We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smokers delight ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Smokers delight ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I have stayed at the Storchen before and was really impressed, however I was somewhat disappointed to have been placed in a smoking room with lots of air fresheners. In the end I had to call reception and enquire whether the room was designated for smokers, to which I was informed they are not smoking rooms, but, if people smoke that's ok which I found surprising. I was moved, but to another smoking room, the smell not as bad but really affected my sleep.

Room service were very helpful and made me something off of the menu.

A nice hotel, but was rather concerned at the room and then moving me to another smoking room was not good, I had been travelling all day and it was late upon arrival and I didn't insist on a third room, which I would do if the same happened again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Geust

Thank you very much for your remarks and i apologize for the inconveniences you had to go through.

Indeed it is a problem with the smoking rooms and we decided that we will gradually get rid of the smoking rooms.

We appreciate your remarks and promise to make sure that your next stay will be in a absolute smoke free room.

Best regards and all the best

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    146
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
253
46
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The Hotel is idially located on the river shore, in the old town of Zurich and not far from the main station. The staff overall (especially reception employees) were very friendly and always attentive.
Our room was very clean and well equipped with all amenities needed and sleep quality was eycellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, even if it is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jevgeniapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest

Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us during your VDH Meeting. Thank you so much for your kind rating and we hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This Hotel has such rich history and charm that it oozes out of every stairwell, fabric and taste and is a wonderful romantic getaway. The staff is helpful and assertive but not to the point of overbearing. Nikita, the concierge, went above and beyond and was able to assist us with all of our needs. He gave us wonderful places to go in Zurich that were a bit more on the local fare of things which is exactly what we had asked for. The restaurant was on par with some of the finest in Europe and the services was exquisite. The view of the sunrise from the lake side rooms was a wonderful way to start the day. There are excellent routes for early morning runs along the Limmat and Lake Zurich too. This is an ideal location for a first time stay in Zurich. The one issue that I had and did not issue 5 stars was I asked the front desk to look into an issue the room had with its power source, this was not fixed or addressed. All in all it was an very good stay.

Room Tip: Room 424 was superb with lake views and early morning sunrises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheetohooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind rating and it is great to see that not only the location and Zurich made you feel good but also our staff,

We hope to see you soon again and wish you a wonderful fall !

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a wonderful first experience we had at the Storchen, the rooms are lovely old world modern, immaculately clean and up to date, the staff are attentive to your needs and always happy to help.

I do not review hotels as a rule, but felt this needed to be praised, I would recommend you stay here if you get the chance. it's close to everything the old town and lake offers and is a must.

To the staff keep doing what you do you are great.

Wayne Bourke
Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: The rooms at the front looking over the river are lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Wayne Bourke

thank you so much for your kind rating and we are happy to match your expactations and hope to see so many more great people from Australia !

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have traveled a lot and stayed in some of the best hotels in the US, Japan, Hong Kong and France, among others. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location was great - downtown right in the middle of everything. The service was fantastic - from the front desk to the concierge to the restaurant. No one could have possibly provided better service than they did. The rooms were also wonderful. My brother and his family were upgraded to a junior suite at no charge because they needed a room big enough for three kids. The food in the restaurant was also excellent. Everything was great. I highly recommend this hotel for business, couples, families, friends or solo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiyoIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and it is fantastic to see how you were able to enjoy the stay with us.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I've stayed here and it would take something extraordinary to make me go somewhere else. Beautifully decorated and in a prime location (lovely views of the river and the charming buildings opposite), the hotel has a wonderful feel--luxurious but relaxed. The staff is unfailingly polite and helpful. The breakfast features a wide selection of good, fresh food. While not inexpensive, it's worth every penny.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and it is great to see that also at your third time in the storchen you are still satisfied with our services.

We hope to see you soon again and meanwhile we wish you all the best !

Regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
368 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a wonderful five star Hotel right on the River and one of our favorite stops for a drink when walking along the River. We got the chance to stay here once in the late summer and we had a street side room. I don't think they had air conditioning .....so we opened the window. I had to listen to drunks all night long. It was almost like they knew the Storchen Hotel had open windows so how obnoxious can we be at 3 am. I was not a happy camper ,but the Hotel itself is gorgeous, the restaurant first class and we would stay here again...just not on the street side.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Riverside if possible during warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your nice words. It is great to see that you enjoy our Hotel and our services. Just to let you know that we have in all rooms air conditioning since 1996 but as soon you open the window it all stops for economical reasons.

We look forward to welcomeing you soon again in the Storchen and wish you all the best.

Regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing