We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at a reasonably priced hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay at a reasonably priced hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We were at this hotel for 2 nights. The location is great for Hallenstadion gigs and the trams go every 3-4 minutes just outside the hotel to the centrum of Zurich. The tram ride takes about 14 minutes. The trains from the Zurich airport come to Oerlikon station just 400 meters from the hotel. The Zurich public transport system is just fantastic.

No problems with the room, the people at the reception were nice.
The only negative point is the breakfast, that is just too minimal for the price: No vegetables or salads etc.
But I'd stay at this hotel again when in Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ande2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    153
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
104
34
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

My wife and I backpacked through Switzerland, Italy, and Greece for two weeks and this was by far the nicest room we stayed in for our entire trip. There was nothing especially wonderful about it; it was simply clean, comfortable, and had a very convenient location.

We had a view of the street from our room and a nice balcony that we could've enjoyed had we not been there for only one night. The bed was incredibly comfortable (especially by European standards!) and the room was large enough so that we didn't feel like we were tripping over our bags anytime we moved around the room.

If you're looking for a modest, comfortable stay in Zürich, this is a great place for you. It wasn't necessarily cheap (this is Switzerland, remember...you won't find anything worth staying in for a "cheap" price), but it was in a great neighborhood north of the main business district and very close to the airport. It was less than a 10-minute walk to the train station and then about a 5-minute ride on the train to either the airport or the central train station downtown.

  • Liked — Convenient location and quiet, clean room
  • Disliked — Not many restaurants nearby
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonerFanInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

friendly staff but significant room hygiene issues. fair price but not very central. fine for short and cheap stay to do day trips to zurich and surrounding.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 74MarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

Just came back from a weekend trip in Zurich. A friend and I had booked our room with Sternen Oerlikon Hotel several months prior to traveling. However when we arrived at the hotel, they did not have the room we reserved available. Instead of a double, non-smoking room, we were told they only had single, smoking rooms left. In dealing with the mistake the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. While, the hotel itself wsa clean and relatively close to the city center, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Fins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

I have been staying here for years and it continues to be my first choice in terms of value and comfort. The staff is friendly and the accommodations are always comfortable. The real plus is the location with lots of necessities right outside the door in Oerlikon and the train station just a short walk away. Last year I received a card for my 60th birthday signed by all the staff. Beat that Hilton!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uskuhlmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2007

My husband and I stayed her for 1 night in November 2006. Our room was simple and clean, including a bathroom that transformed itself into a shower stall. It is not centrally located, but about a block away from the tram.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank mucholucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2006

This hotel was good value for what we paid - through Orbitz we got a deal where breakfast was included (it was 17 CHF per person otherwise). The english speaking staff were helpful, even had a room ready for us when we checked in at 8am. There is a shuttle from Zurich Airport for 30 CHF, though you are best to ask at the info desk in the airport because it's a bit tricky to find the shuttle stop. Our room with a "city view" (i.e. a back alley view) was a comfortable size, but it was a little stuffy. The bathroom is very small, I believe it was possible to use the toilet, shower *and* sink at the same time! . There is a public transit ticket window and stop nearby, as well as various dining options. Additionally, the wireless internet was about 7 CHF for 15 mins, but it became more economical if you purchased more time. All n' all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maniacmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Coronado Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#41 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Property: Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing