We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, fantastic service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel, fantastic service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I can not speak highly enough about this hotel! From the moment we arrived to when we departed, the hotel lived up to every star given and the service was second to none! Also a fantatic location!! Often you find at least something wrong in hotels - they just don't quite get it right but i have to say that is not the case here! I'd booked this as a break for my dad's 70th birthday and they made it very special for him. Thank you very much. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Kind words. It was our great pleasure to welcome you and we are deeply happy that your father enjoyed his birthday with us.

All the best to you all and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    146
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
253
46
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location is very good for walking around the city. We had a river view room and were very glad that we did since the view was very interesting. Our room was rather small but well appointed and very clean. In addition to a desk, we had two easy chairs for reading which were very much appreciated.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding - with the best croissants we have had in Europe in several years. A light and airy setting with a great view.

The bar was a room with great local character and good service.

In a great hotel, everything should be perfect and a few items were a bit less than that: a) We were surprised that there was not much acoustic isolation between rooms. When anyone flushed a toilet, took a shower, or listened to TV, we could hear it. b) The concierge on duty in the morning did not communicate well with the one in the evening and our dinner reservations got mixed up. It all worked out but it should never have happened. c) Logging into WIFI was easy the first time. After that, the log in process was confusing and frustrating.

We would probably stay here again. However, the Swiss are experts in hotel management and I would consider some alternatives before doing so.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest

best thanks for your professional and also critical rating.
I take your points very serious and we will work on them especially when they have to do with our services. Infrastructural issues take a little longer but i assure you that we are constantly investing in improvements.

Thank you and best regards and we are looking Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was a fabulously located hotel with large rooms and great beds. The pillows could be a bit better, but not much to complain about. There is no spa, sauna or pool which for the price- there should be something to help you unwind besides very expensive drinks. Great service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJBKKKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating. It Looks like you had wishes to enjoy some relaxing time in a spa. As our house is very old and space is very limited therefor we had to set our priorities and after research with our guests we decided not to invest into a spa or similar. Nevertheless within no distance we offer different great spa possibilites and even in the house we offer massages in your room. Being so central in the City and the lake we offer you a nice Jogging map with great routes to the lake.

Thank you very much for considering our Hotel and we look forward to welcomeing you soon again and organising you some great spa treatments.

best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
809 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Right on the lake. Two blocks from Bahnhofstrass. Great people. Rooms are European but have nice touches like flat screen TV and adjustable beds. The included breakfast is a must and you should have the hotel arrange your airport transfer. Why ride in a cab when for the same price you can have a Mercedes.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and we all are happy to see that you had a good stay with us and we look Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband pulled out all the stops and booked the Storchen in Zurich for my 50th birthday celebration. Although we had to break the piggybank to do it, ours was a once-in-a-lifetime, unforgettable experience.

The room was immaculately presented with a bowl of fresh fruit, high-end chocolates, and an immense orchid. We had a desk, sofa, and the biggest bathtub I've ever had in a hotel. The reception and service employees were all extremely helpful and spoke any language imaginable! The hotel also has valet parking which we don't often enjoy. We had lovely strolls through the Old Town and, because of the Storchen's location, we able to have a short rest before heading out for dinner in the evenings.

From 7:00 - 7:15 the bells of Zurich ring. This was heavenly! Also, there was a flute player on one of the bridges. So, from our room we could hear the gentle river, the flute, and eventually the evening bells. This was magical.

Be sure to ask about the legend of the stork and the stork egg mosaic in the lobby. There is a story and I think the concierge loves to tell it.

The breakfast room has high ceilings, beautiful woodwork, lovely murals, and crests from all of the local craft guilds. Breakfast was extensive, definitely one of the best I've experienced in Europe, with lovely views of the river. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and at the Storchen it was perfect.

Although the price tag is high, I'd still recommend it for an unforgettable weekend of luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLTurpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your very professional and kind rating and it is a great pleasure and motivation for all of us to see that you had a great stay with us.

We wish you a wonderful spring and look forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Joerg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a character hotel perfectly situated in the heart of Zurich. The quality is very high although in a traditional way. The rooms while comfortable have been refurbished to an OK standard but were small and creaky (headboards loose), bathrooms infeasibly small. The terraces on the 1st and ground floors are fantastic and will be busy in the summer months.Breakfast was OK and a good standard but not the best I have experienced - a small buffet choice and service, while prompt was devoid of any warmth from the staff. This hotel should have been wonderful and my experience was OK, certainly I would return but without expectations of being taken care of particularly well - for business it was fine however.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNRinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and your ciritical points we take very serious. It shows that every single day we have to perform at our best. Of course as a very traditional Hotel and being under protection we have different sized rooms and have our limits to improve architectual issues. Nevertheless our services have to top the expectations and so we will continue to work on that.

We wish you all the best and look Forward to welcomeing you again in the Storchen.

Best regards

Joerg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
243 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is one of those hotels which takes you back in time - to the 50s or 60s. Everything is old style - the heavy room key, the decor, the service style. Nice - especially since it is immaculate condition and technically updated. I have eaten there several times - and this was my first stay.

However, I had some glitches:

- the single rooms have really annoying small bathrooms. The door doesn't even open properly - it's wedged between the toilet and the basin.
- this may sound an odd negative, but when I contacted them by email for my reservation because of a specific query, they offered me a better rates (unprompted) than their website. Nice you would think. Actually, a bit frustrating. I am not used to haggling in Switzerland - the price is the price (and they aren't low). Somehow annoying to know you need to get in touch to get a more reasonable rate.
- what I had asked for when booking (hence the email), was a possibility to have some breakfast for an early departure at 5.45am (breakfast room opens at 6.15). I was assured that this was possible, and told at check-in that it was all organised to be in reception the following morning. But it wasn't - and the night receptionist didn't really care. Frustrating since it was part of the booking. And - unlike most Swiss hotels of a decent standard - there are not even coffee machines in the bedrooms to grab an espresso.

However, as everyone says, the location is perfect, bed very comfortable, the regular staff charming and the Rotisserie restaurant is delicious (although some of the waiting staff were a bit haphazard). All very old school. But not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your serious and critical Rating. It is through Feedback of you that we are able to find out about things we can improve on. That we offered you a better rate on the phone is because there was an opening for a lower category of rooms.

That we missed the very early breakfast (05h45) was definitely a terrible mistake which i sincerely apologize. This way we found out there is a lack in our organisation as this appears not very often. So we are very grateful and adapted right away our Service. Unfortunately this is too late for you but we hope to be able to welcome you soon again to show that we take the critics very serious.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing