We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected a bit more for the money!”
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Ranked #33 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more for the money!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a long weekend in Zürich from 23rd to 26th May. It’s one of Zürich’s oldest and best-established hotels. We had stayed at the St Gotthard a couple of years ago, since when it’s had a bit of a spruce-up and some of the older rooms seem to have been modernised.

Last time we had an enormous but very old-fashioned room, which had a lot of style. The room we had this time was more expensive - supposedly a “Junior Suite”, which just looked like one of the old rooms divided into two, It was no bigger, and while perfectly comfortable, was rather boringly modern and certainly lacked the style of our previous accommodation (there weren’t even any pictures on the walls!). I hope the hotel isn’t converting its nice old rooms into the kind of characterless boxes so common in modern hotels.

That said, we had a very well-appointed bathroom with a rainfall shower, whirlpool bath and even a balcony! In fact we had balconies at all the windows, which was a great plus as the weather was excellent. The bed was large and comfortable (though it creaked a bit), and there was a separate ‘sitting room’ area with chairs, sofas and a desk and mini-bar. There was free Wi-Fi which was good and reliable.

There was a distinct lack of plug-sockets (in fact they had a 4-gang socket plugged in to supplement them). Be warned too that the sockets are old-fashioned Swiss ones, which do not accept European adaptors (typically Swiss individualism!), so you’ll need to get a Swiss adaptor from reception or remember to bring your own. A bit odd for a modern room.

Also odd was the complete lack of any mirrors, except a bathroom mirror in the bathroom, which was quite inadequate for getting dressed! There is air conditioning, which can be a bit fierce, but at least it has its own individual control.

We only had breakfast at the hotel once – it’s the usual buffet affair and at CHF33 (not included in the room rate) overpriced for what it was. There was no service to speak of – you had to make your own coffee in a machine (even much cheaper hotels in Zürich at least serve you tea and coffee at your table). The breakfast room was too hot and rather depressing, so we went outside to eat on their street terrace (though it doesn’t look as if they normally allow breakfast out there – I had to ask nicely!).

The St Gotthard is well located for the main station, which is about 3 minutes’ walk away, and if you’re into very expensive shops, there are plenty in the same street. The old town is a 10 minute walk or short tram ride away – speaking of which, you do get a certain amount of tram noise at night since there is a tram stop right outside the hotel.

Overall, this is an ‘OK’ hotel, nothing very much wrong with it, but for £300 + a night, I would have expected something a bit more luxurious and stylish, especially in an establishment that has been around for well over 100 years.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the unmodernised rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel-Gordon-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Nigel-Gordon-Walker

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel St. Gotthard and your detailed feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. We deeply regret to learn that our renovated room style did not quite meet your expectations and we do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our plugging system.Your feedback regarding our breakfast helps us to improve our service. Our guests have usually the option to get served at the table if they wish. Moreover we would like to thank you for your input on our location. We truly hope to welcome you at the St. Gotthard on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable St. Gotthard experience and service.

With kind regards


Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    296
    125
    39
    29
See reviews for
169
262
50
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From Geneva came to Zurich. This hotel has the tinniest rooms I have seen since I left my dorm room many years ago. It is not much different from a dorm room actually, tiny single bed on on side of the room adjoining the wall. When I asked them to change, got the stock response that this is all they have. I can bet the guy did not make any effort. When to the front desk and was read the riot act about how this is exactly what they have on their web-site.

So for those who are booking looking at this on their web-site, note that this is a tiny room, with a single bed mostly meant for children.

Am paying almost 50% more that what I would pay for a proper room in a Intercon in London.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear SingaporeKAP

Thank you very much for your honest feedback at Tripadvisor and your recent stay at the Hotel St.Gotthard. We regret to hear that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your expectations and we feel very sorry for that. Concerning the size of your room we apologize for not having been able to provide you with a bigger room due to the fact that we were sold out. The personal and individual customer service is one of our top priorities and it is very much to our regret you could not feel the « Hotel St. Gotthard Spirit », we are striving to pass on to every one of our valued guests. Rest assured that if it were possible you would have received an uprade. We truly hope to welcome you at the St.Gotthard on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable St. Gotthard experience and service.

With kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and mu Wife spend three nights at St Gotthard Hotel the hotel was easy to find near the main station the bar was excellent also the restaurant with a very good service also the area of the room.We chose the hotel if we come to Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear hnoshi,

thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor. With pleasure we will forward your motivating qualification to our staff. We are very glad to know that during your next trip to Zürich, we will have the honour to welcoming you again in the Hotel St. Gotthard.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Attending a business cocktail in Zürich, my wife and I decided to spend the night at the
St. Gotthard Hotel.
With "navy" the hotel was easy to find, and the valet parking was excellent.
After Cocktails we had a late dinner in the famous "Hummer-Bar"….an old fashioned Restaurant-Bar with all the charms of the 50th. Excellent food and professional, very attentive and friendly service.
The new restored Room in the 5th floor, was very comfortable, modern and with all the amenities of a good 4**** Hotel.
All in all, it was an evening to remember,
we thank the hotel for their very friendly attention
Felix and Bambi Bigliel

Room Tip: the rooms in 5th floor are newly restored
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixB997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear FelixB997

Thank you very much for having chosen the St. Gotthard for your stay in Zurich and for taking the time to give us feedback through tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you especially appreciated our Hummer- & Austernbar for your fine dining as well as our new refurbished rooms. With pleasure we will pass on your motivating compliments to our staff and continue to give our best to our very important guests. Looking very much forward to your next visit we wish you all the best in the meantime.

Kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My review is based on my own experience, after traveling all day and arriving shortly before mid night, my check in experience, was dreadful, I was told I couldn't check in!! it was a corporate booking with an obvious error, it seemed common sense hasn't yet been covered in St. Gotthard in-house training, (note to GM, possibly a good time to conduct some) I had to call the CEO of the company at midnight to verify my booking, ( he was highly delighted!!).

Cutting a long story short, the room was cramped (really cramped) breakfast was unimpressive and over priced, (once again highlighting the inefficient service, the booking was b&b also lost in translation), lack of seating in the restaurant/bar space was mildly amusing at first, becoming tiresome.

The free wifi has a charming ability to constantly disconnect itself, but I became used to this, and the highlight was on checking out, when once again "the system" still had not recognized this corporate booking, and I paid as a private guest, ( which I was not and never would be based on this stay).

So as per the heading, if you are looking for inefficiency, combined with small rooms, and a breakfast that doesn't offer value for money, or even seats on occasions, St Gotthard is for you, I would add its definitely not for me.

Room Tip: Not sure they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kevin W

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel St. Gotthard and your sincere feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. While personal and individual customer service is one of our top priorities, it is very much to our regret you could not feel the « St. Gotthard Spirit », we are striving to pass on to every one of our valued guests. Unfortunately your negative experience is based on the information we received regarding your reservation details. The reseravtion was not made under your name and the billing instructions did not include breakfast. Our assistant reception manager immediatly deducted the amount for your breakfast to a lower price, since you did not use the entire range at the buffet. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience this has caused. Your feedback regarding wifi problems is very valuable and much appreciated and we will have a closer look with our tecnical departement about this. We truly hope to welcome you at the Hotel St. Gotthard on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable Hotel St. Gotthard experience and service.

Kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at St. Gotthard Zurich for 5 days and the review below explains the positives and negatives of the hotel. In sum, it was excellently located on the Bahnhoffstrasse and a block away from the train station, but in the end it was just an ok place -- overrated and expensive (at about $300 per night) for what it is.

Location
The location is excellent for getting around the city. it is just a block away from the train station which is also the hub of the Zurich tram system. So the location of this hotel is very convenient for exploring the city. It is located on the Bahnhoffstrasse, Zurich's street for high end retail. Prada, Cartier, Hermes, Omega, and other high end shops are within a 15 minute stroll. Cheaper places to shop are also nearby in that the stores in the train station are very close and reasonably priced for souvenirs and there are grocery stores in the train station and a block away towards old town where less expensive foods can be had. The two best chocolate places that I found in Zurich are also both very close to the hotel. Laderach is across an is an excellent choice for chocolates that can only be bought in Zurich (and they only ship to Switzerland, Germany or Austria). Sprungli which is also affiliated with the internationally available Lindt chocolates is the bigger name and has a store just a block away from the hotel -- though you can also walk the 15 minutes to get to the main store in the Paradeplatz.

Check-In
I came in with a group of 15 people and we got in earlier than check in time. The staff did their best to accommodate us and about half of us got our rooms before noon. All of us got our rooms by about 1:30 pm. There were only 2 check in staff and I think 2 cleaning staff per floor so they really did a lot to try to get things turned around quickly for us.

Rooms & Building
To summarize the lengthier comments below for this section, the hotel is making efforts to modernize -- the rooms are updated, but the public areas are an unsuccessful mix of old and new. The bathrooms are nicely done, but concerns are that the beds are not too comfortable, there is not a lot of closet space, and some rooms require you to take luggage up and down half of flight of stairs.

The building exterior evokes a historic hotel, but regrettably, so does much of the interior. The lobby waiting area and restaurant looks quite dated, but with some mismatching efforts to update. For example, the restaurant was decorated in garden style with murals depicting a European garden, complete with white trellis-like accents. But then, above, there is a disco ball and track lighting. Similarly, the hallways have been updated to look more modern, but the décor and carpeting is still antiques and floral style, respectively. Ultimately, there is a bit of a mismatch that perhaps will be addressed as the hotel continues to update.

The rooms themselves were updated in that they've put in marble/granite finishes in the bathroom, installed rainshower shower heads, and a contemporary headboard. The closets are quite small (about a foot and a half of hanging space and another foot and a half wide and 4 feet tall of shelf space). The beds were not particularly comfortable -- too hard for me and I usually enjoy firm mattresses -- and consisted of two beds put together so there is going to be a separation in the middle of the bed. The room I got and the rooms my colleagues got were all fairly small (room numbers X14, X16, X18), but good for one or two people. From the emergency exit maps on the rooms, there are much bigger and much more luxurious accommodations.

A few areas of concern were that to get to the rooms in our corridor (for example 314, 316, 318), these rooms were half a floor level below where the elevators take guests. So if you are a guest that has trouble with your baggage, either allow the door man to take care of it for you or avoid these rooms. Second was that the air conditioning broke the Saturday that we arrived and it was an unseasonably warm day (high 60s) in mid-April during the weekend. The sun shines directly into the rooms on my corridor and with poor ventilation, the rooms became saunas. So we had to keep our curtains close and kept our doors open when we were in the rooms. It wasn't until Monday that the air conditioning could be fixed.

Breakfast
The breakfast is one of the best parts of this hotel. Normally the hotel charges 35 CHF for a breakfast buffet, but we were able to get these included under a group rate. The breakfast included sausages, scrambled eggs, hard and soft-boiled eggs, deli meats, smoked salmon, fruits, muesli, cheese, juices, and coffee (such as latte, cappuccino, espresso). It was a great start to the day. Although the selection didn't change from day to day, there were enough options that I didn't tire of it within a week.

Lots of Additional Charges
One other area of concern is that for a four-star hotel, there seemed to be a lot of additional charges for things that would normally be included in higher class hotels. For example, the hotel indicates that a gym is available, but this is under a separate daily charge (I believe around 30 CHF, almost $35) and is for a gym just a couple of blocks down the street. There is a dry sauna in the facility, but to use it, there is also a charge. Finally, one of my colleagues borrowed an electrical converter for a week at a charge of $50 CHF (which he wasn't informed of until it showed up in his bill) -- I fortunately bought mine at Amazon before I left for $20.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 13-18 if you need help with luggage. These rooms are also right above a bar w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Bryan L

Thank you for your detailed and highly appreciated comment at tripadvisor and the recent stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard and the good feedback about our location, rooms and bathrooms and the nice pictures you published.
Your positiv feedback regarding our breakfast selection for the amount of CHF 33.90 (not 35.-) and our efficient and friendly staff at reception is very motivating and we will be glad to pass it on to them.
We deeply regret that we could not entirely satisfy your expectations about the style and furniture after the modification. There is a purpose to the style mix between modern and traditional to remember the 125 year anniversary we celebrate this year.
The additional charge for Zurich’s best rated Gym around the corner is CHF 25,- and a special low price for our quests. The Sauna in our house belongs to the Massage Departement which is outsourced and therefor extra charged. Nevertheless we will take an overview about our price politcs regarding these issues. It is correct that due to technical problems our air condition took a couple of days to fix it. Regarding the CHF 50,- fee for the borrowed converter it is our policy to just hold the money until we receive the item back. Obviously this procedure did not get mentioned to your friend, which we apologize for.
We truly hope to welcome you againg in the Hotel St. Gotthard and to make your next stay more worthwhile, providing you a softer bed and working aircondition. In the meantime we wish you all the best.

With best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had done an engagement party in the St. Gotthard Hotel in Zurich. We appreciated very much the great support of the management during the planning phase. The staff as well as the management were very accommodating and very attentive. The food and drinks had a very high quality. We were very pleased with the whole service. To top it all, the hotel is extremely well located. The guests from abroad had no trouble to reach the hotel by public transport. All our guests were very pleased and are still talking about this event.
A. Sari from Zurich

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Ali S

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment at tripadvisor and for having chosen the Hotel St. Gotthard for your engagement party. It was a great pleasure for us to manage your important day and we are very glad that you were so satisfied with the food and service. Our location is truly well located and appreciated by our customers to be so near to the railway station. The whole St. Gotthard Team is looking forward to your next visit and wishes you all the best in the meantime.

With best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#53 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#27 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#43 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Property: Hotel St. Gotthard
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing