We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who gives other guests your room key??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Gold coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Who gives other guests your room key??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this place in which I was traveling on my own and given the room was nice; I can't tell you how scared I was to find a man at the end of my bed in the dark as I got startled from a deep sleep! Or tho the man apologized looking confused needless to say I was beside myself as the man stood there staring at me trying to get answers that I didn't have as to why I'm in the room and my answers was to why he has my room key. After the gentleman left I phoned reception to find out one of the staff stuffed up in claiming they gave the other guest the wrong key? But as to why he had my room number also is totally unacceptable.
Not only was my safety at risk but I didn't sleep after that incident. As I left early in the morning nothing was mentioned or said, nor did I receive a discount off my accommodation nor even a complementary breakfast. My partner who was a million miles away was outraged that this could happen, as was I! Honestly, never again will I stay at hotel Krone Unterstrass.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Allyeastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on this plattform. As already explained to you in a personal email we highly regret the mentioned circumstances and apologize for all the inconveniences, you were facing during your stay. We already explained to you, how this could happen and assure you, that we have taken all necessary actions in order to prevent other issues as explained. Since you have left very early in the morning, our management was not able to see you and act in your suggested way. However, as explained in our email to you, we kindly ask you to contact us on a direct way in order to show you our concession. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    315
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
106
220
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel takes care of details which is seldemly the case in these days. The staff is friendly and food was excellent. Good, calm but business like atmosphere and I can say that I will stay there again next time in Zürich.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 827Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on this plattform. We are very happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We set a high value towards quality, hospitality and guest service. We are very happy, that we were able to satisfy you with our standards. Thank you again for the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Value for money. Friendly, helpful staff will make sure you're comfortable and have everything you need. You pick up the phone and they sort you out within minutes. If you don't need anything, they simply leave you to do as you please, which is good if you're in Zurich to do business and don't particularly feel like being fussed over,

Room Tip: Townhouse rooms afford you total peace and privacy. Spacious and stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. Thank you for your excellent comment. We put a high focus on guest service and are very happy to hear, that we were able to reach your expectations. We would be very happy to welcome you back in our hotel soon and wish you a wonderful summertime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was amazed by the level of friendliness in this hotel. Travelling for business and usually stuck into places with no welcoming environment, the Hotel Krone Unterstrass is the opposite. I was welcomed to dinner with a drink on the house, the waitresses were very sweet, the front-desk was super kind and finally, when I arrived in the room I was surprised to a very clean and modern ambiance that I never found in another hotel of this price level in Zurich. Certainly coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for your great review on Tripadvisor and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your stay. We are very happy, that you have had a pleasant stay. Our motto is "your home away from home" and we are not only setting a high focus towards quality and cleanliness but also towards a welcoming and friendly guestservice. Thank you, that you have apreciated our service! We hope, that we will be able to welcome you back very soon and wish you in the meantime all the best and a happy summertime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Not too expensive for a place like Zurich. Very comfortable & clean. Great breakfast. Fast checking. Nice design for the bedrooms. Very good restaurant. I come here for all my business trip. Fast connection by tram to central Zurich

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your very good review on this plattform, We are happy to hear, that you have liked our breakfast buffet, the restaurant and the efficiency of your reception staff. Everyday, we try our best to reach our high goals towards quality and hospitality and we are very happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay. We would be glad, to welcome you back soon and wish you in the meantime a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed two nights last weekend. Excellent hotel. Dream location just 4/5 tram stops to the station and Bahnhofstrasse and the tram stop is just outside the hotel. Helpful staff. Elegant rooms. Nice restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suku M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on this plattform. We highly appreciate feedbacks from our guests. They help us to check and improve our service. Thank you, that you have dedicated the time to inform us about your stay. We are very happy to hear, that you have had a pleasant stay and thank you for your excellent feedback. We hope, that we will be able to welcome you back soon and wish you in the meantime all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very friedly staff, good restaurant, very good breakfast. Some rooms are smaller, but always well equipped and air-conditioned. Minibar prizes are really cheap compared to Zurich price level. Rooms are very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the backyard, noisy tram on Schaffhauser Str.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giga0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. Feedbacks are very important to us. They help us to check on our service and quality and to improve our standards. We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope, that we will be able to welcome you back soon and wish you in the meanwhile all the best and a happy summer time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#29 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Property: Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Unterstrass 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krone Unterstrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Unterstrass Hotel
Best Western Zurich
Krone Unterstrass zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing