We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Nearby Hotels
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$591
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$550
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$446
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
US$270
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
402
364
79
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
364
79
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopthe main train stationthe main hotelsmall kitchenettecity centrenice hotelsingle roombreakfast buffetair conditioningfree wificonvenient locationeasy accesstram systembusiness trippublic transportationan upgradeold town
Filter
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed for a night in the townhouse building of this hotel. The room was very comfortable and quiet (in a courtyard). Breakfast was generous and tasty. The location is convenient to the train station and the city center by tramway.

Room Tip: Opt for the courtyard townhouse rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear FrenchLIT

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear, that we were able to convince you of our hotel and our service. We put a high focus on quality and a heartly guest-service and we are therefore glad, that we can reach our guests expectations with this service. Thank you again for your feedback. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon!

Sincerley
Roger Jutzi, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The staff were friendly, courteous & professional.
The room was stylish, extremely clean & very well fitted out with excellent attention to detail. The bed linen, towels, quilts, curtains etc were all good quality & brand new. The room was very quiet, well appointed & virtually brand new.
The hotel is in an excellent location, 3 tram stops or a ten min walk to the main train station and the old town.
I honestly could not find even the smallest fault or criticism with the staff, the hotel or the room.
As air crew I can boast having stayed in several hundred hotels all over the world, The Hotel Krone Unterstrass would be in my top 10 picks.

Room Tip: There is a middle eastern cafe across the road from the hotel "moudi's Lecker" is excellent & very reasonably priced & they do take away.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Intrepid891

Wow, its a great titlel! Many thanks for your excellent comment at Tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. We constantly try to improve our service and food so we can satisfy our important guests. With pleasure we will pass on your compliments to our staff and hope to welcome you soon again.

Greetings from Zurich
Roger Jutzi, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pros: good location, close to the central railway station, well connected by two trams, nice and helpful staff, very clean, comfortable, good breakfast
Cons: nothing special in its design, rather small rooms and bathrooms, breakfast did not change at all during five days

Room Tip: Rooms to the south have a better view. When it's nice weather, one can see even the mountains over the lake of Zurich.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avrigeanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear wsom

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Krone Unterstrass and for your favourable feedback.

We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations and truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Krone Unterstrass again on your next business trip to Zurich. Until then we wish you all the best.

Greetings from Zurich
Roger Jutzi, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with a group, often a challenge to a hotel. They managed us pretty well, and front desk staff very accommodating. The rooms are adequate, as are the bathrooms, but nothing special. There was a/c, but the concept of cool air is not clear in Europe, and this was no exception. At least the fan mode worked.
The attached restaurant was excellent -- top notch quick service, and well prepared food elegantly presented. The breakfast buffet was about average, fair choices.
As others note, the location is handy to the Bahnhof.
I wouldn't call this a destination hotel in any way, but for a short stopover or business purpose, it works well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Graham L.

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear, that we were able to convince you of our hotel and our service. We put a high focus on quality and a heartly guest-service and we are therefore glad, that we can reach our guests expectations with this service.

Concerning our airconditions we can inform you, that all the rooms have air conditioning, which can cool below 20 degrees. Thank you again for your feedback. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon!

Greetings from Zurich
Roger Jutzi, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Pros
Helpful staff
Nice quiet location
clean rooms
Only 2 tram stops from main station and bahn of strasse

Cons
Small Rooms
Even Smaller Bathrooms

If you are looking for a comfortable no frills hotel with a decent location this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the tram lines After getting off the lift there are still 5-6 steps to be taken for access to a few rooms and if you are travelling heavy you might want to request a rooms without having to climb the steps.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vvsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear wsom

Thank you so much for staying at the Krone Unterstrass and for your comment at Tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Zurich. Indeed you have every beautiful and important sightseeing aspect in walking distance or it is accessible within few minutes. We hope to be able to welcome you again during your next trip to Zurich and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Greeings
Roger Jutzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews