We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Airconditioning , Terrible humidity especially at night.”
Review of Altstadt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altstadt Hotel
Ranked #110 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“No Airconditioning , Terrible humidity especially at night.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

It is an expensive Hotel (CHF 560 Euro for 2 nights ) recommended by United Airline.
It was terrible surprise for me, to find out that there is no air-conditioning .
You even can not open the windows because it is noisy from outside (facing the street) and high lighting intensity coming from the street.
It was so hot and humid, really terrible, that I hardly fall a slip , and woke up sweat very short after.
When I complained about it , management suggested to use ventilator.

I do not recommend this Hotel to anybody , until they will install air-conditioning system.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor . a guest told me that they have air-conditioning system only in the 5TH floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliReich, Front Office Manager at Altstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. Every advise helps us to improve our service standards.

As already mentioned in your comment we do have some rooms with air-conditioning. We recommend them for hot summer days.

We'd be pleased to welcome you back again in our hotel in Zurich's historical town centre.

Yours faithfully,

Simone Müller
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    46
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
34
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Spent 2 nights here while on a pit-stop from the south of France up to Munich. Didn't put too much thought into visiting Zurich other than it was in the middle of our train commute up to Munich. But I'm SO glad we did. This hotel is quaint and small, but has everything you need. Staff is friendly and helpful and rooms are modern and clean (also great water pressure in showers which was a nice change for our trip!) The location of this hotel is the best part! We walked everywhere, no need for trams, trains or taxis if you stay here. If you stay on the top floor, the rooms have skylights and our skylight had a perfect view of the Grossmunster Cathedral towers. The complimentary breakfast was also an impressive spread! Full spread of fruits, lunch meats, breads, cappuccinos, eggs...It had everything for a perfect start to exploring the beautiful city of Zurich that day! Can't say enough good things about this place. I recommend it to everyone. Zurich in itself is expensive, so this was quite a deal for such a great place! 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittney_paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliReich, Front Office Manager at Altstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and good rating. We're pleased that you've enjoyed your stop in Zurich.

We'd be happy to welcome you back again in our place. In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Yours faithfully,

Simone Müller
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. A guest was running amok and the hotel management did nothing about it. There was no receptionist on duty after midnight, no one to call either. No emergency phone number in my room and no one from management around to help to protect the guests from the aggressive hotel guest who tried to break into the rooms by banging the fire extinguisher against doors. If we- the guests would not have called the police ourselves- who knows what would have happened. Worst hotel experience in my life.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliReich, Owner at Altstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Google Translation
Wir hatten tatsächlich vor einem Monat einen Hotelgast der Amok gelaufen ist. Das war für alle beteiligten keine gute Nacht. Nicht wahrheitsgetreu ist jedoch diese Schilderung!

Alle nötigen Notrufe wurden ordnungsgemäss umgestellt, ebenso war die Telefonzentrale korrekt auf Nachtschaltung und die verantwortliche Person war zusammen mit der Polizei vor Ort. Es ist nicht sehr objektiv, wenn eine nicht direkt betroffene Person nur vom „hören sagen“ solche Informationen auf diese Plattform stellt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed in the Altstadt Hotel for one night in March 2013. Great location, close to the historical center, public transport, restaurants, museums etc. Nice and perfectly cleaned rooms, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeniaSanguinetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliReich, Front Office Manager at Altstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Mrs Sanguinetti

Thank you for your kind review - we're glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay.

We'd be pleased to welcome you soon again in our hotel and wish you a nice spring-time.

Kind regards,

Simone Müller
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Spent only one night here on business. The location is nice and central. The hotel is simple but neat and clean - did not need anything more than that for a few hours of sleep. Will be back just because of the price, location and quality of the hotel. It's not easy finding a decent hotel for a good price in Zurich - but this is one of the few.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliReich, Front Office Manager at Altstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear guest,

We're happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay and had all you needed.

We're looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel and wish you a nice spring-time.

Yours faithfully,

Simone Müller
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The location of the hotel is great and it's very close to the lake and the Bahnhofstrasse. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. We really liked the small cosy bar next to the entrance. The service is very friendly and it is great to read various newspaper with some Jazz music in the background with a good coffee or a glas of wine on the table. The sandwiches and the cakes are lovely as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RROesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliReich, Front Office Manager at Altstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad to hear that you've had some good and relaxing moments in our bar.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again at our Hotel Altstadt.

Yours faithfully,

Simone Müller
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Small hotel across the river from the financial district. Rooms not big but comfortable and had everything they needed. Friendly staff and lots of atmosphere in the bar. Location away from all the grey suits and stuffed shirts that most hotels in Zurich seem to be full of. Good value as well. Top marks - will definitely use it next time I am there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Rossli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
299 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
863 reviews
Old Town
Hotel California
Hotel California
#86 of 139 in Zurich
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#56 of 139 in Zurich
164 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 139 in Zurich
781 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#54 of 139 in Zurich
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel

Property: Altstadt Hotel
Address: Kirchgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altstadt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Altstadt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing