We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world comfort and elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old world comfort and elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff at the hotel convey a refined and warm level of service at this unique old world hotel. Zum storchen is a gem nestled in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I look forward to my stays here each year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pwblommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you very much for your kind words which we truly appreciate. It is a great motivation for the entire Team to see that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards and we are looking forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    146
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
253
46
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

whether you are traveling and planning to explore the city or visiting for a business trip, Hotel Storchen is a great choice.

Located in the beautiful and romantic heart of the "Altstadt" of Zurich everything is in walking distance. The hotel itself is located next to the river Limmat, especially in the summer a superb location to sip a drink. During wintertimes the open fireplace in the tea room or the bar on the first floor are inviting.
Rooms are tastefully decorated but rather small. The breakfast buffet offers anything you wish for at breakfast is offered. Don't miss out on the homemade "Storchenmüsli".
Staff if very friendly, helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysunshine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind rating which is very much appreciated as we always are eager to know how our guests had spent their time with us.

We wish you all the best and are looking Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked the hotel after reading about it in Tripadvisor.
We were spending one night in Zurich on our way to Austria and we couldn't have picked a better hotel for our 24 hour stay in the city.
The Storchen is perfectly located in the centre of the old city and next to the river.
The taxi ride from the airport took about 20 mins and cost about 60-70 Swiss Francs.
The room was lovely and in traditional style which was most welcoming and felt homely with lovely views over the river.
The staff at the reception and the coffee lounge were very friendly and helpful and the two gentlemen who helped with our baggage cheerful and very quick and friendly.
The location of the hotel allows you to walk to all the nice streets of the centre of the city whether it's for a meal and a drink or to indulge in high end shopping. Everything you may need is within few minutes walk.
For us it was perfect and we will be back.

Room Tip: Book a river view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind rating which is very much appreciated. It is also a great motivation to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you a great year and are looking Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Went back there for the 3rd time this year. Seen all the other similarly located hotels in Zurich and find that the Zum Storchen to be the nicest in all aspects. Rooms are very cosy. Nothing is pretentious. Old world charm with the classic service with a smile. Superbly efficient staff. Breakfast is wonderful, fresh orange juice and a large variety of drinks, breads & cheeses. Location is spot on. Truly sets the standard, and worth every penny.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. But those that are Limmat facing are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is a great pleasure to see that we were able to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible,.

We really look Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Storchen-Hotel is very centrally located, at the Limmat, close to Paradeplatz and all the major boutiques and shops. The service is very friendly, the breakfast ok. The Bar is mostly overfilled, make sure, you get a reservation there - even when you are a hotel-guest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeber-Mendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

ich möchte Ihnen herzlich danken für Ihr Rating. Es ist uns ein grosses Anliegen und Bedürfnis immer wieder zu überprüfen, wie wir mit unseren Dienstleistungen stehen, damit wir uns stetig verbessern können. Deshalb sind wir sehr dankbar, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns zu bewerten.

Herzlichen Dank und alles Gute.

Freundliche Grüsse

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca raton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for several years. It has been very consistently great service food at the restaurant is good .if one like to shops,great shopping near the hotel ,my room was on the river,it was quiet

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind rating which allows us to verify that we are on the right may to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you very much and hope to welcome you soon again

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I returned to this hotel - one of my favorites in the world - for our wedding anniversary. Even though we had booked through an on-line booking site, the hotel was made aware of our special occasion and upgraded us to a wonderful junior suite. When we arrived, there were champagne and flowers waiting in the room. And upon returning from dinner, the turn-down service included rose petals arranged in a heart on our bed. Now that's caring customer service. Expensive? Yes, but so is everything in Switzerland. This hotel is very special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Limmat River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTravelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest

to read your rating and your kind words go down like honey and are such a great motivation for all our staff. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to pamper you for your special occasion.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing