We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-catering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #11 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Zurich
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Not the best place to stay for families. The children's room was on the opposite end of the passage and we really missed being able to eat breakfast at the hotel. I think it is better suited to business people who are going to have their meals catered. The rooms are big and the bathrooms very clean and neat. There is a lot of noise from the trams passing right in front of the hotel. Staff is only available until 20:00, so we had no-one to call when we discovered that the one mattress and duvet was soaking wet. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to sleep in the middle rooms at the back.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Clean serviced apartment near Zurich main train station. Imagine a studio apartment that a young professional would choose to live. 10 minutes of walk from train station and tourist sites. The staff was very helpful and efficient. They work between 8:00-20:00. Don't forget the room key because the building is locked after 20:00. There is a small kitchen area that has a tea/coffee maker, mini fridge, and microwave. These are useful since there is no breakfast offered at the hotel. We had a very large desk along the window that allowed two people to work side by side.

The hotel is supposed to be a non-smoking building, but the common areas are filled with cigarette smell. Fortunately, the smell was not in our room. The Internet connection was unstable and mine was dropped from time to time. Lots of noises from the heavy street traffic and through the thin walls.

Zurich is an expensive city. I consider Astor Hotel's offer is competitive.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtomicGalaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Astor hotel and Serviced Apartments is located within walking distance from the main train station (Zurich Bahnhof) or you can take tram only 3 stops. The supermarket "COOP" is only 1 tram stop and this COOP open until 10 pm everyday except Sunday (it's closed on Sunday). Inside the room, spacious, full equiped, free wi-fi, nespresso machine (2cups per day), fridge, utensils, microwave, working table. The only disadvantage point is if you are a light sleeper since the tram runs on the road the hotel situated all night. For me, no problem and I like it since it's so convenient to travel to all tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukanitt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

unless you've got lots of money to spent on shopping or eating out, there isn't much to do in Zurich so you'll be spending a decent amount of time in the room. The two best parts about the room were the insulated windows which did an amazing job of keeping the noise from the streets to a minimum (this is very important as the trams are very noisy and run all night long) and the metallic blinds which really did a great job of darkening the room. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were of decent quality and clean. The room had a closet, drawers, a desk, bathroom and kitchenette. It did get hot in the room and for the price I expected an air conditioner but all that was provided was a fan. The kitchenette had a fridge and a microwave which came in handy if you wanted to eat in (closest grocery store was in the train station basement, entrance through the underground on the bridge). The sink however was tiny and it was difficult to wash dishes without spreading water everywhere. The hotel had a washer/dryer available for free but it would be nice if instructions were provided as the machines are very different from those in the states. The tv had at least 10 British stations. There was no hand soap provided (just these cheap shampoo/body soap packages) so bring your own if you plan on washing your hands.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

There were 4 of us and when we found out that Astor has serviced apartment, it feels like a good choice. We got an apartment with 2 rooms, equipped with a small kitchenette, dining area and 2 bathrooms.

Pros: Good location, satisfying facilities (free wifi, tv with good amount for channels for surfing if you cant sleep, fans in the rooms), spacious rooms, lots of cabinets. Good value in comparison to other hotels, since most things are expensive in Zurich.

Cons: Very noisy if you have the windows open (trams track right outside), slightly uphill walk from the main train station which can be quite tiring if you are carrying heavy backpacks :p

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This hotel is recommended by ETH Zurich to visitors that come to Zurich for workshops, training sessions or conferences. It's really convenient for this task, especially since the IFW building is literally next door (well, there's also a flight of stairs, since the whole building is on a hill). And it's only 5 minutes from Central, the city center. Oh, and rooms on the last (4th) floor have a beautiful view, as the hotel is on a hill overlooking downtown. But here's where the advantages of Hotel Astor end.

It has no ventilation what so ever (needless to say anything about air con, of course, there is none). That means it's sweltering in summer (and, even at night, nearly impossible to cool, as it's a superhuman task to create even a modicum of draft). While management has decided to provide all rooms with a fan, it's the absolute cheapest model, having absolutely no effect in making conditions livable. I've been to this hotel during a regular August day, when temperatures were about 30-31 C, and I've been told it can be far worse when heat strikes happen.

Additionally, the hotel is immensely noisy - there's a tram station just a few meters from the hotel, and the metal-on-metal brakes make fantastic noise. As they run way past 1 AM, every 2-3 minutes or so, falling asleep will be difficult unless you are a really deep sleeper. The walls and windows are paper thin you will (after a night or two) be able to tell apart the old and the new models of Zurich's tram fleet solely on noise. Even if you are not a public transport enthusiast! (note that if you are, this hotel might end your affection with trams and make you a car lover for life).

The combination of heat plus noise led to me sleeping a total of 12.5 hours over three nights. This, coupled with a demanding work schedule resulted in me having to take three days of vacation at home, after the conference was over, so I could catch back with my sleep.

And looking like a zombie for a workshop presentation was only mitigated by the fact that half of the audience (i.e. colleagues not from Zurich, also staying at Astor) was also unfortunate enough to stay at Astor.

Further, while I didn't care that much (I only wanted to get a decent night's sleep), the furnishings look surprisingly dated for a 3 star hotel. The reception closes at 20:00, making late arrivals awkward (you need to call a number provided on the door and wait).

Prices are decent for Zurich (translate to "a huge ripoff, extremely expensive" if you come from outside of Switzerland, but when you pay 6.5 euros for a bratwurst on the street...), but honestly, I would rather sleep in hostel dorm with 20 beds, if properly ventilated and if quiet, rather than return to Astor.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street should be quieter, but will be more stuffy and suffocating, as those room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frunzaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good points first: easy tram ride from Zurich HB, very pleasant receptionists, two sinks, bath & shower in bathroom; 'kitchenette' -ie a windowless, small cubicle/ cupboard placed between the bedroom & the windowless bathroom. We only used the coffee machine as the thought of putting the hotplate on in the heat of the room was unbearable...

The rest: it was a sweltering day (32 degrees outside) but this smallish double room had no fan and windows that only opened a tiny bit. By having them open at all, the screeching noise of the tram brakes/other traffic made sleep impossible. It was so unbearably hot when we returned to the room after a meal in Zurich, that we ran totally COLD baths & took turns soaking, to cool down enough to sleep... fitfully...
Never so glad as to be out of there the next morning...
Unbelievable that no fans supplied by reception. We would have been happy to have paid for one, as would most visitors. A complimentary bottle of water in the mini-fridge would have been nice too. The local co-op sells gigantic bottles of this very cheaply, so come on Astor...

Room Tip: Can't think that any room situation would make room cooler/quieter..
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
829 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#25 of 138 in Zurich
594 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#9 of 138 in Zurich
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Address: Weinbergstrasse 44, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Zurich
Price Range: £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel And Serviced Apartments
Astor Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing