We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it really 4*?”
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Ranked #28 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the St Gotthard before but it seems to me that quality/service has gone down materially. I find it incredible that a 4* hotel doesn't have a gym but tell you they can get you into one next door for CHF25!! Breakfast is also very average - you are better off going out for it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Alejandro D,

thank you very much for your comment at Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you are not pleased with the fact, that we don’t provide a gym and never did. The outsourced option for CHF 25,- around the corner is bye the way rather inexpensive for local standards, located on a higher roof top with a magnificent view over Zürich. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice hotel - good location. However, rooms facing Bahnhofstrasse are incredibly noisy due to
tram traffic starting at 4.00 am! Room windows are not soundproofed (no triple glass).
Impossible to get a good nights sleep! Would never stay here again.
Surprising hotel has not fixed this problem!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter778899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear skierMilano,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We're very sorry that you did not sleep well due to road noise. Our newly renovated windows are double glazed on the side of the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse and the rooms air-conditioned. On your next visit, we recommend a room facing the courtyard.

Best Regards

Martin Santschi
director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Liked room 216 ... Update very well done, Hotel convenient to all and definitely improved in accommodation and service since last visit. Highly recommended for short or long stay. Be wary of additional costs for full breakfast - not too clearly differentiated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryEncinitas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear HarryEncinitas_CA,

Welcome back and thank you very much for your comment at Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that you felt improvements since your last visit. Our goal is to constantly increase our service and quality. We are looking very much forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Everything about our stay here was wonderful. The location is perfect, the staff was very helpful and friendly and our room was amazing. It was the largest hotel room, we have ever had. It was the St. Gotthard Suite and had two bathrooms, three sitting areas, and a conference table in a separate room. One bathroom had a sauna in the shower, the other had a whirlpool tub. The breakfast was excellent. Even though we overlooked the street, the room was very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Jean F,

thank you very much for your wonderful evaluation at Tripadvisor. You make us very proud when you enjoyed so much your stay in our St. Gotthard Suite. In fact, it is the biggest Suite offered in Hotels at Bahnhofstrasse. We hope to welcome you soon again and remain

with best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location, but everything about the hotel was small and rather unforgettable. Room was very small and included a single bed. Air con in the room didn't work, and even after I alerted the front desk, nothing was done about it. Bathroom was best part of the room...shower was excellent. Unlikely I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floricuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear floricuse,

Thank you very much for your evaluation at Tripadvisor. We are very sorry, that you did not like your room too much.

Unfortunately in winter time our air condition is turned off because we are heating our rooms. If the room is too hot, we recommend to graduate or turn off the heating and open the window.
All our rooms are air conditioned, but only from spring to autumn.

We hope to get the chance to give you a bigger room at your next visit and thank you for your understanding.

Best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My company sent me to the St. Gotthard Hotel in Zürich.
Nice, modern room, comfortable shower. I had some problems with my note book - internet access. I was assited by very helpfull staff at the reception. Free Wi-fi access in all areas, restaurants included.
Dinner in the restaurant with live pianist. I had a lobster soup and the "Zürich Veal Emincé" with Rösti, both were perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariiana05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Ariiana05,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment at Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know, that your stay with us was so satisfying and your compliments will be passed on to our staff. We look very much forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I wrote a critical comment on that hotel last year. My comment contained two parts: one about a problem with the way in which that Hotel charged my VISA, and the other part about the non-convivialty of some people working there at the terrace outside and at the front desk.

I am happy to report that the first problem was due to a misunderstanding and has been resolved to my entire satisfaction.

Concerning the second problem, the hotel wrote to me yesterday to inform me that it has also been resolved (but of course, I cannot not confirm this, but I have all reasons to believe that that staff is now much more sympathetic).

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Francois L,

Thank you very much for coming back to us regarding the former Tripadvisor comment. We are very happy that we could resolve the monetary issues to your entire satisfaction. Regarding the behavior of some staff we have taken some action. We look very much forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#20 of 138 in Zurich
514 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#99 of 138 in Zurich
60 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £144 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing