We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent business Hotel. Very friendly staff, proper and clean rooms, with a nice surprise if you enter the room and even only 10 minutes walk from Zurich downtown which makes it also very convenient for a city trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetervdR-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest
It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel recently. Thank you, that you have taken the time to send us your feedback about your stay. We are very happy to hear, that you have had a pleasant stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you! We would be very happy to welcome you back soon and wish you a wonderful summer time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    329
    71
    16
    13
See reviews for
118
231
73
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel had exceptional service from the receptionist who checked us in. Even the other staff members were extremely warm. The breakfast buffet was really good, the rooms and bathrooms were small but very clean with all the services provided. They even provided us with free umbrellas to use during our stay which was very useful since the weather in Zurich was gloomy. Definitely a hotel I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your positiv feedback on this plattform. We are very happy to hear, that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We set a high value towards quality and a warm and personal hospitality - it is just great to hear this reward. Thank you again! We hope, that your next stay in Zurich will bring you back to our hotel and would be very happy to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Easy check in and check out, competent staff.
Convenient car parking in the back of the hotel.
Nice and clean (but not too large) hotel rooms with WiFi, TV, and minibar.
Beautiful, clean, and functional bathroom.
Comfortable sleep, no noise.
Great breakfast buffet.
Public transport station right in front of the building.
Lake Zurich within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast
Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und dass Sie unser Haus auch an weitere Reisende weiterempfehlen! Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn wir auch Sie bald zu unseren Stammgästen zählen dürfen und hoffen, dass wir Sie bald wieder bei uns in der Krone begrüssen können!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I checked out this morning. The hotel was not too big, price was ok (when compare to other hotels) All staffs are friendly and helpful. I also visited the restaurant "difference" the food was great and nice decoration. Tatar was excellent.
Our room are quite small but very clean and chic.

Looking forward to being there again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KizZie_KizZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. We highly appreciate guest feedbacks. They help us to check on our service and to maintain our quality. We are very happy to hear, that you have liked your stay with us and that we were able to convince you with our beef steak tatar! We would be very happy to welcome you back soon and wish you a wonderful summer time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and me would like to take this opportunity to thanks the hotel .

Its became our tradition - when we are in Zurich we stay in Krone Unterstrass.

Clean , comfortable , nothing to complain about . Thanks , Krone !

Hope to stay soon again !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is an honor for us to accomodate you regulary in our hotel. Thank you very much for your loyalty and your positive feedback on this plattform. We are very happy to hear that you are convinced of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Expensive as almost anywhere else in Switzerland.
It is a good hotel. I was there for a conference. I stayed a week. Room and bathroom is quite small, and sometimes you can hear voices from other rooms. The service is very good. Breakfast is very good. The public transportation to the city centre is awesome. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast
Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung auf Tripadvisor und die Zeit, welche Sie dafür gewidmet haben. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen grundsätzlich bei uns gefallen hat. Gerne haben wir Ihr Feedback bezüglich der Zimmergrösse notiert. Diese werden wir beim nächst grösseren Umbau der Liegenschaft berücksichtigen. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen bis dahin einen schönen Sommer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is advertised as a 4 star hotel when in reality it is at best an average 3 star. The location is ok with a tram outside the front door and the staff are relatively friendly but the rooms are small and the there are no facilities whatsoever. I nearly fell over when I heard that breakfast wasn't included in my outrageously expensive rate of over 125 EUR per night. This wasn't pointed out to me before I hate breakfast either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SiBeirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We highly value the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. You have take advantage of our special weekendrate. Breakfast is not included in this rate. You have found this information, when you have booked your room on our webside. We apologize, that our provided room did not meet your expectations. We would have been very happy to arrange another room for you. Unfortunately, since you have been very busy during your stay, you might not have found the time to inform us about your wishes. Please do so during your next stay with us and we would be more than happy to accommodate your wishes. Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 139 in Zurich
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
590 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 139 in Zurich
2,195 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 139 in Zurich
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Property: Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Unterstrass 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krone Unterstrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Unterstrass Hotel
Best Western Zurich
Krone Unterstrass zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing