We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back again soon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will be back again soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I checked out this morning. The hotel was not too big, price was ok (when compare to other hotels) All staffs are friendly and helpful. I also visited the restaurant "difference" the food was great and nice decoration. Tatar was excellent.
Our room are quite small but very clean and chic.

Looking forward to being there again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KizZie_KizZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. We highly appreciate guest feedbacks. They help us to check on our service and to maintain our quality. We are very happy to hear, that you have liked your stay with us and that we were able to convince you with our beef steak tatar! We would be very happy to welcome you back soon and wish you a wonderful summer time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    315
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
106
220
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and me would like to take this opportunity to thanks the hotel .

Its became our tradition - when we are in Zurich we stay in Krone Unterstrass.

Clean , comfortable , nothing to complain about . Thanks , Krone !

Hope to stay soon again !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is an honor for us to accomodate you regulary in our hotel. Thank you very much for your loyalty and your positive feedback on this plattform. We are very happy to hear that you are convinced of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Expensive as almost anywhere else in Switzerland.
It is a good hotel. I was there for a conference. I stayed a week. Room and bathroom is quite small, and sometimes you can hear voices from other rooms. The service is very good. Breakfast is very good. The public transportation to the city centre is awesome. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast
Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung auf Tripadvisor und die Zeit, welche Sie dafür gewidmet haben. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen grundsätzlich bei uns gefallen hat. Gerne haben wir Ihr Feedback bezüglich der Zimmergrösse notiert. Diese werden wir beim nächst grösseren Umbau der Liegenschaft berücksichtigen. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen bis dahin einen schönen Sommer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is advertised as a 4 star hotel when in reality it is at best an average 3 star. The location is ok with a tram outside the front door and the staff are relatively friendly but the rooms are small and the there are no facilities whatsoever. I nearly fell over when I heard that breakfast wasn't included in my outrageously expensive rate of over 125 EUR per night. This wasn't pointed out to me before I hate breakfast either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SiBeirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We highly value the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. You have take advantage of our special weekendrate. Breakfast is not included in this rate. You have found this information, when you have booked your room on our webside. We apologize, that our provided room did not meet your expectations. We would have been very happy to arrange another room for you. Unfortunately, since you have been very busy during your stay, you might not have found the time to inform us about your wishes. Please do so during your next stay with us and we would be more than happy to accommodate your wishes. Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Krone, and stayed twice: the very start and end of our trip to Europe.

Room 115 was great, the bed comfortable, the bathroom well-appointed. We love any hotel where you can open the window and let fresh air in overnight, rather than be forced to run the air-conditioning and dehydrate. Room 209 had a small bathroom and pokey shower, but was otherwise fine.

The Hotel's restaurant has a great menu. They're big on their tartares, but I went with the banana soup (delicious!) and the horse for a main (something we can't get in Australia).

The Hotel's very close to town, well serviced by 2 tram lines and only three stops from the HB. If you wander up the hill you'll also find a pair of supermarkets, bakeries and a cafe or two. If you're lucky you might stumble upon the amazing (Italian) Ristorante La Casa - a highlight of our stay in Zurich.

Staff are all very pleasant and helpful. They gladly booked a tour for us and helped with tourist info as required.

Happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid an "x09" room just due to the tiny shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreigOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for your comment on Tripavisor. We are very happy to hear, that you have had a pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank you for the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. Feedbacks help us to improve our service and check on our standards. We hope, that you have had a save trip back to Australia and would be very happy to welcome you back in Zurich soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this place in which I was traveling on my own and given the room was nice; I can't tell you how scared I was to find a man at the end of my bed in the dark as I got startled from a deep sleep! Or tho the man apologized looking confused needless to say I was beside myself as the man stood there staring at me trying to get answers that I didn't have as to why I'm in the room and my answers was to why he has my room key. After the gentleman left I phoned reception to find out one of the staff stuffed up in claiming they gave the other guest the wrong key? But as to why he had my room number also is totally unacceptable.
Not only was my safety at risk but I didn't sleep after that incident. As I left early in the morning nothing was mentioned or said, nor did I receive a discount off my accommodation nor even a complementary breakfast. My partner who was a million miles away was outraged that this could happen, as was I! Honestly, never again will I stay at hotel Krone Unterstrass.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Allyeastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on this plattform. As already explained to you in a personal email we highly regret the mentioned circumstances and apologize for all the inconveniences, you were facing during your stay. We already explained to you, how this could happen and assure you, that we have taken all necessary actions in order to prevent other issues as explained. Since you have left very early in the morning, our management was not able to see you and act in your suggested way. However, as explained in our email to you, we kindly ask you to contact us on a direct way in order to show you our concession. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel takes care of details which is seldemly the case in these days. The staff is friendly and food was excellent. Good, calm but business like atmosphere and I can say that I will stay there again next time in Zürich.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 827Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on this plattform. We are very happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We set a high value towards quality, hospitality and guest service. We are very happy, that we were able to satisfy you with our standards. Thank you again for the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. We would be very happy to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Zurich
#41 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Property: Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Unterstrass 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Krone Unterstrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Unterstrass Hotel
Best Western Zurich
Krone Unterstrass zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing