We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good again”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good again”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Second time staying here, choose it because its off the centre but has great tram links to all over, a few nearby restaurants and most importantly - friendly and very helpful staff.

Have also stayed at sister hotel - Allegra in Kloten which is also good but out at the town near the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antsgoneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you as a frequent guest at Coronado Hotel and especially that you dropped by in Kloten at the Allegra Hotel as well.
See you soon again it's our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    161
    48
    7
    5
See reviews for
90
143
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very helpful staff with directions etc. Room was clean with fridge and good en suite. Free wifi and loft to our floor was available. Being on the frequent no.14 tram route was convenient for town as well as easy access to the airport with tram no. 10. Perhaps CHF15 for breakfast was a bit steep but coffee is freely available in the reception area. The TV had many UK channels which may help those travellers who are homesick!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Geust,
Thank you for your feedback! Nice to know that we could do something against your homesickness :) Thanks for all the mentioned details, it helps future guests a lot to become a proper view what they can expect.
Kind regards and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This Hotel would have got a 5 as value for money the only reason it hasn't is because whilst we were there it was 40 degrees and there was no air conditioning. We had breakfast included which was a continental breakfast, with good variety. The transport was super to and from the irport to the city you can get the number 10 tram which will take you directly outside of the Hotel and this is also the tram directly to Hauptbahnhof, along with many others. Very friendly hotel and super value for Money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateReto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your amazing comment regarding your stay at Hotel Coronado. We appreciate your honest opinion, but we are happy to telling you that there is a ventilation in the room, it's already very useful during hot days.
See you soon again, when you visit Zurich!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and we would do so again. If you are flying into or out Zurich and don't have a car, I can't imagine a better location. The trams outside the front door are frequent and allow you to access the airport and most of the area easily. We passed on the hotel breakfast and picked up healthy breakfast food at the Migros down the street, thereby saving room for mid-morning treats in the city. Beds were comfortable, room very clean and cozy but plenty big for us, front desk staff very helpful. Hot when we were there, so fan in room and ability to open windows helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a very quiet 2nd floor room facing the back of the building (as recommended on TripAdvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely comment! We are happy to hear you made your decision based on the TripAdvisor comments.
Thanks for your nice description about the area and the hotel and naturally about the staff, we appreciate it!
See you soon again when you drop by in Zurich area! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Although my room was small, it was perect for me as a single traveler. It looked like it had been recently refurbished and i was lucky enough to have a balcony! There were lots of TV channels and the bed was comfy. The area where the hotel is a small distance from the main centre of Zurich, but there is a tram stop opposite the hotel and trams run very reguarly and the hotel staff will give you a day ticket everyday if you ask at the reception - this means you dont have to try and figure out the ticket machines :) The staff were really friendly and helpful. They booked me two excursions - a sightseeing trolley bus tour of Zurich and a day trip to Lucern - both of which Id recommend.Thank you Hotel Coronado for a lovely comfortable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlyinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your friendly comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and ar pleased to welcom eyou soon again at our place. We are happy if we can assist our guest in every way!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a triple room whilst visiting Zurich for the weekend.

Location is very handy for public transport with a tram / bus stop right across the road (15 mins from Airport on the tram, and another 5-10 into town).

Staff very friendly and helpful, and the room was more than adequate for our needs.

There's also a nice park just across the road for morning / evening stroll.

Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comment and your recommendation, we appreciate it!
See you soon again at Coronado Hotel:
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I visited Zurich to do some work at the university and they arranged the hotel, the campus where I worked is across the park in front of the hotel. I couldn't have been happier with it. It is impeccably clean, my room was small by US standards but perfectly adequate, and the staff was friendly and fluent in English.

Some more tips. Switzerland was never cheap but with the Swiss Franc recently appreciating against all major currencies ($, Euro, Yen), you may be in for sticker shock. Start fighting it right away: forget about getting a cab which would be muchos dolares, instead step outside the airport terminal and take tram #10. It leaves every few minutes and it drops you off directly in front of Hotel Coronado after 20 minutes. The station is called 'Milchbuck' and stations are announced in the tram and there are also screens that show the upcoming stops. Make sure to buy the tram ticket before boarding the train and get it stamped in the same machine, you can do neither in the tram itself.

Milchbuck is a stop for 4 different tram lines so it is easy to get downtown and elsewhere. Tram #14 goes directly to the train station and Lake Zurich, some of the other lines go there, too, but on a slightly longer route.

The second money-saving trip is to get the breakfast in the hotel. It costs SFr 15.-, it is very good, and a bargain if you look at the food prices in Zurich. A single coffee (no refills) will set you back several francs even in simple establishments.

My room was on the 4th floor unto the street. With window closed and the A/C going, you could barely hear the trams. If you are very noise-sensitive, try to get a room on the back of the house.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed and particularised feedback, it helps us and future guests a lot, to get a great view over our product and hotel.
See you soon again if you visit Zurich area, it's our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#30 of 139 in Zurich
383 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 139 in Zurich
589 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#37 of 139 in Zurich
2,188 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 139 in Zurich
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Property: Coronado Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing