis with stars Standard, Deluxe or one of our suites for a special occasion? No matter what you decide, you can expect something very special. Located in the quiet neighbourhood "Enge", our hotel is surrounded by a green Oasis of peace and aesthetics. Nevertheless most sights are near: only a few minutes walking distance and you are at the well known "Bahnhofstrasse", the historic old town and the idyllic Zurich Lake. The museum "Rietberg" with the appending park and its own fascinating history is located very near as well. Only a two minutes walk away is Sihlcity, a shopping mall with 80 shops, a cinema complex with 10 theatres and the Asia Spa. When you have finished exploring the city our hotel awaits you with a small discovery: all our bedrooms are individually designed and each of the rooms is it's own bright and peaceful jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Engimatt City-Gardenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engimatt Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing