We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and close to station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. It is a short walk from the station but there is no train noise. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast is OK but when the egg dish runs out there is no more!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladygolfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear ladygolfer19,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I really appreciate your comments about the room and our staff. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are more than happy to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    423
    170
    33
    26
See reviews for
153
301
106
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel staff were excellent , they helped with easy directions to find the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were a good size and well looked after. The breakfast was one of the best we have had on our journey around Europe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Jacqueline W,

thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our staff.

There is nothing better for us than a comment like yours. I will pass on your appreciation to my team and I am sure that this will make them smile.

Thank you very much again and I hope to see you soon again here at the Hotel Montana.

Kind regards,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

On arriving at this hotel, we were told that we could not have dinner as they don't have a restaurant of a night time, this was disappointing as we had travelled for 10 hours. The reception then went on to tell us to not go down the street to the left as this was where all the prostitutes work and behind the building was we're 3 gangs were fighting over drugs. This accommodation was recommended by our travel agent which we will not be using again. The room was small, no view, food was awful overall really disappointed that we spent good money on this place. They should be 1star if that.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Gray B,

thank you very much for taking your time to bring your concerns to our attention.

We do provide a restaurant which is open for dinner, but we are always there to recommend restaurants to our guest, which are mostly in walking distance. I am really sorry, if we missed this opportunity during your stay.

I will make sure, every guest is informed during check-in, that our restaurant is closed and that we automatically recommend restaurants close by.

I hope you had a good journey home and send you kind regards,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Nice hotel in a good location just around the corner from train station. It is also just a short walk into the heart of the old town, and also to Langstrasse for lots more bars in the evening. Rooms are clean and breakfast decent enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear scottyc01,

thank you very much for your valuable review.

I really appreciate your comments in regards to cleanliness of our rooms.

Kind regards from Switzerland.

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very close to main train station, bus and tram stop also nearby. Neat area, not very far away from main shopping area and old town. Very convenient for a short trip. Well maintained rooms, good breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amrchopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear amrchopra,

I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and I would be
more than happy to welcome you again here in Zurich.

Hopefully you had a good journey home and I remain with kind regards,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located very close to the railway station, yet we found our room (504) didn't have any train noises what so ever. We had a pleasant view across the roof tops of the other Zurich buildings. Check in was simple and it is a quiet part of town it seemed. We walked to old town which was only 5min to get to the great shopping and restaurants. The hotel's buffet breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Sweetwait,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It was a pleasure being your host and I hope to welcome you back in the
future.

Kind regards from Switzerland,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is located about 2 mins walk from the central railway station, which is a perfect location.

Overall, it's similar to other Best Western hotels - clean and, functional:
- good sized room
- for some reason the aircon in my room didn't work (there was a temperature control but it didn't do anything!)
- excellent for local transport links
- good service, friendly staff
- I missed breakfast but it looked a bit on the small side
- located on the other side of the main station to the shopping areas
- reasonably priced.

I would stay here again, but mainly because of the price element (Zurich hotels are quite expensive).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKLondonTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear UKLondon_Neil,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you will stay
with us again.

I am remaining with kind regards from Zurich and hope to welcome you soon again.

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#45 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Walhalla Hotel
#31 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#88 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing