We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate hotel”
Review of Hotel Opera Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Opera Zurich
Ranked #42 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed for two nights while attending a symposium: hosts paid, so I don't know what the room cost and can't say anything about value, but Zurich in general is VERY expensive. Very nice room, in terms of size (the reviewer who complained of "unbelievable small rooms" must have been stuck in a closet--we moved from a cheaper hotel that we paid for ourselves, and the room here was at least four times as big!), comfort and amenities; excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast (included).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jal_cit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear “jal_cit”.

Thank you for your comment and the 5-star score you gave us! We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your room, our location and our friendly staff. With pleasure we will forward your compliments to our employees.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at the Opera in November for 2 nights in a Premium room.
The hotel is can easily be reached by public transportation. Line 4 exit Opera. then is only a 2 minute walk. It is located near the lake and close to the Altstatt.
The Premium room is big en comfortable. A bit classic though but that is a matter of taste
Free Wifi in the room.
The bathroom was great. Large with daylight and everything you needed was there.

The only thing I missed in the room is a coffee and tea making facility but the hotel offeres complementary coffee and tea in the lobby. Which has a very nice sitting area.

Breakfast was good. Nice selection of bread, cheese, juices, fruit, cereals and yoghurt.
It just seems a bit of a waste that warm milk is automaticly being served with the coffee eventhough we did not ask for it.

The staff is very nice. I celebrated my birthday during my stay and when we came back in the evening of my birthday there was a little "happy birthday" note from the staff with a little bag of very nice Swiss chocolate. Such a nice gesture.

I can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliette_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear “Eliette_B”.

Many thanks for your comment!

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your birthday with us and that you appreciated our location, the free Wifi, the Premium double room as well as our breakfast buffet. Concerning your comment about the warm milk: we always would like to improve our breakfast service and will gladly consider your feedback.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for business.

Pros: Excellent location. Right behind the opera house and surrounded by restaurants, shops, etc. 1 block away from the water, which is a must see. It is also very nice to run down by for all the runners out there! There is a grocery store 1 block away as well. While iron and iron board were not in the room (as there is no space in the room to put them in) - they did bring it up to me on my request. The iron and the iron board were the best ones I have used in any hotel to date!! Front desk staff is extremely friendly. Nice TV in the room with about 6-7 English channels. No issues with the wi-fi connection. I was also invited to join a small group of people on the roof for some wine and cheese tasting - this was very nice. No issues with hot water running in the shower.

Cons: Indeed, I was given the smallest room I have ever been in thus far. It must have been around 2.5m by 3m. I am not sure if you can picture it ... but it was extremely small! The elevator is very small. Two people can fit barely - but definitely not more than 2. It was just easier to take the stairs.
Breakfast area is extremely small ... not sure if you are getting the idea here .. but everything in this hotel is super small. Breakfast was very basic (cereal, bread, lunch meat, cheese, some veggies and fruits, etc) but was fairly expensive for what it really is.

Overall, I had a good stay here - but the room was really small!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear “CAN_Businessman”.

I am pleased to read that you appreciated our location, the free wifi-connection and our friendly front desk employees. Moreover, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the wine tasting on our roof top terrace.

Concerning your comment about the room size: Our hotel disposes of different room categories and sizes (smallest room: 15m2). Our reception would be pleased to help you at your next reservation to find the convenient category for you.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed in Oct 2011 (attached pictures, not sure if they have refurbished) - Apologise for the late review :)

Hotel is clean, Staffs were friendly. good location-walking distance to the lake, opera house, restaurants etc.

about 20mins Walk was the strips of branded boutiques (if i did not remember wrongly).

Breakfast wasnt good, less varieties.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaLeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear “EllaLeow”.

It was a pleasure to read that you did not forget us after your visit two years ago and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Moreover we are delighted that you were satisfied with the cleanliness, our location and our friendly employees.

Concerning your pictures and breakfast: please note that we refurbished and renovated our rooms and entrance in 2013 and that we expanded in the meantime our Swiss buffet breakfast with a lot of regional and seasonal products.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our renovated hotel.

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed two nights and found the rooms clean and comfortable. Layout of the rooms was a little unorthodox, but this did not detract. Staff were friendly and helpful, but not when it came to suggestions for eating out. They just intimated that we had to just go and find something for ourselves. However we did choose to eat in the hotel restaurant, which is opposite in the sister hotel, but still bears the Opera name. A good place for getting to the lake. A fair walk to the main shops. Five minutes takes you to Zurich's second biggest station, which allows direct access to the airport and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Festie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear "Festie".

I am delighted that you were satisfied with the clean room and that you appreciated our friendly and helpful employees. With pleasure I will forward your compliment to our staff.

Please accept my apologies for not receiving any suggestions for eating out. This does not comply with our standards and we will certainly train our team further in this matter.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in many Hotels in Zurich, this is the most "Friendly" hotel I have ever stayed in as I was staying was my kids. Location is more than excellent, 2 minutes walk to Zurich lake. Many thanks to everybody in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MENANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear MENANI.

Thank you very much for your review and the 5 star score you gave us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our friendly employees and our location next to the lake.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your kids back to Zurich and Hotel Opera in the near future.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

this hotel considered an excellent choice for people looking for a nice hotel in such a prestigious location with great value ..
the hotel in general has the atmosphere of an average European hotel ,
the service is fine and staff are so friendly and helpful
the hotel location is really amazing , making your stay in Zurich much comfortable and all the nice places more accessible to reach ..
the lake is only 5-10 min , walking . and there are nice shops and restaurant near
although the breakfast had some limited choices and very small place for tables , and rooms ware a bit small , but all in all it was lovely and cosy ..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butterfly1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear butterfly1414.

Many thanks for spending time writing us a review. It was a pleasure to read that you appreciated our location in the city centre and the service provided during your stay. Moreover, we will forward your compliments to our employees.
Concerning your comment about the breakfast: I felt sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations and will discuss this matter further to guarantee a high quality at our breakfast buffet.

We hope to welcome you soon again with us.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 137 in Zurich
405 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
829 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
898 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 137 in Zurich
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Zurich

Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £137 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Opera Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing