We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for your citytrip to Zurich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #85 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location for your citytrip to Zurich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of the city center (both for shopping/tourism and for business). Staff is very friendly, hotel is very clean. On the downside: bathrooms are rather small (low ceiling makes it a challenge to shower for taller people (I'm 1m90), and a small bottle of drinking water in the room would have been nice. Free wifi, but somehow I didn't get it to work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_VdV_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Peter_VdV

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to write about your stay with us.
We very much appreciate your kind feedback about the Hotel and our staff. I am very sorry, that you didn’t get the wifi to work. Please let us know next time you are staying with us and we can assist you with the set up.

I hope we can welcome you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    110
    52
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
71
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for a night. Was fine. Rooms look very dated. Not even a bottle of water available in room, as one would expect now days. A lot of road noise outside. Breakfast was fine. In good weather, hotel has a nice outside bit could sit in and enjoy a drink. Staff seem friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Holja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Holja

Thank you very much for your review and I apologise for our late reply.

We very much appreciate that you took the time to write about your stay with us and please be assured that I will look into all the points raised to see where we can improve.

I hope we can welcome you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. It's major plus point was its proximity to the station and office. The hotel ascot is underwhelming for a 4 star business hotel. The corridors are dark, as are the rooms and the facilities poor (no in room iron). Beds are annoyingly two single mattresses mascarading as a double and it is easy to leave your room unlocked as you have an old style key rather than a self locking door. The restaurant is ok at best with a half decent breakfast let down by the obscure variety on the evening meal menu (spring rolls or soup for appetisers for example). They pride themselves on their steaks, which are small and not the best you'll taste. Prices are expensive as most things in Zurich are. Moved to a new hotel after one week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Roger W

Thank you very much for your review and I apologise for our late reply.

I was sorry to read, that you didn’t feel so comfortable when staying with us. It is true that we don’t have in room irons, however we deliver them to the rooms on request anytime needed. I am sorry, that you had a room with twin beds as we do have rooms with queen or king size mattresses. Please be assured that I will look into all the points raised regarding our breakfast and food offer.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future and please do let me know personally when you are planning to return so I can make sure that you will have a very comfortable stay.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Hotel was overall good, not much for / against the hotel The plus it has free WIFI and rooms were good. Not within walking distance from the city centre, but the Tram is just around the corner. Breakfast was average. overall staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipchop_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear chipchop_1

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and your kind review.

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

the hotel is in a very good location just in front of Enge train station and many trams stops in front of the hotel. reception staff are friendly and accomodating. room is comfortable , breakfast is good. the best thing is, they have free wifi connection in the room. i will recommend this hotel to my friends who wants to visit Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Atil R

Thank you very much for your review and your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took the time to write about it. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and other travellers.

We do hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel. Very friendly reception staff, comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Hotel is attractively located, with an easy walk to the center of Zürich. However, to my opinion overrated with € 300,- for this night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjaak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Sjaak J

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and your Feedback, which we very much appreciate!

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Acommodation is fine, clear, nice breakfest. It is close to the railway station which makes it noisy during early morning. I stayed one night, paid by company voucher, but they are blocking 100 CHF on my credit card for 3 weeks. I asked for explanation via several emails but I did not received any response. They ask for recommendation at tripadvisor at reception desk, there is a big board with invitation... But they are not able answer email.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Lenca17

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. However we are of course very sorry for not replying to your emails and for any frustration this must have caused you. I have spoken to the relevant teams to prevent this from re-occurring.

The amount of CHF 100 was blocked as a guarantee for any extras you might have had during your stay with us. The amount was released and cancelled by us on the day of your departure and the details were given to the credit card company. I am not sure why it took so long to be released back to your card as it usually should not take longer than a few days.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Ascot in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further queries or questions.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing