We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorell Hotel Rex
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$608
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$401
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
144
186
49
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
186
49
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationrubber duckold townmain stationminute walkfamily roomclose to the hotelsmall hotelcity centreyogurtbreakfast was excellentenjoyable stayespresso machineother citiesnice roomcontinental breakfastclean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Usually I stay in business hotels in Zurich, which are generally good but very expensive - but then I'm not paying. This time I had to cough up myself and wanted somewhere quietish but not miles away. Took a punt on this place and very pleased. The room itself is nothing exceptional but would be large enough for a couple for a few days. The location is the standout plus point here - it's quite possible to walk into the old town (~20 mins), or to Bahnhofstr. (~15 mins), but the hotel is on two tram lines as well which makes getting around even easier.

The breakfast is also very good - which is pretty standard for Swiss hotels, but for the price this is definitely an added bonus. Next time I'm in Zurich I'll stop trawling hotel websites and just book this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Jonathan

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Sorell Hotel Rex.
We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.
Best wishes

Sorell Hotel Rex Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed there for over 2 weeks while on a business trip. The bed was comfortable, room was cozy and the hotel was quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was nice, though the menu was same everyday and kind of sounded monotonous eating same stuff for 15 days :( The front desk ladies were very friendly and helpful.
The location is also great. Close proximity to Old town, Zurich HB - the main train station, Banhoffstrasse, museums, tram station, mosque, halal food restaurants.
Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear AdysWorld

We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.
Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be.
We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. We are glad and we are look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Best wishes
RM Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Small hotel with some oddly shaped rooms, but very conveniently located. Walking distance to main train station and Banhoffstrasse for shopping. Convenient tram stop one block away. Friendly staff and best of all, reasonable pricing for Zurich. Nice breakfast included with large selection (especially yummy breads and cheeses). We stayed here on Christmas week and it was quiet.

Room Tip: Tram drives by front of hotel. Ok in winter with closed windows. In summer ask for room facing side street.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear KitVirgin

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Best wishes

Sorell Hotel Rex
Yvonne Holm & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The room was very clean and nice.Free WI-FI. Near Near the center - it is possible to reach quickly on foot or to pass 5 min. by tram. Staff very friendly. Good breakfast. With the daughter very much it was pleasant to us and we can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Svetlana

We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive and we are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Best wishes

Sorell Hotel Rex
Yvonne Holm & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

At least my room you entered through the bathroom, which is somewhat odd, and not ideal if outside it is rainy or snowy. The room was nice and clean, good wifi and a very nice breakfast buffet. Also an easy walking distance from the centre and well connected if you need to go to ETH honggerberg.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Hotel_Rex, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Katrien S,
Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
It is right that we have 3 rooms where you enter through the bathroom. Some people like this room so much that they want always the same room for every stay with us. If you visit us again we can give you for sure another nice room.
We hope that you will continue to recommend us and we thank you kindly.
Best wishes
Yvonne Holm
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews