We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pros: good location, close to the central railway station, well connected by two trams, nice and helpful staff, very clean, comfortable, good breakfast
Cons: nothing special in its design, rather small rooms and bathrooms, breakfast did not change at all during five days

Room Tip: Rooms to the south have a better view. When it's nice weather, one can see even the mountains o...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avrigeanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear wsom

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Krone Unterstrass and for your favourable feedback.

We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations and truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Krone Unterstrass again on your next business trip to Zurich. Until then we wish you all the best.

Greetings from Zurich
Roger Jutzi, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Krone Unterstrass
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with a group, often a challenge to a hotel. They managed us pretty well, and front desk staff very accommodating. The rooms are adequate, as are the bathrooms, but nothing special. There was a/c, but the concept of cool air is not clear in Europe, and this was no exception. At least the fan mode worked.
The attached restaurant was excellent -- top notch quick service, and well prepared food elegantly presented. The breakfast buffet was about average, fair choices.
As others note, the location is handy to the Bahnhof.
I wouldn't call this a destination hotel in any way, but for a short stopover or business purpose, it works well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Graham L.

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear, that we were able to convince you of our hotel and our service. We put a high focus on quality and a heartly guest-service and we are therefore glad, that we can reach our guests expectations with this service.

Concerning our airconditions we can inform you, that all the rooms have air conditioning, which can cool below 20 degrees. Thank you again for your feedback. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon!

Greetings from Zurich
Roger Jutzi, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Pros
Helpful staff
Nice quiet location
clean rooms
Only 2 tram stops from main station and bahn of strasse

Cons
Small Rooms
Even Smaller Bathrooms

If you are looking for a comfortable no frills hotel with a decent location this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the tram lines After getting off the lift there are still 5-6 steps to be tak...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vvsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear wsom

Thank you so much for staying at the Krone Unterstrass and for your comment at Tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Zurich. Indeed you have every beautiful and important sightseeing aspect in walking distance or it is accessible within few minutes. We hope to be able to welcome you again during your next trip to Zurich and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Greeings
Roger Jutzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely hotel in very good location. Easy tram ride from rail station. Staff were extremely helpful, even having our room available on arrival at 8am. This was very much appreciated after a very long trip from New Zealand. Reception offered very helpful information on what to do and see in our one day here. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. Would definitely recommend

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Marion C

Thank you so much for your nice comment at Tripadvisor and for staying at the Krone Untertrass. We are very happy, that you enjoyed so much your stay with us and your trip to Zurich. Indeed you have every beautiful and important sightseeing aspect in walking distance or it is accessible within few minutes. Concernig your eraly check in time we have to tell you, that this is service and a standard for all our guests :-). We hope to be able to welcome you again during your next trip to Zurich and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Greetings from Zurich
Roger Jutzi, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. The location is unbeatable, very close to city centre only a couple of tram stops from the Zurich train station. And the hotel is right there at the Kronenstrass tram stop. The staff was very friendly and the rooms quite large and spacious. The beds were adequate but nothing special. I'm usually more an admirer of historic hotels, but I came away overall very pleased with my stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HabibaContractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear, that we were able to convince you of our hotel and our service. We put a high focus on quality and a heartly guest-service and we are therefore glad, that we can reach our guests expectations with this service. Thank you again for your feedback. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've stayed at the Krone for over a year now and I've always been very well looked after. The location is great and the atmosphere is pretty informal. The breakfasts are very good. If you want to avoid the anonymity of Hiltons or Sheratons, it's a great hotel.

Room Tip: Town house rooms or 5th floor are best.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Nick
Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor and the time you have dedicated to tell us about your opinion. It is great to welcome you almost every week in our hotel, we highly appreciate your loyalty and hope, that we will be able to see you around for many more months! Thank you, for giving us such a good review. As always, we are looking forward to welcome you again soon!
Your Hotel Krone Unterstrass Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good location, close to the centre of Zürich, and directly opposite the tram stop.
Very reasonable price for a single business room, and the breakfast was very good as always.
I can definitely recommend the restaurant, the food is delicious and the service is excellent.
I had a room at the back this time, and slept soundly, I do know that on previous occasions, the tram has woken me up when I had a room at the front of the hotel.
Free wifi and access to English TV channels was an added extra.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel which is quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedack. We highly appreciate the comments and feedbacks of our guests. They help us to check and improve our service. We are very happy to hear, that you have had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that everything was to your satisfaction. We hope, that we will be able to welcome you again soon and wish you a wonderful spring time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,244 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
812 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 138 in Zurich
615 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zurich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £113 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Unterstrass 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Krone Unterstrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Unterstrass Hotel
Best Western Zurich
Krone Unterstrass zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing