We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Basic Affordable”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Three of us stayed two nights in April. The hotel is close to the main train station. The hotel was relatively affordable. Staff was helpful and the breakfast above average. Wifi worked well. The room was clean and quiet. The Hotel is actually prettier on the inside with an elevator that is glassed in and goes up an interior courtyard space. Make sure you double check the address and directions if walking from the train station to the Hotel. As our train pulled in we saw a building nearby with the Hotel name on it only to find out that the posting of the name was merely an advertisement and that the actual hotel was down the street a block or two.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SecondreviewCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear SecondreviewCT,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I really appreciate your nice comments about the hotel. We already working on the exterior of the hotel, so it is not only nice from the inside as you mentioned.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and I send you warm regards,

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Right by the train station (the sign above the Thai shop by Track 18 is a bit misleading - it is further down that road). Price quite high but reasonable for Zurich.
Good points: Very central. Friendly, charming and helpful staff. Room and bathroom are clean and modern. TV has British channels (BBC1, ITV, ITV2). Wifi slow but free!
Bad points: A bit noisy if your room faces the street and the window is open.
Despite previous comments the breakfast is not extensive but it is perfectly adequate and there is plenty of it.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stepballchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Stepballchange,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a valuable feedback.

We are always trying to improve our service and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed
your stay with us.

Our technical support is already trying to solve the problems with the wifi connection, however unfortunately we do not have any influence how much data our guests are downloading at the same time and therefore we are sometimes experiencing a slow, but working and free, wifi connection.

We hope we can welcome you soon again.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a wonderful old style lift. Our room was a dormer style with a full bathroom, just lovely. The super friendly receptionist, Christian, recommended a great local pub for dinner. Unfortunately we were only there overnight, would like to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, quiet, lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear lizz77 12
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your wife at our hotel. We very much hope that we can welcome you again in Zurich- maybe on your next trip to Europe. I will forward to Christian your compliment for his restaurant recommendation. He will be delighted. Warmest greetings from the entire Montana Team.
W. Kuhlmei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

the advantage are in a good location,convenient transportation and good service attitude!
shortcomings, the wifi is extremely poor and sound insulation is also poor.
the rooms have a lot of ants, yes, ants! and in the morning you can hear cleaning noise...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucasKao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear LukasKao, thank you for your time to review our hotel after your stay. We appreciate this feedback very much. After reading your message, I have taken along with our housekeeping Manager some time to control the room very carefully. I am happy to let you know that I did not find any abnormalities. However, the cleanliness is top priority at our hotel. Therefore we are aware of this potential occurrence, which you have described and will continue to keep a close eye on it.
Best regards
W. Kuhlmei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good value hotel if you just need a place to sleep, they have comfort bed and clean bathroom even tough they don't have air con and hot water for drinks is not available after 5 pm. The location is very close (less than 5 minutes walk) to the main train station, Sihlquai bus station, and tram stop... The room rates is inclusive breakfast with extensive menu... It really a good value hotel in Zurich since their price is not to expensive for Zurich.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kissinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Kissinka,

thank you very much for taking the time for a Feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Restaurant closes in the afternoon, so unfortunately there is no hot water available after that time, but we are always trying to make the impossible possible.

We hope to welcome you soon again at Zurich.

Kind regards,

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very nice hotel. What surprised me most was the very friendly and efficient hotel staff - from receptionist to house keeping. As the hotel is centrally located - only 5 mins to railway main station, every part of Zurich could be easily reached. Can only highly recommend it.
I even liked the lift in the patio ;)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Barbara A,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

I am really honored that you pointed out the friendlieness of our staff. I passed this on to all departments and my team would like to say thank you for your appreciation.

We hope that we can welcome you very soon again at Hotel Montana.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice design, good bed, clean and modern room, great location (2 minutes away from Main station). Extensive breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Would recommend for any type of stay. And will definitely come again. (Soon!)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank misterq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear misterq1,

thank you very much for your positive review.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again and I will
pass your nice comments on to my team.

Have a great day and greetings from Zurich.

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 138 in Zurich
1,050 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
867 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 138 in Zurich
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sorell Hotel Rex
#38 of 138 in Zurich
380 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#35 of 138 in Zurich
650 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 138 in Zurich
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £88 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing