We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay!”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The only place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

First time we have stayed in the old town of Zurich and we were very pleased with the choice. We travelled with our 2 daughters and booked 2 rooms at the Storchen and were upgraded to river facing rooms on arrival for a 5 night stay. The rooms were lovely, both a good size, beautifully decorated, plenty of windows opening out over the river, ample cupboard space, beds were comfortable and adjustable for back up or feet up or both. Our bathroom was a fair size, 2 basins and shower over bath tub. If I could change anything it would be to have had a separate shower in our bathroom, the second room we had was a shower only in a very small bathroom.
The staff is very attentive, fruit is placed in the rooms daily, bottled water available at the lift at all times, shoe cleaning machines to have a quick polish on your way out. It has everything.
Breakfast was in their restaurant dining room which has lovely big windows looking over and up the river. Their breakfast is quite a small affair, I do not think the kitchen is working so breakfast is run by the morning wait staff. A good range of juices, bread and pastries, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, cheese, meats, etc but the cooked breakfast came out in very small quantities. Eggs one could order but if there was an influx of people in for breakfast, bacon, sausages etc would run out as well as some of the more popular pastries. I think they need to ramp up their breakfast when the hotel is busy.
The Rôtisserie restaurant is excellent. We booked and ate our Christmas dinner here and it was superb. One needs to sample the restaurants all around old town but eat at least one in this lovely restaurant.
The coffee shop downstairs is also very good and is very popular so can be quite difficult to find a table. Definitely go in and have a coffee with a Storchen torte. You will not be disappointed.
We will never stay at another hotel in Zurich again! The Storchen is in the absolutely best position in Zurich and is a lovely hotel. It may not be the ‘best’ hotel we have ever stayed in but it cannot be beaten for position and ambiance. We love The Storchen!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest

Wow that is great motivation for my staff and i would like to thank you sincerely for your kind rating. A well travelled person giving us so much credit is fantastic and shows us that we are on the right track, which never stops to give our best.

We wish you and your family all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    147
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
258
47
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I'm only half way through my stay, but wanted to write review before I got lazy when home :-)

From the booking process, via email with anja and then Franziska. Both quich to respond, very pleasant and accommodating , managing to get me a river facing room, which I very much appreciate. Check in seamless and less than 5 min.

Room delightful , bed awesome !! Gorgeous view. All in all I'm just delighted .

Breakfast nice, service good

I'm very happy that I chose the storchen out of the maize of good hotels on trip advisor. Fantastic area, 2 min walk tops to a gorgeous Italian restaurant brinella and of course lets not forget the hotels own restaurant , just magnificent !,

I'll defiantly be back !,

Room Tip: See if you're lucky enough to get a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you very much for your kind rating and realizing that you are a professional traveler it is a great motivation to see that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We wish you all the best and look Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

It is hard to find a well located hotel, with great service and comfortable rooms at this price in Zurich. Don't let the external appearances scare you as yes, that looks very 80ies, but inside it is very nicely decorated, typical Swiss style and the people at the reception are simply excellent. I got a room upgrade and had a very nice spacious room. The bed is simply great, good old so-bed style. The bar is very nice as well, and breakfast very complete. I paid 210 chf for the night, and is very hard to find another hotel in Zurich.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cis_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating. We are very pleased and motivated to have been able to have satisfied your expectations. We look Forward to welcomeing you soon again and wish you all the best.

Regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Excellent location with an extremely attentive, welcoming staff. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding, and next time I'll order an omelette. Didn't realize I could do that until after breakfast on the day I left. One cautionary note: toothbrush kit in bathroom isn't complimentary. I was tired so didn't dig mine out of the suitcase. Most hotels make you call to request a toothbrush if there is a charge. Just wish it was clearly noted in bathroom. But that's a minor quibble. I will be back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your kind words. Also thank you for your remark concerning the toothbrush which we are actually in the progress of change in favour of our guests.

We really look forward to welcomeing you soon again and wish you all the best.

Regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff at the hotel convey a refined and warm level of service at this unique old world hotel. Zum storchen is a gem nestled in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I look forward to my stays here each year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pwblommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you very much for your kind words which we truly appreciate. It is a great motivation for the entire Team to see that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards and we are looking forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

whether you are traveling and planning to explore the city or visiting for a business trip, Hotel Storchen is a great choice.

Located in the beautiful and romantic heart of the "Altstadt" of Zurich everything is in walking distance. The hotel itself is located next to the river Limmat, especially in the summer a superb location to sip a drink. During wintertimes the open fireplace in the tea room or the bar on the first floor are inviting.
Rooms are tastefully decorated but rather small. The breakfast buffet offers anything you wish for at breakfast is offered. Don't miss out on the homemade "Storchenmüsli".
Staff if very friendly, helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysunshine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind rating which is very much appreciated as we always are eager to know how our guests had spent their time with us.

We wish you all the best and are looking Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked the hotel after reading about it in Tripadvisor.
We were spending one night in Zurich on our way to Austria and we couldn't have picked a better hotel for our 24 hour stay in the city.
The Storchen is perfectly located in the centre of the old city and next to the river.
The taxi ride from the airport took about 20 mins and cost about 60-70 Swiss Francs.
The room was lovely and in traditional style which was most welcoming and felt homely with lovely views over the river.
The staff at the reception and the coffee lounge were very friendly and helpful and the two gentlemen who helped with our baggage cheerful and very quick and friendly.
The location of the hotel allows you to walk to all the nice streets of the centre of the city whether it's for a meal and a drink or to indulge in high end shopping. Everything you may need is within few minutes walk.
For us it was perfect and we will be back.

Room Tip: Book a river view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind rating which is very much appreciated. It is also a great motivation to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you a great year and are looking Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing