We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived early today and were warmly created. We left our luggage in the holding room and with great instructions headed out for a very short tram ride to Old Zurich. The station is right across the street and our room faces the station. While we can hear the tram it is not overly loud. Just a little rumble.
It is also located a short walk up beautiful paths to the Univ of Zurich. I had a nice, but hilly run there in the evening. Miles of paved,gravel and dirt trails.
Don't hesitate to book this hidden gem. You will be treated royally.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pameatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest;
We'd like to say thank you for your wonderful comment and your nice rating. It's lovely to hear you've really enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Coronado.
Do you visit us again? It would be great!
See you soon and kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    150
    46
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
131
40
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice hotel, but a bit outside the main downtown area. We didn't mind the 5-10 minute train ride to get downtown, trains rain very frequently. Breakfast was not included with our stay, unfortunately. Clean hotel, helpful staff. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your rating-we really appreciate it.
We're looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Coronado!
Kind regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay for one night in Zurich,had booked after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor and were not disappointed.Very clean room and spotless bathroom,though alittle small but you can't ask for more in Zurich at this price.Best thing is that it is located right across a tram stop which takes you to the old city in 10 mins and also to the airport which is around 30 mins away. The calm neighbourhood was an added bonus.People at the reception were very friendly and helpful.Got our tram tickets from them and also helped print out our boarding passes. Thankyou for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tora_Chaudhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We'd like to say thank you for your rating and your great feedback. Especially the fact that you booked due to the rewievs here on Tripadvisor is very delightful. It would be great to see you again in Zurich. We're looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

it was a nice place with very friendly and helpful staff. clean and easy access to the center, only 10 min by tram which has stop in front of the hotel. we enjoyed our stay at hotel Coronado. one of the best option for us was free parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Eli,
Thank you for your visit and your nice feedback. We'll forward it to the team and appreciate it!
Hopefully you'll visit Zurich and especially the Hotel Coronado again-it would be great!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Coronado. Across the street is a local tram and Irchlpark. Go to restaurant Neubuhl in the park, it's fantastic!
Beds comfy, bathrooms tiny, and if you are on the Main Street side, you will hear the trams and traffic. No prob for me as I sleep with ear plugs and a white noise machine.
Staff super helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlynnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment- we really appreciate it!
It's lovely to hear you've had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Coronado and the fact you've liked our helpful staff. It's always wonderful to hear such great compliments - we'll forward it!
We're looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Zurich.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel located directly across from tram stop. Tram takes you all over Zurich and it's only a short ride to the old section of the city. Rooms are clean and a decent size. They have complimentary fruit-infused water, coffee, and espresso in the lobby. I actually messed up our reservation and they were very nice to help me straighten it out. We were there on Easter and, when we got back to our room on Saturday night, we found chocolate Easter bunnies on each of our beds! :). I didn't catch the staff's names, but the two women and one man front desk staff were super nice, friendly, and helpful. Excellent place to stay in a quieter part of the city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kaydee427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We'd like to thank you for your lovely comment and your good rating. We'll forward it to the team.
It's nice to hear you've really enjoyed your stay on Easter especially the chocolate Eatser bunnies on the beds. So do you visit us again? It would be great!We're looking forward to it.
Kind regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Coronado is like a standard 3 star European hotel, with relatively small rooms but well maintained, clean, and very positive staff that add to the experience. You wouldn't go there is you wanted to be in the heart of Zurich at night but it is only 10 minute tram to the centre or tram to the airport. A big bonus is having street parking so if you were driving it is a good place to leave the car and take the tram to get around.So a good option for someone spending a day in Zurich and then prefer a quiet night. There are restaurants nearby like a decent pizzeria next door.
The television has a huge array of channels - they English channels like BBC are mainly around the 200s on the channel number but there are also some like ITV in the 830s.
It is opposite ETH which gives direct access to a lovely little woodchip running track - there is a small loop of maybe 1 to 1.5km but if you go up over the middle stairway it leads to ETH which can make about a 6km loop.

Room Tip: if doing on-the-day booking the best rate is on their home website under the last-minute option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BunchaSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We'd like to thank you for your detailed and kind feedback- we really appreciate it. It's necessary for us to reflect our service and the satisfaction of our guests. So we're having the opportunity to get better and better. We're looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#21 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#33 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Property: Coronado Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing