We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay and best location”
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Ranked #28 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and the best part about this hotel is its proximity to the Train Station and also its location on the edge of Bahnhofstrasse the main downtown street. It was very convenient for us to hop in and out of the hotel wherever we used to go.

We were to arrive earlier than their check in time and we had already requested for an early room. Upon arrival they remembered our email communication and within 15 minutes of our arrival we got our room. The people at the reception were very helpful throughout our stay.

The hotel room interiors had been recently renovated and hence the rooms were new looking, neat and clean. There was enough space for 2 people to move about with 2 suitcases kept. The bathroom looked new, neat and clean and all the amenities in the room were upto date. Housekeeping also did their job well. Wifi was free and signal strength was strong within the room. The only thing that was missing was a view. We had been given a room with windows that overlooked some utility area of the hotel and hence had to keep our blinds closed most of the time.

We did not have breakfast or any other meal at the hotel hence can't say anything about the food. But overall we had a great time and would definitely recommend this place for a comfortable and convenient stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeetFuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear JeetFuria

Many thanks for passing on your valuable thoughts and for your recent stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard.
We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.
Rest assured that your review has been passed on to the staff and we hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the near future.
We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us and wish you all the best in the near future.

With best regards from Zurich

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have been staying here for the last there years on my way to Bern. It is close to the station so you can esay walk. At the station you can find supermarket and resturants.

The rooms are very good. It feels very clean fresh. I have never had any problem with chek-in or check-out. I had never had breakfast, always went to Starbucks.

The only reason I did choise this hotel was the combination location and price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helix77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear helix77

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your views about your repeated Hotel St. Gotthard experience. We really appreciate that you like our location
and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly hope to welcome you back soon and maybe you want to try our delicious breakfast buffet with a great variety of choises. In the meantime we wish you all the best.

With kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This has been our fourth year in a row staying at the St Gotthard. Our stays are for a period of a month or so.
In all that time we have been totally satisfied with our choice of venue and will not stay anywhere else.
The hotel is very well situated in the Bahnhofstrasse, being only about 150 metres from the main railway station.
The rooms are quite spacious and although ours faces the street, the double glazing cuts noise to an absolute minimum. We slept very well.
Our room is thoroughly cleaned daily and without exception the staff are attentive, very pleasant and professional in their approach.
From a cost viewpoint, we believe it to be excellent value for money.
in short, we consider the St Gotthard to be "a home away from home".

Brent & Esther
Australia

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Brent A

In the name of the entire Hotel St. Gotthard Team we say thank you for your lovely comment at Tripadvisor and your fourth visit in our house. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you love our location, staff and services. You make us very proud that you are returning guests since our intention is to provide every guest with a memorable experience and we continuously maintain a service with attention to details. Rest assured that your kind and encouraging review has already been shared with the Hotel St. Gotthard team. We truly hope to welcome you back to the Hotel St. Gotthard in the near future and wish you all the best in the meantime.

With kindest regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is in a great spot, as its near all the shops and restaurants, and also near the Bahnhof (the train station, which is an easy way to travel from one city to another). We as a family stayed on the fifth floor in two interconnecting rooms, and the rooms were very nice and comfortable with nice views of the streets. We were there during the world cup final, and some of our family in Zurich wanted to watch the match with us, and the pubs were booked, so we stayed in the bar on the ground floor of the hotel and they served us very well. This is our third stay at St Gotthard, and it most definitely won't be our last one!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Umseh R,

thank you very much for your great review, we highly appreciate and forward to our staff. We are very glad that you like our location, rooms and services and are looking forward to welcoming you during your next trip to Zürich.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great location right in the city centre is obviously a big bonus with St Gotthard. Service is really good and efficient - my car was taken to the garage so swiftly I hardly got out of the car before it disappeared from my eyes. Building has been renovated with excellent taste, even though the rooms are really modern and comfortable you still have lovely old time feel in the corridors and the lobby. Maybe the best thing is the overall feeling of being in a small private hotel with exceptionally good and individual service. It is hard to explain but you really feel that you taken care of like you are the most important person, and this without any pretentious smiles. I left with a big smile and will come back. Not cheap - but nothing is in Zurich....;-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear jvtraveller

Many thanks for passing on your valuable thoughts and for your recent stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard. We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.Our intention is to provide every guest with a memorable experience and we try to continuously maintain a service with attention to details. Rest assured that your review has been passed on to the staff and we look very much forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel St. Gotthard is a convenient two-minute stroll from the bahnhof and wonderful views from the top floor. Our room was clean, modern and well appointed with windows that open for fresh air and city sounds.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor, corner room looking toward the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Ina B

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor and your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous time at the Hotel St. Gotthard and you enjoyed our location and new renovated rooms so much. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of service. We sincereley look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and wish you all the best in the meantime.

With kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A colleague checked in earlier in the day with very friendly and helpful staff, but as we were in a rush I waited until after our meetings to come back and do so. This was a bad decision. The service was a complete turnaround from what I had observed earlier. The staff was disinterested and, while not rude, certainly short of welcoming. We asked if there was an Irish pub nearby to watch the world cup, and they replied that they have a bar in the hotel, so we set out with the assistance of google instead of the hotel staff.

There is road work going on directly in front of the hotel. Unfortunately my room was directly above this work, with jackhammers and yelling workers until well after 2am when I was finally able to fall asleep.

The room itself was comfortable and clean. The bathroom features and old style tub with no curtain so you have to be careful not to spray water everywhere.

The hotel is directly across the street from the main train station which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chrishampson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear chrishampson11

Thank you very much for your honest and detailed comment at tripadvisor and your recent stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard. We apologize most sincerely for the shortcomings which you faced in terms of check in and the reception staff. Please be assured that this does not reflect our usual standard procedures and has been shared with our management team. We also feel deeply sorry for your bad sleep due to construction in front of our Hotel. The fact that you liked our location and room gives us hope that you will give us a new chance to test our service and facilities on your next trip to Zurich. We do hope this will not leave a lasting negative impression of our establishment, and that you will consider visiting us again in the future.In the meantime we wish you all the best.

With kind regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#20 of 138 in Zurich
514 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#99 of 138 in Zurich
60 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £143 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing