We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best, friendliest hotel that I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We have stayed at this hotel many times. After getting off an overseas trip, no one could ask for better accommodations. The staff is first class, but sweet and accessible. The room is amazing. It is so quiet and comfortable and immaculate. I cannot say enough great things about The Alden.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funsouthofboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

Karin and all the staff at the Alden are superb. The service level was phenomenal and uncompromisingly accommodating. I strongly recommend this hotel on all fronts, value, comfort, rooms, service and location. Don't miss out.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

A very discrete, boutique, friendly, highly service oriented hotel. Spacious, well furnished rooms, large bathrooms, superb Japanese W/C's, good & reliable food (perhaps a little conservative), A few minutes from Bahnofstrasse.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspired_by_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

A great recently renewed hotel were obviously everybody makes his best (and succeeds!) to please the client. The room was large and very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and quickly served.The location is ideal to do business in the centre or to enjoy some tourism in the heart of Zurich. We have not try the restaurant but we will next time!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascalnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We received all the service you would expect from a hotel of this caliber, the staff was very attentive and helped us with every question or problem we experienced; both aptly and quickly. The hotel is quite small with 20-so suites. We stayed in the days between Christmas and New Years and even though we were far from alone at the hotel it often seemed like the staff was only there for us. We met a few other couples both from the US and from Europe.

Rooms were spacious and in very good order. Rooms have high speed internet in the living rooms but this requires a cable (which front desk gladly sends up to you) there is also wireless access in the rooms (and probably bar/restaurant too) but this comes with a small fee. The in-house restaurant was very good and was happy to introduced us to swiss wine (which is hard to find in Northern Europe).

The Hotel is not in the city center but quite close. Just a block away is a nice lakeside park which you can stroll into lower downtown through. Otherwise central downtown (Paradenplatz, Storchengasse) is either a short walk or a quick two stop tram ride away.

We will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusEricsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We have stayed in all of the top hotels in Zurich over the past several years, paid very high prices and in most cases got what we paid for, but at the Alden Hotel Splugenschloss, our wonderful room, the attentive staff, the lovely free breakfast and the handy location far exceeded what we paid. When we arrived, we were greeted by Caroline, a treasure and a gem. She set the tone for our entire visit and was charming every time we encountered her. We booked the least expensive room, since we were not sure what to expect. To our utter surprise, the room was absolutely wonderful! I was traveling with my two 20-something daughters and we were perfectly prepared to share a bedroom and a bathroom. What a happy surprise to discover that our room included a powder room (as well as the most roomy, modern, decadent master bath that you can imagine), and a living room (with a lovely balcony), with a sofa that turned into a very comfortable bed! The little mini-fridge was filled with candy and soft drinks, which we were free to take at no extra charge. They were replenished daily. Anyone who has slept in a 5 star hotel in Zurich knows how fantastic the beds are. The Alden Hotel is no exception. The beds were like clouds and the linens were heavenly, and don't even get me started on those plump feather pillows! There were two in-room safes, a towel warmer in the bathroom and flat screen t.v.'s in both the bedroom and living room. There is high speed internet which is not free. We walked to the old town in about 15 minutes, a charming walk along the lake. Breakfast every morning was included. This was a really lovely buffet which included smoked salmon, several kinds of cold meats and cheeses, all kinds of bread and rolls, marvelously ripe fruit (where did they get it in the dead of winter?!), as well as some other items. You could also order eggs any way you like them with bacon, sausage, etc., etc. There was coffee and fresh fruit juices, etc. The dining room was a lovely, peaceful place to enjoy this delicious repast. If you require a fancy spa and a huge lobby and a cookie cutter hotel in any way, the Alden is not for you. If you like to feel instantly as if you have come home the moment you step into a hotel, if you like that the staff is warm and friendly and helpful and charming, if you need lots of space in a bathroom and a bedroom, if you like your breakfast elegant and delicious, and if for a change you would like to feel as if you are getting a lot for the money, this is the hotel at which to stay. We cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I'm-never-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

First tis is a delicious hotel. And a warm hospitality. With thanks for the upgrade.
Beautiful fine chamber. (3D) superb bath chamber. I took some photograph and will do made and this way something I at
my bathroom rebuilding also, nice inspiration. Breakfast top, relaxed and very well! Special newspapers service
also a lot appreciated. Internet (free) on the chamber, verry good!. Also the free drinks on the room, good thing! (First you have a delicious hotel. And a warm hospitality. With thanks for the upgrade.
Beautiful fine chamber. (3D) superb bath chamber. I took some photograph and will do made and this way something I at
my bathroom rebuilding also, nice inspiration. Breakfast top, relaxed and very well! Special newspapers service
also a lot appreciated. Internet (free) on the chamber, verry good!. Also the drinks on the room, good thing! First you have a delicious hotel. And a warm hospitality. With thanks for the upgrade.
Beautiful fine chamber. (3D) superb bath chamber. I took some photograph and will do made and this way something I at
my bathroom rebuilding also, nice inspiration. Breakfast top, relaxed and very well! Special newspapers service
also a lot appreciated. Internet (free) on the chamber, verry good!. Also the drinks on the room, good thing!
The return trip went very well here and there a firm snowstorm but thanks well arrived.
And also thany you fort the snacks en drink bag, verry nice!!
In short if I come ever in Zurich then it definitely ALDEN are!

regards,First you have a delicious hotel. And a warm hospitality. With thanks for the upgrade.
Beautiful fine chamber. (3D) superb bath chamber. I took some photograph and will do made and this way something I at
my bathroom rebuilding also, nice inspiration. Breakfast top, relaxed and very well! Special newspapers service
also a lot appreciated. Internet (free) on the chamber, verry good!. Also the drinks on the room, good thing! ( nonalcoholic)
And also thany you for the snacks en drink bag, verry nice!! The return trip by car.
In short if I come ever in Zurich then it definitely ALDEN are!

regards,
fred

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredvdFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Park Hyatt Zurich
#5 of 137 in Zurich
954 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
513 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 137 in Zurich
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Baur En Ville
#89 of 137 in Zurich
128 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
842 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich

Address: Spluegenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Zurich
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#39 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: £251 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing