We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and friendly”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #84 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good quality and friendly”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last few years, mainly on business from the UK. It is not the cheapest available but the rooms are very good quality and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. What I liked was that the hotel was a short walk from town in a quiet area but close to trams and trains. I would highly recommend this hotel. By the way the breakfasts are great with a massive cold buffet and you can help yourself to bacon and eggs and finish off with a nice variety of cakes! As with most hotels they have some rooms with inter-connecting doors which I find quite irritating as a single traveller as very often this allows noise to permeate from neighbouring rooms. I don't think hotels should allocate these rooms to people unless they want to be next to family. Having said that they will move you if you ask and they have other rooms available. More of a general moan than a specific gripe at this hotel!

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the front as they have balconies and it can be nice to look out and see a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Manager at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear swissisbliss,

Thank you very much for your review and your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took the time to write about it. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and other travellers.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Zurich and the Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    114
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
33
71
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a longer Christmas trip to Switzerland. The location is super convenient, the Hotel is just across the street from the train station, a short walk from the lake, the Bahnhofstrasse shopping and Zurich's Old Town. The service was excellent and the hotel facilities are great. We especially loved the breakfast at the restaurant in the morning as well as the Bar for a night cup (and don't miss the famous Ascot club sandwich, yum). We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swizzmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Swizzmiss

Thank you very much for your review and your positive feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took the time to write about it.

We do hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a very fine business hotel, though it's also great for visiting Zürich for leisure (as we did). Staff is professional and very friendly. Had a big and light standard room. Only drawback: as so often happens in hotels, the room was rather hot and there was no way to regulate the temperature ourselves (besides opening a window). The hotel's location is perfect (just opposite Enge train station) and within 5 minutes of the lake. Had a great deal with breakfast thrown in. This was plenty and nice. Wifi is free of charge, fast and trustworthy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Manager at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear PMK2013

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and your kind review.

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Have been using this hotel for 12 years or so off and on. The smoking ban that finally hit the Canton of Zurich a few years ago has made a big difference for the better and the ground floor is no longer smelling of smoke 24 hours a day. The building is 70s and so is the decor in the dining room. As with many hotels in this city the customer does not get to control the heating in their room. In Switzerland service is defined by the provider not the customer and the management here have decided they have a winning formula based on the same old breakfast, some recently refurbished rooms and I think most importantly proximity to the big insurance companies , reinsurers and brokers in the Enge area. I arrived and there was a queue of about 5 customers to check in and 3 receptions staff : 1 serving customers and the other two sorting out some internal matter clearly more important than checking in clients!. The hotel is right opposite Banhof Enge which has 3 tram lines and it is likely that you will hear the number 5 - until midnight and then from 5 am onwards - from your hotel room particularly if you have to open the window to cool the room down! So overall okay business hotel, bit noisy, good location and pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: It used to be the case that only rooms on higher floors facing the road had air conditioning - not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear LordH64

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and your constructive Feedback. It is very important to us as it helps me and the team to improve our level of service continuously. Please be assured that I will look into all your points raised to discuss those with my colleagues.

We very much appreciate your support over the last few years and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Hotel Ascot on many more occasions.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of the city center (both for shopping/tourism and for business). Staff is very friendly, hotel is very clean. On the downside: bathrooms are rather small (low ceiling makes it a challenge to shower for taller people (I'm 1m90), and a small bottle of drinking water in the room would have been nice. Free wifi, but somehow I didn't get it to work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_VdV_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Peter_VdV

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to write about your stay with us.
We very much appreciate your kind feedback about the Hotel and our staff. I am very sorry, that you didn’t get the wifi to work. Please let us know next time you are staying with us and we can assist you with the set up.

I hope we can welcome you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for a night. Was fine. Rooms look very dated. Not even a bottle of water available in room, as one would expect now days. A lot of road noise outside. Breakfast was fine. In good weather, hotel has a nice outside bit could sit in and enjoy a drink. Staff seem friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Holja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Holja

Thank you very much for your review and I apologise for our late reply.

We very much appreciate that you took the time to write about your stay with us and please be assured that I will look into all the points raised to see where we can improve.

I hope we can welcome you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business. It's major plus point was its proximity to the station and office. The hotel ascot is underwhelming for a 4 star business hotel. The corridors are dark, as are the rooms and the facilities poor (no in room iron). Beds are annoyingly two single mattresses mascarading as a double and it is easy to leave your room unlocked as you have an old style key rather than a self locking door. The restaurant is ok at best with a half decent breakfast let down by the obscure variety on the evening meal menu (spring rolls or soup for appetisers for example). They pride themselves on their steaks, which are small and not the best you'll taste. Prices are expensive as most things in Zurich are. Moved to a new hotel after one week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Roger W

Thank you very much for your review and I apologise for our late reply.

I was sorry to read, that you didn’t feel so comfortable when staying with us. It is true that we don’t have in room irons, however we deliver them to the rooms on request anytime needed. I am sorry, that you had a room with twin beds as we do have rooms with queen or king size mattresses. Please be assured that I will look into all the points raised regarding our breakfast and food offer.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future and please do let me know personally when you are planning to return so I can make sure that you will have a very comfortable stay.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 139 in Zurich
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
427 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing