We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to get your bearings”
Review of Gray Line Zurich

Gray Line Zurich
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.62*
and up
Heidiland and Liechtenstein Tour from Zurich: Two Countries in One Day
Ranked #6 of 42 Tours in Zurich
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good way to get your bearings”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If it is your first time in Zurich this is a good way of seeing the sights.

The main minus was that the trolley did not have any heating and on a cold November morning this would have been welcome. Also although advertised as 2 hours it was more like 1.5 hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NigelHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    22
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This tour is advertised in the brochure as being "2 hours". On our first day in Zurich and looking
for a way to see the City we decided to do the afternoon trolley bus tour. The male selling the tickets in the booth informed us that it would run for between two and two and a half hours. The tour took in a 5 minute stop by the lake for a photo opportunity of ship masts! Continuing through the backstreets of Zurich and other areas we arrived back at the bus station exactly one and a half hours later.
The next day (we had another tour booked from the same company-Grey line) I voiced my displeasure with the lady ticket officer and she told me I must have misheard what the male officer had told me the day prior. This was not what we were told. I would not recommend this trip to anyone visiting Zurich as you will be able to see all the City locations of interest by walking and will also save yourself (in our case) CHF76

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank melbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Black Forest Tour!! A great tour”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We decided to take this tour because we didn't want to wake up early, we did the last two days the Jungfraujoch and the Titlis (check for the one at 10:00) tours and we wanted to have a quiet day. Already from the check in, the people in the "office" were very nice and we could go immediately into the bus that was nice and cool (it was very hot outside).
Both, the tour guide and the driver were very helpful and friendly, for any question or doubt that we had. Our guide Ana was very informative and helped us even to find out some information about the trains for the next day cause we were traveling to Germany. Michel the driver was very helpful helping all of us to go out of the bus and with some information too. he is a great driver.
The tour itself is GREAT! We drove through great landscape and in the town of Titsee we had a great time (we even bought a Cuckoo clock for great price!). After that we drove back to Switzerland to the Rhein falls and had enough time for pictures and a small ride on the boat.
Profesionalissm at its best!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chenoaSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
271 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Zurich City Trolley Tour With Boat Trip”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I thought the Gray Line Trolley tour of the old town in Zurich was a lovely way to spend the afternoon. Headsets were provided per person and commentary was available in 8 languages. Headsets worked well and the trolley tour driver provided extra help by pointing to the points of interest being described on the tape.

Zurich old town is worth seeing. There was a number of impressive churches, observatory, shopping streets and river. The tour stopped twice so we could take photographs and stretch our legs.

I paid for a boat trip that was included at the end of the trolley tour. The boat was spacious, served lots of hot food and had its own bar. I was pleased to find that the announcements were made in English so I knew when to get off the boat and Zurich lake was beautiful (the 3rd largest lake in Europe, created from a melted glacier).

Be sure to look out for the Lindt chocolate factory that the boat passes.

I travelled alone and found the whole tour very suitable for a solo traveller. I bought my ticket easily from my hotel (Marriott) and found the tour easily from the main station (located to the left of the station exit to the left of Zurich museum).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bus tour was fine, just a bit of a boring city to view”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have done a lot of these type of tours, the bus and driver were fine, just Zurich is a bit of a sterile city compared to others in Europe and there wasn't much that was exciting to see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AZTVLR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line Zurich also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Gray Line Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing