We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spent time”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #37 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We liked absolutely everything. We will recommend this hotel to our friends. If we will go to Zurich one more time then we will choose his hotel for sure. The brekfast was really tasty. The only thing that could be better is it's location. It is not far away from City Central Station ( only 15 min), but you need to go up. But with the nice wether it will bring you only plesure :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleksandr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Oleksandr O,

We would like to thank you for the great comment that we were able to receive.
It is true - from the centre it is uphill to get to us but we also have two tram lines which stop just in front of the hotel so on hot/cold/rainy days it is fast and easy to get to us by public transport.
Hopefully you will continue to recommend us and maybe we can welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Sorell Hotel Rex
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious rooms, a sumptous spread for breakfast, comfortable bed and stylish decor are typical of decent hotels.
Hotel Rex has all of the aforementioned points.
But what took me by surprise is how attentive the hotel's staff are in catering to the needs of customers. We had missed our flights earlier in the day and ended up reaching hotel Rex late into the night. We needed a good rest before our flight home the next day. The staff was extremely empathetic to us after learning of our missed flight and she gave us one of their better and higher level rooms after we requested for la ate check out in order for us to rest longer.
Hotel staff do not accord such attention to customers these days, and all the more we should take the effort to praise front line staff who make an effort to ensure the customer goes home satisfied and happy.
hotel Rex did that. Kudos to you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolitudeBPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Pierre H,
Thank you a lot for writing this nice review here on tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here and that we were able to help you to get a good nights rest on your short stay in Zurich. We hope you will return soon. We wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect: close to the center of Zurich but in a quiet zone, very kind people, a very nice, huge and clean room with a beautiful bathroom. Try the selection of Swiss cheese at breakfast!!! :-)
PS: it wasn't expensive at all..!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleNiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Piccolacu
Thank you for writing this excellent review about our hotel on tripadvisor. We hope you will tell all of your friends and family about your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was staying in Rex Hotel the second time. It is an excellent hotel -- taking into accounts the ratio price/quality, distance to the Center of the city and railway station and as well as the level of hotel’s price in Zurich. Good breakfast, nice and friendly staff, an excellent location. I think that I will stay here again when come back to Zurich and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Sanaku,
Thank you so much for leaving this nice Review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you will return to stay with us in the future. We wish you all the best until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Zurich is a town of hills. You will learn that quickly. It's close to the train, trams are right outside. Good news about this hotel is that it's downhill to the centre of town. Uphill hurts less after an evening of good food and drinks!

Solid breakfast, worth the money. Service was excellent and rooms were very good. It is on a tram line but it wasn't an issue for me.

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter side of the hotel, not there is no "quiet" side just quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Ontheroad1982,
Thank you for leaving this nice comment about our hotel here on tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommend us to others. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is located close to public transport, I had a basic room which was clean, comfortable size, good bathroom facilities and a great cold buffet breakfast including fresh fruit, yoghurt, variety of cheeses, cereal, range of teas and coffee machine. The staff were friendly and helpful. Laundry is expensive but in line with what most hotels charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Brian B
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a good comment about your stay here on tripadvisor.
Hopefully you will continue to recommend the hotel Rex to your family, friends and co-workers. We would be happy to welcome them and you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The best of this hotel was its staff, everybody was really friendly and helpful, then the breakfast was the second best of this hotel: fresh fruit, excellent expresso coffee machine, juices, yogurt, different kind of breads, fillings and swiss cheese.

The room and bathroom were nice and clean. The only problem was the room's temperature: it didn't have AC and the room was extremely hot during night (I stayed there at the end of the summer, in September). So, you need to decide between sleeping in a hot room or hear the street noise the whole night.

WiFi is free using codes given at the reception, they didn't have any issues in giving my more than one code for my cell phone and laptop. Also umbrellas and international plug adapters are available for free at request.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood with little nightlife, but the old city is at a 15 minutes walk away. There are also 2 tram stops really close to the hotel, the location is not a great issue.

This hotel isn't cheap, but it seems there's no such thing as a cheap hotel in Zurich, so I think it's a fair value for the money and if I return to Zurich I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms looking directly to Weinbergstrasse.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badger_cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear badger_cl,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in our Hotel. We always try our best to make everyone feel comfortable and offer a lot of services in order to do so.
You are right; most of our rooms do not have air condition so it is necessary to open the windows throughout the hot time of the year. Fortunately we do not have a lot of very hot days here in Switzerland. If you come back to our Hotel you can ask for a room with mobile air condition which cools down the room throughout the day so you can have a good night's sleep.
We are looking forward to receive your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 138 in Zurich
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
809 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Family Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £116 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing