We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, great transport to city”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #24 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Good room, with enough space to fit in family of five. Park across road nice for the kids to unwind and parents to take a stroll. Staff all spoke English and were very helpful on tram tickets and maps. Made our stay easy with tram tickets as we were charged 50 francs taxi to get from train station to hotel and then found out tram stop outside our hotel. Next morning took tram back to station for half the price. Will stay again if in Zurich again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WazzaCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to help you and find the easiest and cheapest way to enjoy your trip to Zurich! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our place in Zurich.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Second time staying here, choose it because its off the centre but has great tram links to all over, a few nearby restaurants and most importantly - friendly and very helpful staff.

Have also stayed at sister hotel - Allegra in Kloten which is also good but out at the town near the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antsgoneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you as a frequent guest at Coronado Hotel and especially that you dropped by in Kloten at the Allegra Hotel as well.
See you soon again it's our pleasure!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very helpful staff with directions etc. Room was clean with fridge and good en suite. Free wifi and loft to our floor was available. Being on the frequent no.14 tram route was convenient for town as well as easy access to the airport with tram no. 10. Perhaps CHF15 for breakfast was a bit steep but coffee is freely available in the reception area. The TV had many UK channels which may help those travellers who are homesick!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Geust,
Thank you for your feedback! Nice to know that we could do something against your homesickness :) Thanks for all the mentioned details, it helps future guests a lot to become a proper view what they can expect.
Kind regards and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This Hotel would have got a 5 as value for money the only reason it hasn't is because whilst we were there it was 40 degrees and there was no air conditioning. We had breakfast included which was a continental breakfast, with good variety. The transport was super to and from the irport to the city you can get the number 10 tram which will take you directly outside of the Hotel and this is also the tram directly to Hauptbahnhof, along with many others. Very friendly hotel and super value for Money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateReto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your amazing comment regarding your stay at Hotel Coronado. We appreciate your honest opinion, but we are happy to telling you that there is a ventilation in the room, it's already very useful during hot days.
See you soon again, when you visit Zurich!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and we would do so again. If you are flying into or out Zurich and don't have a car, I can't imagine a better location. The trams outside the front door are frequent and allow you to access the airport and most of the area easily. We passed on the hotel breakfast and picked up healthy breakfast food at the Migros down the street, thereby saving room for mid-morning treats in the city. Beds were comfortable, room very clean and cozy but plenty big for us, front desk staff very helpful. Hot when we were there, so fan in room and ability to open windows helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a very quiet 2nd floor room facing the back of the building (as recommended on TripAdvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely comment! We are happy to hear you made your decision based on the TripAdvisor comments.
Thanks for your nice description about the area and the hotel and naturally about the staff, we appreciate it!
See you soon again when you drop by in Zurich area! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Although my room was small, it was perect for me as a single traveler. It looked like it had been recently refurbished and i was lucky enough to have a balcony! There were lots of TV channels and the bed was comfy. The area where the hotel is a small distance from the main centre of Zurich, but there is a tram stop opposite the hotel and trams run very reguarly and the hotel staff will give you a day ticket everyday if you ask at the reception - this means you dont have to try and figure out the ticket machines :) The staff were really friendly and helpful. They booked me two excursions - a sightseeing trolley bus tour of Zurich and a day trip to Lucern - both of which Id recommend.Thank you Hotel Coronado for a lovely comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your friendly comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and ar pleased to welcom eyou soon again at our place. We are happy if we can assist our guest in every way!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a triple room whilst visiting Zurich for the weekend.

Location is very handy for public transport with a tram / bus stop right across the road (15 mins from Airport on the tram, and another 5-10 into town).

Staff very friendly and helpful, and the room was more than adequate for our needs.

There's also a nice park just across the road for morning / evening stroll.

Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comment and your recommendation, we appreciate it!
See you soon again at Coronado Hotel:
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 137 in Zurich
2,264 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,018 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 137 in Zurich
626 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £85 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing