We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a good place”
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Ranked #32 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a good place”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Next to the train station, not far from all the public places and attractions, u can walk along Bahnhofstrasse to the lake along the main stores of Zurich, pulic transportation next to the Hotel, a buffet breakfast... and very important!!! smoking room and free WI FI

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram.dr. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Alegra2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard in Zurich and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. We are delightet to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our location and facilities. Our biggest goal is to hopefully satisfy all our guests and to continually improve our service. We hope to welcoming you back soon at the Hotel St. Gotthard and wish you all the best in the meantime.

With kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    304
    127
    40
    30
See reviews for
174
269
53
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were recommended this hotel by our client as it was convenient for their offices and they had a preferential rate. One good point about the hotel is that it is very central and convenient for transport and restaurants etc. The hotel rooms are very strangely decorated - they look newly decorated but in a 1980's decorative style. The bathrooms are nice and new but I have stayed here twice now and my room has been quite compact and the worst point is that the showers flood the bathroom floor. The hotel lobby area is very small dark and the lift is even smaller.

Upon check in both times I was given a voucher for breakfast for the cafe which is part of the hotel - its quite limited i.e. a coffee and a croissant but this worked well when you are on business and don't want the hassle of a sit down breakfast.

The hotel is very expensive and not great value for the rooms but I think this is a general situation in Zurich rather than related to this hotel being expensive in isolation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear cal2379

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard and for having taken the time to share your impression on Tripadvisor. Your feedback with regards to our room style and services is extremly important to us and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to hopefully give you an insight of different breakfast options, like the buffet or continental, or room types that correspond you more. In the meantime we wish you all the best and remain

With best regards from Zurich

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location was excellent! Just 100 meters away from the train station, which was convenient. It is situated in the famous Bahnhofstrasse street, hence loads of shopping. Walking distance to the lake. Many restaurants & eateries. The rooms are small, but clean and well maintained. Free wifi was good.

The reception staff were friendly & helpful, but unfortunately we had a very bad experience with one of the waiters who served us at the the Piazzetta (open air restaurant). He was very rude and had an attitude. It dampened our spirits as it was our first day in Zurich and the start of our Swiss holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tickedthebox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear AlphonsaS

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel St. Gotthard and your sincere feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. Unfortunately your good impression about our location, staff and room was deranged by an unsatisfying behavior of our staff at the Piazzeta for which we truly apologize. While personal and individual customer service is one of our top priorities, it is very much to our regret you could not feel in all moments the „St. Gotthard Spirit „, we are striving to pass on to every one of our valued guests. We truly hope to welcome you at the Hotel St. Gotthard on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality. In the meantime we wish you all the best.

With best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel and I was very satisfied. Excellent staff ! Location is perfect : Near the train station and in the shopping district . I really recomend this hotel. Every good place is just 10-15 minutes by walk.

Room Tip: Choose a delux room. They are larger than confort rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53Celal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear 53Celal53

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel St. Gotthard for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedback through tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you especially appreciated our location and staff. The Hotel St. Gotthard has a tradition over 125 years and was always known for its placement on the worldfamous Bahnhofstrasse and quality of service. Your feedback is very important to us so we know, that we are keeping up the standard. We truly hope to welcome you back to Hotel St. Gotthard on a future occasion and wish you all the best in the meantime.

With best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a long weekend in Zürich from 23rd to 26th May. It’s one of Zürich’s oldest and best-established hotels. We had stayed at the St Gotthard a couple of years ago, since when it’s had a bit of a spruce-up and some of the older rooms seem to have been modernised.

Last time we had an enormous but very old-fashioned room, which had a lot of style. The room we had this time was more expensive - supposedly a “Junior Suite”, which just looked like one of the old rooms divided into two, It was no bigger, and while perfectly comfortable, was rather boringly modern and certainly lacked the style of our previous accommodation (there weren’t even any pictures on the walls!). I hope the hotel isn’t converting its nice old rooms into the kind of characterless boxes so common in modern hotels.

That said, we had a very well-appointed bathroom with a rainfall shower, whirlpool bath and even a balcony! In fact we had balconies at all the windows, which was a great plus as the weather was excellent. The bed was large and comfortable (though it creaked a bit), and there was a separate ‘sitting room’ area with chairs, sofas and a desk and mini-bar. There was free Wi-Fi which was good and reliable.

There was a distinct lack of plug-sockets (in fact they had a 4-gang socket plugged in to supplement them). Be warned too that the sockets are old-fashioned Swiss ones, which do not accept European adaptors (typically Swiss individualism!), so you’ll need to get a Swiss adaptor from reception or remember to bring your own. A bit odd for a modern room.

Also odd was the complete lack of any mirrors, except a bathroom mirror in the bathroom, which was quite inadequate for getting dressed! There is air conditioning, which can be a bit fierce, but at least it has its own individual control.

We only had breakfast at the hotel once – it’s the usual buffet affair and at CHF33 (not included in the room rate) overpriced for what it was. There was no service to speak of – you had to make your own coffee in a machine (even much cheaper hotels in Zürich at least serve you tea and coffee at your table). The breakfast room was too hot and rather depressing, so we went outside to eat on their street terrace (though it doesn’t look as if they normally allow breakfast out there – I had to ask nicely!).

The St Gotthard is well located for the main station, which is about 3 minutes’ walk away, and if you’re into very expensive shops, there are plenty in the same street. The old town is a 10 minute walk or short tram ride away – speaking of which, you do get a certain amount of tram noise at night since there is a tram stop right outside the hotel.

Overall, this is an ‘OK’ hotel, nothing very much wrong with it, but for £300 + a night, I would have expected something a bit more luxurious and stylish, especially in an establishment that has been around for well over 100 years.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the unmodernised rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel-Gordon-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Nigel-Gordon-Walker

Thank you for your visit at the Hotel St. Gotthard and your detailed feedback about your stay with us on tripadvisor. We deeply regret to learn that our renovated room style did not quite meet your expectations and we do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our plugging system.Your feedback regarding our breakfast helps us to improve our service. Our guests have usually the option to get served at the table if they wish. Moreover we would like to thank you for your input on our location. We truly hope to welcome you at the St. Gotthard on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable St. Gotthard experience and service.

With kind regards


Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From Geneva came to Zurich. This hotel has the tinniest rooms I have seen since I left my dorm room many years ago. It is not much different from a dorm room actually, tiny single bed on on side of the room adjoining the wall. When I asked them to change, got the stock response that this is all they have. I can bet the guy did not make any effort. When to the front desk and was read the riot act about how this is exactly what they have on their web-site.

So for those who are booking looking at this on their web-site, note that this is a tiny room, with a single bed mostly meant for children.

Am paying almost 50% more that what I would pay for a proper room in a Intercon in London.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear SingaporeKAP

Thank you very much for your honest feedback at Tripadvisor and your recent stay at the Hotel St.Gotthard. We regret to hear that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your expectations and we feel very sorry for that. Concerning the size of your room we apologize for not having been able to provide you with a bigger room due to the fact that we were sold out. The personal and individual customer service is one of our top priorities and it is very much to our regret you could not feel the « Hotel St. Gotthard Spirit », we are striving to pass on to every one of our valued guests. Rest assured that if it were possible you would have received an uprade. We truly hope to welcome you at the St.Gotthard on a future occasion to demonstrate our sense for hospitality and provide you with an unforgettable St. Gotthard experience and service.

With kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and mu Wife spend three nights at St Gotthard Hotel the hotel was easy to find near the main station the bar was excellent also the restaurant with a very good service also the area of the room.We chose the hotel if we come to Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear hnoshi,

thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor. With pleasure we will forward your motivating qualification to our staff. We are very glad to know that during your next trip to Zürich, we will have the honour to welcoming you again in the Hotel St. Gotthard.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#54 of 139 in Zurich
380 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#31 of 139 in Zurich
452 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#41 of 139 in Zurich
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Property: Hotel St. Gotthard
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing