We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #47 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel was located in the heart of the city, which was a huge plus, the free high speed internet was again no problem. I really liked the stay there. The elevator was quite small, but the building is not that high, so there stairs are a good option too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abarbosa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear abarbosa21

Thank you very much that you stay in the Hotel Alexander.
We are pleased to notice that you have been happy with the room.
We hope we can welcome you here soon again.

Kind regards

The staff from Hotel Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

After been badly ripped off by ibis hotel near airport Zurich I got myself booked in this hotel and it was a wonderful experience staying there everything was just outside the hotel bars cafés shisha smoke u just name it and it's outside the hotel.Price they charged me was unbelievable it was the lowest of all hotel across for single room stay I was given a double room nice a comfy beds very nice bathroom highly secured rooms very clean bathrooms friendly staff free wifi for all your devices .Great hotel thanks to the management. And cheer keep it up

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zainshsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Zainshsh

Thank you very much for your stay at the hotel Alexander and your motivating review. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you liked your stay very much. We are very glad that you were satisfied with our service. This should be the kind of service we are aiming to give and it is great to see that it works. Your feedback does encourage us very much - thank you!
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The Hotel Alexander Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is just right for a short stay in Zurich. Location is great, in the picturesque Old Town and within walking distance of a lot of sights, restaurants, and shops. Tram stop just a few steps away. Clean, newly renovated rooms with AC. Free wifi and good quality breakfast included in the rates. The lady at the reception desk was very helpful and patient with all of my questions. My only gripe was the quality of the towels, jarringly out of sync with everything else the hotel offered.

Will definitely stay here again if in Zurich for only 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelmomABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear travelmomABC

We thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your evaluations have an enormous motivating effect on our team, and they support us in our daily work. We always endeavor to give our customers a sincere, obliging and professional service which we keep trying hard to enhance.

It somehow shows that we’ve made it.

We hope that the towels weren’t too much of a discomfort for you.

We wish you a pleasant day and hope to see you here again.

Yours truly

The Hotel Alexander Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying in the dependance building. Small rooms but clean bed and clean shower.
Breakfast in the main building, but its not even a 2 minute walk. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.
Wifi code only lasts 24hrs so you need to get a new pass at the front desk.

Location is perfect. Lots to see and so many restaurants in walking distance.

Dependance building is next to the redlight district, in the evenings you notice. But its not troublesome
The parking arrangent was very confusing

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Niels R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Niels R

We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate ambition.

Concerning the parking: It is very unfortunate that you experienced it as confusing. As the space is very limited in the centre of Zurich we can’t offer anything else. We hope that this issue was not too much trouble for you.
The WLAN codes can also be requested by calling the reception at any given time.

We wish you a very pleasant day and hope to see you here again.

Yours truly

The Hotel Alexander Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Checkin was efficient and cordial - wifi worked great - for as many devices as you needed.

We needed a corkscrew - so we were given one gratis. Location was superb - easy walk with luggage from the trian station. Lovely to stroll all the old cobbled streets, along the river, sit at a cafe. Got to watch some world cup soccer at a local pub less than a block away.
Breakfast was quite splendid. lots of meats, eggs - "oeuf a la coque" was only one of three ways to boil an egg. Croissants; juices; good coffee. Charming service.

bed was comfortable. did not hear any noise ...even after the soccer match. Well worth the stay ....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear krugman

We are very pleased that you have chosen us to be your host. We are more than pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal.
We would be honored if you would spread those affirmative comments on the Hotel Alexander to your circle of friends. All the best for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours truly

The Hotel Alexander Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel fills up fast in the summer months and is popular because of its superb location in the heart of Zurich near practically all the attractions, the main station and the shopping district of Bahnhof Strasse. The entrance is a small doorway along a row of shops on a cobbled street and quite nondescript. The reception is small, there is no business centre but rooms are modern, new, clean and comfortable. Service was friendly and efficient and the breakfast was good and substantial. Stay here if your time in Zurich is short and you need an efficient location for for your visit and don't plan to spend too much time in doors.

Room Tip: It is on a busy street so ask for rooms facing away from the street with air conditioning for peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Legal_itinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Legal_itinerant,

Thank you very much for your kindly words.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Alexander. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am pleased to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again for another stay with us.

Best regards

The Hotel Alexander Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked 3 rooms here for my siblings and I. Price for chf 190 for their business room. Email correspondence was speedy and efficient. Price was spot on for what we were getting.
I have stayed in Zurich before so I know the Old Town area is nicer to stay at. Hotel Alexander's location was wonderful, smack dab in the middle of charming Old Town. Loads of restaurants within walking distance and the tram to main train station stops around 50meters away.

Room was good sized and clean (renovated in 2012). Well thought out lighting. Free fruit and chocolate. Rather weak water pressure in the shower and towels a bit too thin. Room was reasonably quiet...I could hear my neighboring room through the bathroom but once I closed the bathroom door, it was quiet again. I think some smells from the nearby restaurant somehow wafted up through the AC grill. Nothing too strong.

Free and quick WIFI also included.

Breakfast is included in the price and is the typical European spread of cold cuts, bread, etc.

Receptionist was excellent. Efficient, friendly, helpful.

Can highly recommend this 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Pigletthepug,

Thank you very much for having had the privilege to be your host.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Alexander. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am pleased to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again for another stay with us.

Thank you for your absolutely affirmative comment on the location of our hotel. Time and again people tell us that they're appreciating the short transfer time thanks to the hotel’s central location.

We look forward to seeing soon again at our place.

Best regards
The Hotel Alexander Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
989 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#27 of 137 in Zurich
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#52 of 137 in Zurich
549 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#47 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £132 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing