We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made us feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich
Ranked #57 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Superb service underscored our stay at the Alden. The staff, from management to doorman, couldn't do enough for us. Tucked away in a quaint and quiet part of the city, it was still close to transportation and within walking distance of city center. The room was spacious and clean, and came with amenities that helped make our stay very memorable. The restaurant is exceptional. Overall, a great place for a romantic getaway or a comfortable business excursion. A bit pricey, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kambond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

I love the Alden for its quiet luxury without overstatement. There is always a warm welcome when you enter this hotel. It is a small and personal place that allows for a relaxed and comfortable stay in a cozy atmosphere. I didn't have time to try the restaurant but I checked the menu, which pointed towards Italian cuisine. I would love to come back to this place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasfischli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We booked a 3 night weekend special in a Deluxe Room [Mini-Suite], to recoup after our long flight from California. Upon arrival, and too tired to venture out, we had an excellent dinner in the Hotel dining room, it was so good, we had dinner at the hotel again on our last night.
Our rate included breakfast, which we had brought to our room every morning, and it was by far, the BEST breakfast anywhere in the world, great eggs, freshly squeezed juices, freshly baked breads, rolls, croissants, a plate of cheeses, another of cold meats, great coffee, fruit, wow, too much to eat - we didn't need lunch!
This is a great, quiet location a short walk to the Bahnofstrasse [shopping street] and Altstadt [old town] and Lake.
We privtely arranged car service to/from the airport thru Abba Transfers, less expensive than booking through the Hotel.
The Concierge staff is extremely helpful, and did everything to make our stay memorable, including reservations at a private hillside club overlooking the lake, with cocktails on the terrace, and dinner in the Members Only dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalPlacesToSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

The hotel is located in a neighborhood of gorgeous late 19th century homes and apartment buildings, just a block from the lake and a very short stroll to the Bahnhofstrasse and the Old Town, and provides a very comfortable and luxurious base in Zurich. It’s very small—only 22 suites, I believe, but the suites are very spacious and nicely appointed with a mix of antiques and contemporary furnishings and artworks. It’s nice not to be nickled and dimed at a 5-star hotel, and with all of the items in the minibar, except alcohol, free, as well as free internet access, the hotel certainly wants to make you feel comfortable. Drawbacks? Sure: the public rooms are small and not especially interesting or impressive, and there’s no gym or spa or grounds, so other than having a comfortable living room and bedroom and bathroom, there’s nothing at the hotel to occupy oneself. But I suspect most people don’t come to Zurich to remain within their hotel. The breakfast buffet was good, but not spectacular. The room service dinner I ordered was quite good. The bathrooms are excellent—powerful water pressure in a superb daisy-head shower, separate tub, Bulgari toiletries, and a high-tech toilet. It opened in 2004, and remains in very good condition. So I’d much prefer to stay here than at one of the older grande dame hotels. So between this and the Dolder Grand, there are two recently opened and distinctly 5-star hotels in Zurich. And while the Alden is nowhere nearly as impressive as the Dolder Grand, which is currently my favorite urban hotel in the world, its one advantage over the Dolder, for some, is its excellent location within the town rather than on the hill above town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

This is a small boutique hotel in a convenient location near Lake Zurich and downtown. The suite was generous in size and the bathroom was fantastic.

Now for my problems: There are strange little half-steps all around the hotel and in the rooms... If you are not careful you will trip. Secondly, they allow smoking in the common areas of the hotel and they have a bad ventillation system. So if you don't like second hand smoke, don't come here. The in-house restaurant was almost unbearable with smoke. The non-smoking section was always being used for some other purpose and not available. The lobby areas were also usually filled with smoke. The hotel and restaurant seemed to be understaffed. We waited forever to get food. It appeared there was only one server for the entire restaurant. The food at breakfast and lunch was tasty and good. The hotel staff seemed to be not adequately trained and did not seem to know Zurich very well. They did not know us by name even after a three days stay unlike many other small hotels at which I have stayed. Parking is free at the hotel, but sometimes not available, but the staff does a great job and will repark your car when space is available. Internet is free if you have your own pc if you get a wire from the front desk.... If you use the wifi, there is a charge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glennopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Decent value for money spent. Hotels in Zurich are not cheap and the Alden is no exception but I was given a very nice room upgrade. Service was very good and the hotel was very centrally located. My only complaint was the wi-fi which was provided through Swisscom hotspot at the cost of CHF 25 for a 24-hour period. The problem is that your computer/iPhone does not stay logged in so if you want to check your email every 20 or 30 minutes then you have to log in each time-- and Swisscom gives out an incredibly long numerical userid which is impossible to memorize, rendering the whole process cumbersome. And hey, hotels that charge this much money should give out wireless for free. I went from the Alden in Zurich to the Beau Rivage in Geneva and the B.R. did not charge for internet usage. That's the way it should be.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigalahoigala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This is my 1st time posting a review but here goes, hope this is useful.

I stayed here with my mother during our visit to Zurich. The hotel is small, clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in a standard room. The room was nice and spacious with seperate living and sleeping areas. The beds were basic and comfortable but low to the ground (incase you have any joint conditions etc). The room had a shower and whirlpool bath. There were fresh flowers in the living area and bathroom. Fresh fruit and soft drinks were included in the price and were topped up every day ... a definite plus during the summer months! There isnt much fault I can find in the hotel or service. The staff were nice and helpful, the rooms were clean and modern, the location was central with the main attractions within 20 to 30 mins walking distance. Zurich is a very small city, so if you can walk, getting to places wont be a hassle. Try avoiding the Taxis as they are very expensive. We were charged on average 70 Swiss Francs for approx 25 mins journey between the Hotel and the Airport. Trams are a good way to get around the city.

The breakfast on offer wasnt great - not much to choose from ... however you could get freshly made eggs - the breakfast was a let down and would be my only complaint.

While this hotel is awarded the 5 Star rating, I would deem it more a 4 Star Hotel - it just doesnt have the Grandeur of a 5 Star Hotel.

The hotel atmosphere was very quiet - not much buzz about the place, rarely ever saw any of the guests, even at brekafast. And across from the hotel entrance, there was major construction work happening.

And to confirm 'YES - ZURICH IS EXPENSIVE'

p.s. all shops are closed on sunday except for cafes and restaurants.

Must See - BahnHof Strasse, The Old Town, Lake Zurich ...

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spring_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 137 in Zurich
948 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
826 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#8 of 137 in Zurich
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 137 in Zurich
717 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 137 in Zurich
503 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#11 of 137 in Zurich
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich

Address: Spluegenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £258 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing