We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Xmas break”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #47 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pre Xmas break”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

3 nights at this hotel which is conveniently located a short walk from Central Railway station in Zurich and the main Bahnhofstrasse shopping area. Phew there were some expensive shops there !!

Check in was quick and efficient, the room was modern clean and tidy. Housekeeping ensured that the room was well serviced. A decent breakfast was available which got each day off to a good start whith a small choice of hot food and the usual continental options.

The only downside for me was the lack of tea/coffeee making facilities in the room. Though reception would always arrange for those needs to be met which sort of offset the lack of in room facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear nic-driver,

thank you very much for your review.

I hope you enjoyed the Christmas time in Zurich and you had a safe trip back home.

In regards to the cleanliness of the room I pass your compliments on to the Housekeeping department. It is nice that you honour their hard work and they will be happy about your comment.

I hope we can welcome you soon again and send you kind regards from Zurich.

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    434
    175
    33
    26
See reviews for
156
313
112
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a colleague while on business in Zurich. Very well located close to the station and a short walk to the main commercial districts. Very friendly welcome, lovely clean rooms and breakfast included. Will return next time in Zurich.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear James B,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay.

I am happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and everything was like you expected
it.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Montana.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
796 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel was better than expected and as I arrived in the late evening an avantage is the fact that the hotel is near the railways station.
The center is not very far anyway.
The area around the hotel is not very nice but not a bad area.
The hotel is very well decorated and the room was quite large and confortable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Rosario_it,

I am glad to hear that we could exceed your expectations.

Our location close to the main Station is surely an advantage and well honoured by our
guests.

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in September 2013. Twin room on the third floor. No air conditioning but we were given a fan. Please ask fans if you stay in the summer. We check-out early in the morning to catch a bus to Munich, then we asked the hostel to prepare packed-breakfast. They gave us a sandwich, apple and orange juice.

Hotel very close to the bus terminal and the train station. The staff was nice, really helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_elisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear lisa_elisa,

thank you very much for your feedback.

As we have no air condition in the hotel yet we provide to every guest, who requires it, a fan.
I am glad to hear that my staff did well and that we could make your stay enjoyable with us.

Kind regards from Zurich.

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel in September 2013 and was very pleased with my stay. Great and friendly service by reception staff, very clean rooms, great breakfast and the best location. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Pamela W,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The reception Team appreciates your comment and I passed it on to all involved
departments.

It was a pleasure having you here with us and I hope we can welcome you soon
again.

With kind regards,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel 10/09/13 - 10/13/13, and I selected it because it was close to the train station. We were quite pleased with this choice. The front desk was very helpful especially Ms A. Herzen, excellent customer service. The room was clean but very little outlet, only at the desk. The lighting is poor could use more light. The breakfast was adequate. We felt safe walking to and from the hotel but than we were never out later than 10pm. It is an easy walk to all the shopping, restaurant and sights, which is on the opposite side of the train station.

Helpful tip to find hotel: Direction from the train station to hotel. Standing at the platform with the train tract to your back, turn left and walk to the end of the station out to Zollstrasse Street. Turn left and walk to the bike barn and you will come to a stop light on your right. Cross the street and walk on Sihlquai Street until you will see St. Gallerhof, turn left and keep walking on the left side until you see Hotel Montana. (if you reach Starbucks when walking on Sihlquai Street you went too far).

I booked day trips on VIATOR.COM and the vendor was Gray Line operated by Hans Meier Tourist Ltd. and all of the tours starting point was at Sihlquai Bus Terminal Station which is just across from Starbucks, which made it so easy for us to get out tours each day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808LApo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear 808LApo,

thank you very much for taking the time to give as such a nice Feedback.

I will pass your comments to Mrs Herzen and I really appreciate that you mention her
personally.

If you are back in Zurich we are delightful to welcome you again and you can even book your tours directly with us with no extra charge.

Thank you very much again for staying with us and I send you warm regards from Zurich,

Marcus Müller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Walhalla Hotel
#34 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#88 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#45 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#22 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing