We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
36
51
20
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
51
20
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townthe ground floorgreat locationwalking distance to everythingsmall hotelroom keybreakfast buffetgood sizelaketramkeys
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Location, location, location. The Alstadt is small and in the heart of the old town. We could walk everywhere, even to the train station (about 20 min.). The staff was helpful and the rooms, although compact, were comfortable and had everything we needed. Just don't expect The Alstadt or anything else in Zurich to be a bargain.

The breakfast was good and coffee was available all day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EBStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Well positioned to walk around central Zurich, staff were friendly and the little bar/cafe on the ground floor is kind of cute. Our room overlooked a cobblestone laneway which had no traffic but a fair number of noisy walkers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Great location for a hotel, Zurich is just beautiful lovely to walk around, the hotel has a gorgeous little bar underneath that is lovely to sit and watch the world go by. The staff where lovely very helpful, unfortunately we where there on a saturday night, it was hot with no air-conditioning we left the windows open and the noise was incredible, lots of hens nights and people yelling in the streets until really late, an offset of being so central. However this wouldn't stop me from coming back! A tip if your going to do a bus tour of Zurich don't do the trolley tour it's crap!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debstrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This place is a small boutiqe in a great location. The rooms are extremely small, even for European/Boutique standards. The internet does not work in most rooms, which is problematic for business guests. There is no gym, but breakfast is included. The most serious/frusterating issue is that our booking was misrecorded at reception as being one day longer than our actual stay. When we went to check out they accused us of booking this extra night (which we did not) and told us that we must pay for it. They refused to remove the extra night from our bills. We felt seriously taken advantage of and were forced to pay for a night that we did not book. Usually when you check-in at a hotel they confirm what night you are checking out. They did not do this at this hotel. So beware! Check how many nights they have you booked for and demand a record of this when you check-in or you may be unjustly forced to pay extra.
The sad thing is we have had many company people stay at the hotel over the years and have spent thousands of dollars. Now, for a few extra bucks, they will lose all business from us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BusinessTravel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a nice modern hotel, but with some extra heart and soul and creative touches to it. I really liked the way an individual artist had been invited to provide the artwork for each room. Upon arriving at your room you are greeted by a photo of the artist who had contributed to your room, it gives the place a nice "boutique" feel.

My room was on the top floor and had some very nice old beams in it. I spied the rooms nearby with the roof terraces, they looked very nice to stay in too.

Maggie downstairs in the reception/bar area was really warm, friendly, professional and helpful. The breakfast offered was ok (nothing special or exciting). I didn't hear a peep of noise from the very small bar below the hotel.

The hotel is very well located near the river, next to the shops, nearby the old town, and also very convenient to the train station (I just walked from the train station to the hotel with my suitcase, no problem).

The only thing that could be improved in the room is the shower - they really need to put a screen on it as it's impossible not to splash a bit of water out.

The thai restaurant nextdoor does indeed offer very good food (the fact that it is packed out each night is testament to that!). Another one of my favourite restaurants in Zurich is Terrasse, particularly in the summertime when you can have a drink and dine outside in the sunshine under the grand old trees on their...you guessed it...garden terrace. This is a few blocks stroll from the hotel.

This hotel is very good quality and value for Zurich and I would highly recommend it either for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_Nic_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews