We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #24 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a reasonable hotel in Zurich. Not downtown but it is very easy to get there with trams. Rooms are small (not much smaller that other European hotels). They have free parking which was a bonus for us. Expedia has it at 4* but I think the actual rating is 3*. They do not have air conditioning which for the most days is not an issue. Unfortunately the smoking policy of the hotel seems to be very liberal and even if you are in a non smoking room if you open the window you will get the smoke from nearby rooms.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

It is a good place to sleep in Zurich at a reasonable price (remember that reasonable has a very different meaning in Switzerland).

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Alin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Alin,

Thank you for your rating and for taking the time to write a detailed feedback. We appreciate your inputs and we can assure that we will take them seriously. We are also aware of the higher subsistence costs for our foreign guests because of the strong Swiss franc. Our hotel stands in the Swiss price segment rather in the lower range.

We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best wishes from Zurich,

Your Hotel Coronado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel was very conveniently located right opposite a tram stop. I arrived early and was able to store my luggage until check-in. The staff very very friendly and helpful, offering assistance with trams into the city centre. The only reason I did not rate this hotel higher was because of the room price but I guess it's the price you have to pay in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as these are away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoyB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Joy,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Coronado and we will make sure to forward your compliments to the team. We are aware of the higher subsistence costs for our foreign guests because of the strong Swiss franc. Our hotel stands in the Swiss price segment rather in the lower range.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Your Hotel Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel, because other cheaper were full - we didn't know about Street Parade :-) We booked room via their website and you can pick there gift, we chose 50 % discount on breakfast. At first, it looked like this room is quite expensive, but hotel offers free parking and with cheaper breakfast and hotel has great location next to tram, that took us to the city center in 10 minutes.
Hotel room was quite big, definitely bigger then we’ve expected. Room was clean and we had also small balcony. Our room was from the street side, so sometimes we heard some cars and especially trams, but for us, it was no problem to sleep and whole hotel was quiet.
Staff was nice, pleasant and helpful. They were ready to introduce Zurich with some tips, where we should go and where to validate Zurich card, which we already bought in some ticket machine.
Buffet breakfast was as expected; you could eat whatever you want.
The only issue was with "Do not disturb" sign, somebody took it and we were disturbed, but we think, it took some other guest, not hotel stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sislik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Sislik,

Thank you for the time taken to complete the survey on on tripadvisor. We really value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we van improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you again and we appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Coronado team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In a very expensive city like Zurich, we looked to this highly rated hotel to save some money. Since we had a car with us, free parking is important. They had several spots right out front. The front desk staff was very helpful, with maps, tram pass and direction going to Old Town, etc. They also had complimentary coffee for the guests.

We were given a room on the third floor, facing the street and the tram station. We were concerned with the noise, but it was a non issue. The station made it really convenient to travel downtown. for $8+ per person you can get a 24-hour pass to ride all you want. [We were not given a free pass :o)] The tram is the only way to go, saves you a lot of walking down town. You practically walk off of one tram and can get on another to go all directions.

The room is spartan, but very clean. Air conditioned and non smoking, which is rare in Switzerland where many hotel still allows smoking right in the room. If smoke bothers you, stay here. Non smoking anywhere inside the hotel. TV has over 100 cable channels, the twin beds pushed together is really about a Queen size.

Free Wi-Fi internet access. All and all, this is a great hotel. Breakfast is not included with the room rate.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the rear parking and away from the road & tram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and your nice rating.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon again. If you book due our own website you'll get a thank you gift.
So see you soon?
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a clean hotel! Great front of desk team also. Really friendly on arrival, parking right outside also. A 5 min tram journey into the centre (we given one free tram ticket by the gentleman who checked us in) - the tram stop is right outside the hotel. The hotel itself is a little dated but sooooo clean. Our room was roomy and had everything we needed for the one night. Affordable for Zurich and would stay again! Free wifi also. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Expectation_Nil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent rating and your lovely feedback. It's a pleasure to hear you've really enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Coronado.
So see you soon again? If you book due our website you'll get a thank you gift.
Kind regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our second stay at the Coronado Zurich and, like the first time, it didn't disappoint us.
First of all, the staff in charge of reception are super: I booked a room through the hotel website, then I had to cancel it because I thought I couldn't travel to Zurich. I wrote to the hotel directly and asked to cancel the reservation, and they promptly replied saying that the room would be canceled without any charge. Then after two days I managed to change my plans and decided to travel to Zurich, so I contacted them again and asked whether the room was still available. They were very kind and booked the room for me again, at the same rate as my previous booking. Andrea Schneider at reception desk was very kind and helpful with that process, so thanks for that.
Check in was very smooth: we arrived early so our room wasn't ready but we could leave our car in the free hotel parking area, and our suitcases in the storage room. We bought two tram tickets from the reception desk at no extra charge, in order to avoid the hassle at the ticket machine. The tram station is right in front of the hotel, and you can get to the center of Zurich in about ten minutes.
When we got back later in the afternoon, we went to our room - number 502 on the top floor. This is one of their attic rooms, with a wonderful view on the rooftops and on the park. The room was huge, with a king side bed and a cozy sitting area with one small leather sofa and an armchair.
The bathroom was quite big too, and everything looked new and nicely decorated.
There's free wifi in every room, and cable TV.
Breakfast is good, and the staff there are kind too.
I strongly recommend the Coronado for those planning to stay close to the city center.
Make sure you book your room through the hotel website - the rates are more convenient and they give a "thank you gift" (50% discount on breakfast price, one free 24-hour tram ticket, etc.)

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room: the view is great and the rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Silviademick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,
Wow - thank you very much for your wonderful feedback - that's lovely and we really appreciate it!
We aim every day to have satisfied guests - that's our passion.
It's heartwarming to hear you've really enjoyed your stays.
It would be great to see you again and again at the Hotel Coronado.
Sunny regards and take care,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Staff is very helpful and friendly, room very clean and quiet, located across from a park. Location easy - takes less than 10 minutes from main train station - tram stop across the street. Hearty breakfast. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We'd like to say thank you for your kind comment and your good rating.
It's delightful to hear you would definitely return.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you again!
Sunny regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 137 in Zurich
2,263 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 137 in Zurich
626 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £87 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing