We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smal rooms, but otherwise excellent, and good value”
Review of Hotel Opera Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Opera Zurich
Ranked #39 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Good locaton close to the lake, but easy access to the rest of Zurich. Good quality hotel and good breakfast. Rooms are somewhat on the small size, but this is true of many swiss hotels, so i do not consider it an issue. Its also a very good price compared to many other Zurich Hotels. I had a very good deal at 188CHF including breakfast, but its easy to pay up to 400 CHF elsewhere. Friendly staff as well, in all an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollygonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Opera Zurich. We are delighted that you were satisfied with our location, our breakfast and that you appreciated our friendly employees. Concerning the room size: our Hotel disposes of different room categories with different room sizes. Our reception would be pleased to help you at your next reservation to find the convenient category for you.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Outside noises seem to penetrate more than average, one night I was awaken by people returning to their room (on the 1st floor) and could hear every sound they made. As RichardDixon pointed out, rooms are tiny, and there were no coffee maker inside. Front desk staff was very helpful, but the place could be better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Concerning your comment about the noise: Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the outside noises.

Regarding your comment about the coffee maker: Please inform our Reception at your next reservation that you would like to have a coffee maker and we will be pleased to equip your room with a Nespresso coffee machine.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us to show you that we can do better.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Very practical if one assists at an opera the evening; just about 200 m walk from Opera to Hotel. Reception very friendly, professional. Relatively small, but pleasant room on the fifth floor, functional, with a balcony with splendid view over the city and part of the lake. Nice bathroom, would be perfect if it had handles over the bathtub for elderly people that we are. We got an invitation to take our apéro on the rooftop of the sister hotel Ambassador close by but did not use it being late. Seeing a dozen people on this rooftop from our balcony we got the impression that they had fun up there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FedorLeMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you very much for this kind comment about our Hotel Opera. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our location, your room with balcony and that you appreciated our friendly and professional employees.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel is centrally located, just behind the Opernhaus and close to Bahnhof Stadelhofen and Bellevue. It's great for business in town and/or city tourism.
Although the neighbourhood offers an abundance of restaurants, I dined at the hotel's restaurant which is actually across the street. I was not disappointed.
My room was next to the elevator. However, the room was spacious and insulated, so that I was never bothered by the elevator or street noise.
Hotel Opera is a small, but it seems well-managed and very hospitable. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Opera Zurich. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our location, our Restaurant Opera and the spacious room.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us in Zurich.

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

So, it's not massively roomy, neither a boutique nor a 5-star. But for the price and location in a very pricy city, this was fine. Breakfasts good, rooms small but impeccable, good wifi. And the staff were incredibly hospitable always. Gathered from colleagues that some rooms were quite noisy (best avoid the ones either side of or opposite the lift).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

We are delighted that you appreciated our location, the breakfast, the free wifi and our hospitable employees.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

You could touch the walls both side of the room at the same time, and the bedding was poor. Room right next to the noisy lift. I stay here because my company has it within their rate policy, based on my experience so far I'd never spend my own money on it,

Room Tip: do not get a room with a '1' in the room number....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

I felt sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Please note that our Hotel disposes of different room categories. Our reception would be pleased to help you at your next reservation to find the convenient category for you.

It would be great if you give us a second chance to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

hi i am in this hotel last week in room 451 a.h.alghamdi it was good days.thanks to manager for partty thanks to all staff and thanks to manager to his party . soory to every one was apset from me see you next time

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be great to welcome you soon back with us!

Kind regards in Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 137 in Zurich
405 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
829 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
898 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 137 in Zurich
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Zurich

Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £135 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Opera Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing