We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Zurich”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #39 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was staying in Rex Hotel the second time. It is an excellent hotel -- taking into accounts the ratio price/quality, distance to the Center of the city and railway station and as well as the level of hotel’s price in Zurich. Good breakfast, nice and friendly staff, an excellent location. I think that I will stay here again when come back to Zurich and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Sanaku,
Thank you so much for leaving this nice Review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you will return to stay with us in the future. We wish you all the best until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Zurich is a town of hills. You will learn that quickly. It's close to the train, trams are right outside. Good news about this hotel is that it's downhill to the centre of town. Uphill hurts less after an evening of good food and drinks!

Solid breakfast, worth the money. Service was excellent and rooms were very good. It is on a tram line but it wasn't an issue for me.

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter side of the hotel, not there is no "quiet" side just quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Ontheroad1982,
Thank you for leaving this nice comment about our hotel here on tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommend us to others. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is located close to public transport, I had a basic room which was clean, comfortable size, good bathroom facilities and a great cold buffet breakfast including fresh fruit, yoghurt, variety of cheeses, cereal, range of teas and coffee machine. The staff were friendly and helpful. Laundry is expensive but in line with what most hotels charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Brian B
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a good comment about your stay here on tripadvisor.
Hopefully you will continue to recommend the hotel Rex to your family, friends and co-workers. We would be happy to welcome them and you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The best of this hotel was its staff, everybody was really friendly and helpful, then the breakfast was the second best of this hotel: fresh fruit, excellent expresso coffee machine, juices, yogurt, different kind of breads, fillings and swiss cheese.

The room and bathroom were nice and clean. The only problem was the room's temperature: it didn't have AC and the room was extremely hot during night (I stayed there at the end of the summer, in September). So, you need to decide between sleeping in a hot room or hear the street noise the whole night.

WiFi is free using codes given at the reception, they didn't have any issues in giving my more than one code for my cell phone and laptop. Also umbrellas and international plug adapters are available for free at request.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood with little nightlife, but the old city is at a 15 minutes walk away. There are also 2 tram stops really close to the hotel, the location is not a great issue.

This hotel isn't cheap, but it seems there's no such thing as a cheap hotel in Zurich, so I think it's a fair value for the money and if I return to Zurich I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms looking directly to Weinbergstrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badger_cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear badger_cl,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in our Hotel. We always try our best to make everyone feel comfortable and offer a lot of services in order to do so.
You are right; most of our rooms do not have air condition so it is necessary to open the windows throughout the hot time of the year. Fortunately we do not have a lot of very hot days here in Switzerland. If you come back to our Hotel you can ask for a room with mobile air condition which cools down the room throughout the day so you can have a good night's sleep.
We are looking forward to receive your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have had a very enjoyable 5 day stay in this fine hotel garni only 10 minutes from the Main Railway Station and city centre. It is a very clean, modern furnished and comfortable place. Each room has air-con which we needed in the hot weather we experienced and has its own nespresso coffee machine.
Breakfast was a wonderful buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Brian S,

Many thanks for your feedback.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services and amenities. I just like to point out that not all our rooms have a/c and coffee machine; only the comfort, superior and family rooms have those amenities.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It is an average 3 star hotel. The staff are correct but no one goes out of their way to be particularly pleasasnt. The situation is excellent. Breakfast has a good buffet. Expresso machine was highly appreciated.. Free wifi and rooms very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear adler_9,
Thank you for your Feedback.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. But we are also taking your advice to improve our service so not only the location gets full points but also staff. We hope to welcome you back again to show you that we can do even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel. We found the 2 baby cots we asked for, and had a very clean and comfortable room. Nothing luxurious, but very practical as it was very close to Zurich downtown. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignasi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Ignasi M,
We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.
We always do our best to make our guests feel welcome and at home with everything they need.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#45 of 137 in Zurich
965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Coronado Hotel
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 137 in Zurich
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £99 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing