We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Recommend it!”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #49 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A VERY nice hotel:
Great location, easy walking distance friom the Main Railway Station (HBf). The room is comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful, great breakfast. No A/C, though we were informed it should have A/C by next year.

Room Tip: Somewhat noise room at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ori y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear ori y

thanks a lot for taking time to comment your stay. I am very happy, that you enjoy the time in our Hotel MONTANA.

Best regards from Zurich and maybe see you next time in Zurich

W. Kuhlmei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - 16th, 17th and 18th May. Its in an excellent location for the railway station. The staff were all very nice, especially the male receptionist who checked us in and was incredibly helpful. The breakfast was very good. The restaurant is looking a little tired but the cleanliness is first class. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Close to the station. From the outside you might think it isn't pretty. But when you come in, your opinion will change drastically! We were received by Christian. He gives you the necessary tips for you to enjoy the hotel and Zurich from the very beginning!.
The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. The breakfast is excellent! You have a great variety of food to choose and the staff is ready to help in whatever you need.
We spent three days and we can only say THANK YOU! We had a wonderful time.
Viviana & Francisco

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivianaAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spot on. Very very helpful and friendly staff, decent breakfast. I would echo the comments about the temperature in the room. You cant control the heating in some of the rooms and ours got a bit stuffy overnight. Thats nitpicking though, cant say enough about the staff, very refreshing service

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed one night here in May 2014. The plus points: near to Zurich main train station, friendly staff, spacious room and good breakfast. But I have to point out 2 minuses: Housekeeping was a tad careless in my room. I found peanuts at the side of my bed. Also, there is no airconditioning. It was a hot spring day. Despite opening all the windows, I could not get to sleep due to the heat until late when the night air became cooler.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank JamesKL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Three of us stayed two nights in April. The hotel is close to the main train station. The hotel was relatively affordable. Staff was helpful and the breakfast above average. Wifi worked well. The room was clean and quiet. The Hotel is actually prettier on the inside with an elevator that is glassed in and goes up an interior courtyard space. Make sure you double check the address and directions if walking from the train station to the Hotel. As our train pulled in we saw a building nearby with the Hotel name on it only to find out that the posting of the name was merely an advertisement and that the actual hotel was down the street a block or two.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SecondreviewCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear SecondreviewCT,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I really appreciate your nice comments about the hotel. We already working on the exterior of the hotel, so it is not only nice from the inside as you mentioned.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and I send you warm regards,

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Right by the train station (the sign above the Thai shop by Track 18 is a bit misleading - it is further down that road). Price quite high but reasonable for Zurich.
Good points: Very central. Friendly, charming and helpful staff. Room and bathroom are clean and modern. TV has British channels (BBC1, ITV, ITV2). Wifi slow but free!
Bad points: A bit noisy if your room faces the street and the window is open.
Despite previous comments the breakfast is not extensive but it is perfectly adequate and there is plenty of it.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stepballchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Stepballchange,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a valuable feedback.

We are always trying to improve our service and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed
your stay with us.

Our technical support is already trying to solve the problems with the wifi connection, however unfortunately we do not have any influence how much data our guests are downloading at the same time and therefore we are sometimes experiencing a slow, but working and free, wifi connection.

We hope we can welcome you soon again.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
1,040 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#39 of 138 in Zurich
376 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
848 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#17 of 138 in Zurich
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £88 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing