We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact room and less than convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Compact room and less than convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is well kept and has a family feel to it. When we first checked in we were given a key to a room that already had somebody sleeping in it so we returned the key and several embarrassed conversations later we got another room. The room is designed to have a living area and a sleeping area but it is pretty cramped and once you have suitcases open you soon find yourself tripping over them trying to get around. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk from the town centre or you can catch a tram if you want to negotiate the ticket system.

Room Tip: Try and find a room that nobody else is occupying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pommybattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback and your review about your stay in our hotel. We highly appreciate the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. Since you have mentioned that you stayed with us in June 2013, we are unfortunately not able to follow up on the mentioned incident. However, we apologize for all inconveniences who may accrued. A lot of guests acctually appreciate our convenient location and the easy access to the city centre on food or by public transport. We highly regret, that you had a hart time with our public transportation. We would have been very happy to help you with that. Nevertheless, we hope, that we will be able to welcome you again in our hotel and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    313
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
105
220
70
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I spent 2 days in this nice hotel which is really not close or too far from the downtown. The single room was quite small, but clean. I didn't like the bathroom, which was extremely small and not very convenient. The breakfast was good, a very big cup of cappuccino was cute. What I didn't like was the permanent noise in the morning from the huge dustbin just under my window, even though I've been living on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kroneunterstrass, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion about our service. We are very happy to read, that you have in general liked your stay in our hotel. We highly regret and apologize for the noise you have heard in the morning. We will inform our delivery companies as well us our employees about this issue in order to prevent any further disturbance for future guests. Thank you again for informing us about this lack. We nevertheless hope, that we will be able to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived at about 6.00pm on the Saturday after New Year's day to find a large sign in reception saying it was the staff party that night therefore the restaurant was clsoed. That was a pity but onlythe beginning. The only staff mnember on duty appeared to be unfamilar with the hotel. We asked where we might have dinner. He suggested the town centre which was only a couple of blocks away. Luckily we ignored him and found a brilliant Italian restaurant (Scala) only a block away. However we did take up his offer to help find our rooms which was just as well becaue one, a Town House room, involved threading our way through the closed and darkened restaurant, down some stairs (no lift) across a court yard and into another building. The room itself was good. Large, modern and well equipped. However we soon discovered that the promised free wi fi was a challenge. Not only were the log in instructions the sole charge staff member gave us entirely wrong but when we finally managed to log in using advice on the back of a mini bar tab in another room we found the wif fi only lasted for about two minutes. Going to the front desk to complain also became a problem becaue we found that our room cards opened the door only once or twice before they too failed. All in all we were glad to check out the enxt morning and didn't even mind waiting while other guests vociferously complained about what was looking like a Swiss version of "Faulty Towers".

Room Tip: Avoid the Town House
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinghack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kroneunterstrass, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel. We highly appreciate your opinion and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your stay. In order to appreciate our staffs work during the year, we invite them once a year to a party. We have therefore to close our restaurant. Of course, we highly regret, that during this evening not all our staff is present and not all our services are usable. However as an apology, we have upgraded you to one of our superior rooms in the Townhouse. We regret, that we were not able to exceed your expectation with this complementary upgrade. It is very strange, that the internet was not working properly in our room. During your stay, we did not receive any feedbacks about the WLAN access in the Townhouse. However, we are more than happy to check the access again. Again, thank you very much for your feedback. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel in order to prove our service with all our staff and service present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Clean and modern rooms that feel larger than they actually are, generous breakfast. I would prefer it to be situated closer to the main train station but on the other hand the neighborhood is really quiet. As far as I know the best hotel in zh in this price category.

Room Tip: Book a studio if you plan to stay longer. They feel like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kroneunterstrass, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Olivier B.

Many thanks for your excellent comment at Tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. We constantly try to improve our service and food so we can satisfy our important guests. With pleasure we will pass on your compliments to our staff and hope to welcome you soon again.

Sincerely
Roger Jutzi, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nice hotel with nice friendly staff. Rooms are noise isolated, but unfortunately not between rooms. But apart from that the hotel is good value for money. Parking optional at small cost. Working distanstance from city center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SorenWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kroneunterstrass, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear SorenHW

Many thanks for your excellent comment at Tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. In fact it is so, our traditional Hotel is just a stone's throw away from the mainstation. With our own tramstation in front of the Hotel it's realy simple to reach all places of interest. We constantly try to improve our service and food so we can satisfy our important guests. With pleasure we will pass on your compliments to our staff and hope to welcome you soon again.

Sincerely
Roger Jutzi, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

With very friendly staff,, the hotel offers in Zurich, one can expect. Being a business hotel (hence no children activities), its location is just perfect. Most Zurich attractions are within 30 minutes reach. Clean rooms with almost all the facilities.

Will recommend anytime.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel if you want to avoid Taxi expanses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strike_right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kroneunterstrass, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Su2Nil
Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihren Besuch bei uns im Traditionshause Krone Unterstrass und dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, unsere Leistungen auf TripAdvisor zu posten.

Wir legen grossen Wert auf Dienstleistung und Qualität. Dafür steht nicht nur unsere ISO 9001 & 14001 Zertifizierung, denn vor allem alle unsere ausgebildeten Mitarbeitenden tragen den grössten Teil des Erfolgs bei. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Sie von unserer Dienstleistung überzeugen konnten und danken Ihnen für Ihre wertvolle Rückmeldung. Ihr positives Feedback motiviert uns noch mehr, täglich unser Bestes für unsere Gäste zu geben.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen dürfen und wünschen Ihnen bereits nachträglich alles Gute im neuen Jahr.

Ihr Roger Jutzi, Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Took a taxi from the train station, but had we have known could have taken number 11 tram and it drops you out the front door. Hotel was very good no bad reports at all. Would recommend the hotel to any one. Even though they were doing renovations, we had no disruptions at all.

Tram system in Zurich is wonderful and easy to use.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kroneunterstrass, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Lee S

Wir danken Ihnen herzlich für Ihre sehr gute Bewertung auf TripAdvisor. Wir legen grossen Wert auf Dienstleistung und Qualität. Dafür steht nicht nur unsere ISO 9001 & 14001 Zertifizierung, denn vor allem alle unsere ausgebildeten Mitarbeitenden tragen den grössten Teil des Erfolgs bei. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Sie von unserer Dienstleistung überzeugen konnten und danken Ihnen für Ihre wertvolle Rückmeldung. Ihr positives Feedback motiviert uns noch mehr, täglich unser Bestes für unsere Gäste zu geben. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen und wünschen nachträglich von ein tolles neues Jahr.

Ihr Roger Jutzi
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#31 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Property: Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Unterstrass 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Krone Unterstrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Unterstrass Hotel
Best Western Zurich
Krone Unterstrass zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing