We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and wonderful breakfast”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Granollers, Barcelona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect location and wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Perfectly maintained hotel with staff that know how to do their work. Maybe the rooms are little but have in mind it is a rather old building, the only one in the old quarter facing the river. Outstanding kitchen! All meals delightful. Very quiet area at night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias_Casals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dearest Guest

You are obviously a professional traveller and a connaisseur. Therefor your words mean to all of my team very much and we are proud that we were able to make your stay a great experience in Zurich.

Thank you very much and hope to see you soon again

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    150
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
110
267
47
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

“A pleasant interlude in a great location sampling the best of Swiss hospitality”.

This traditional water front hotel in the heart of the city is ideally placed for business and pleasure on the banks of the River, close to the train station and in the midst of good shopping.
A warm and relaxed atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff who make you feel most welome.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipp m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dearest Guest,

Best thanks for your great compliments ! Our team is always happy in trying to exceed your expectations and provide you with what you call Swiss hospitality.

Looking really forward to welcoming you soon again

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

In October 2012 we had a business event in Storchen Hotel, Zurich and organization was great, highly profesional staff and thanks to them all went very well. I would like to make big thank you to Mrs. Dobson, Planzer and to all who made our event simply perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kindest words. To be able to make your event a successful one so that your guest are happy with your choice of the location and services makes us definitely satisfied.

Sonja Planzer and Anja Dobson are pearls in the Storchen of a whole neckless of pearls of which i am very proud !

Thank you !

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Wonderful hotel, fantastic service, expensive maybe but you get what you pay for and that's why I'll keep going back!

All the staff are wonderful and the service the best I've come across. Perfectly situated in the heart of Zurich on the banks of the river Limmat, within walking distance of train, boats and trams for getting about and seeing the area.

Concierge service the best

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic but always nice to have a view of the river limmat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind rating. This is what my team is working for every day - to be able to fulfill or better exceed the expectations and wishes of our dear guests.

Best regards and hope to see you soon again

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Storchen Hotel in Zurich for two nights before our long flight back to Australia. Our stay was the culmination of a month long trip to Southern Germany and Turkey which was partly business and partly pleasure. What a great decision this was! We are experienced travellers and have stayed in a range of accommodation over the years from one star to five star. I have no hesitation in claiming that this is by far the friendliest, classiest and most well appointed Hotel we have stayed in. We had a suite overlooking the river which is home to a sizeable number of white swans. Our beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and the staff were at all times friendly and helpful.....a well managed establishment! Zurich is an expensive city and, in keeping with this, a stay at The Storchen is not cheap but it is certainly money well spent. Put it on your "Bucket List"!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the river....unforgettable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Guest

To be able to be a highlight on your trip is a great compliment to all my staff and for this i want to sincerely thank you. Savoir vivre in the heart of Zurich - you know how to enjoy the beauties of life !

Hope to see you soon again !

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Really nice, well serviced, hotel and restaurant. But boy do you pay for it - 300 pounds for one night! This is Zurich though so don't expect much cheaper at any other hotel.

The location is brilliant though with shopping, bars, restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your feedback. We are glad that you were pleased with your stay and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Quite a traditional Swiss property with a great location (on the water front, in the heart of the city, close to the train station and in the midst of a high end shopping area etc.) good breakfast, restaurant and with a very helpful/warm staff but the room size/quality doesn't do justice to charges being paid for it...
No doubt it's a high end boutique hotel but for more than $500/night, one expects bigger/better room than the ones this property offers.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with a balcony, they are bigger rooms and on a higher floor. challenge is that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your kind rating and indeed i can understand your concerns about the size of some rooms. Our hotel was build in 1938 and since then the demand of room size has changed. In the heart of the city, with a hotel under protection possibilities are very limited to upgrade the size - but we give our best to compensate it with outstanding service.

Thank you very much and hope to see you soon again - in a bigger room

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
463 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
844 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
762 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing