We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why would you stay anywhere else in Zurich?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why would you stay anywhere else in Zurich?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I returned to this hotel - one of my favorites in the world - for our wedding anniversary. Even though we had booked through an on-line booking site, the hotel was made aware of our special occasion and upgraded us to a wonderful junior suite. When we arrived, there were champagne and flowers waiting in the room. And upon returning from dinner, the turn-down service included rose petals arranged in a heart on our bed. Now that's caring customer service. Expensive? Yes, but so is everything in Switzerland. This hotel is very special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Limmat River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTravelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

to read your rating and your kind words go down like honey and are such a great motivation for all our staff. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to pamper you for your special occasion.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    146
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
253
46
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just arrived from Zurich and stayed in this hotel. Receptionist friendly check-in was efficient and room very good with view of the lake. The general manager very professional and food excellenet. Will come again.

Room Tip: Choose lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your rating and your kind words. Though allow me one little question as you dont give a maximum to the location. We do believe it is our big USP but maybe we do not see it all the objective. It would be very useful if you could give me your opinion.

Best regards and all the best

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just a month ago I did stay in that magnificent hotel. The location is ideal. The room was comfortable and impecable. My room was located in front of the St. Peters Church and it shows a beautiful side of the city. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. The staff is attentive specially the concierge was very helpful. I highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationista2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and your motivating words for our staff.

We look forward to welcomeing you soon again and wish you all the best

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at this comfortable and decadent hotel. I swear, the superb service, lush bedding, and ideal location were the reasons I did not suffer from jetlag for the first time in my life :) After a long flight from Canada, my mother, my two little dogs, and I arrived bright and early knowing we were not likely to be able to check in before noon. Wouldn't you know it, after a quick tea in the sun along the water, our rooms were ready by 9:30 am. That set the tone for our one night stay, which felt like so much more. The rooms, the view, the turndown service, the lovely piano bar, the front desk staff, the car service ordered for us, every last detail was flawless. I highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing and luxurious, yet far from snooty, experience. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony, regardless of the weather/season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest !

Wow thank you so much for your kind rating. It is fantastic to see that we were able to make your stay such a great experience !

Thank you indeed and we keep on this successful track for you !

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in the Storchen for 6 days and found the hotel and service to be impeccable. The hotel is quite lovely with the rooms furnished beautifully. The staff is attentive, but not intrusive and the food is delicious! Try the Veal Zurich Style. It melts in your mouth! They have a cozy bar for a little fun after a day of seeing the sights. Also, the location is perfect for exploring Zurich. We've been staying at the Storchen for many, many years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Kind Rating. To see that your stay with us was a good experience is great Motivation for the entire Team.

We wish you a wonderful time and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Storchen 3 days - for us it was ideal in location, service, comfort, amenities. The Concierge (Gennaro Archidiacono) was particularly helpful. The room view (of the St Peters Church) was fine - we saw much of the river at other times. For us it was perfect; an ideal hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and of course i will inform Gennaro about your nice words.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had the wonderful experience of staying in the Storchen at the end of a two week trip last September-October that started in Munich at Oktoberfest. The hotel is right on the Limmat in the Altstadt close to the tourist action spots. The staff is absolutely wonderful as was the room. We stayed in a double room overlooking the Limmat. Nice size with unbelievably comfortable bed. The view was so relaxing.
The restaurant was excellent. Our stay included buffet breakfast each morning that had a large selection that was very good. The location is great for walking around all of the sites of the old town. Close to shops and the famous Bahnofstrasse luxury shops.
We were driving so finding how exactly to get to the hotel was interesting. It involved driving in a pedestrian only zone (allowed for hotel guests). The valet was very friendly, prompt and had our baggage unloaded and car whisked away in no time. The hotel is a bit pricey but Zurich is on the high end of the scale in that category. The experience was wonderful and we would stay there again if back in Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and it is great to see that we were able to end your trip in Europe with a good Impression. We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing