We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Values the price ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
Ranked #47 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Values the price ”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a very good area and it's very close to the TRAM system which makes all your journeys very comfortable and fast. In that city, you really fell as in Europe. The city is very sophisticated as it's placed in the Germanic side. All your best memories are gonna happen in the winter atmosphere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Isidoro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for very nice comments about your stay. We hope that you will continue to recommend us and would be very happy to welcome you again at the Sorell Hotel Seidenhof.
Yours sincerely
Matthias Ramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    224
    81
    21
    6
See reviews for
68
103
65
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great hotel, wonderful location close to Bahnhofstrasse.
Clean modern functional rooms, nice size, bath and shower.
Excellent buffet breakfast.
Highy recommend for both business and pleasure.
first class value

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mejesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the very nice comments that we were able to receive and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Yours sincerely

Matthias Ramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Cant fault the location of this hotel. Most places in the city in walking distance.

Our room on the third floor was huge - loads of space and great value for money. Nice balcony windows to see the Christmas decorations in the city.

Staff where really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fairly basic but good value when with the room rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Yours sincerely

Matthias Ramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The company paid my stay and it was quite an expensive stay. I would have been quite disappointed if I'd been on a holiday. The room was ok, clean and nice. One evening and one morning there was no hot water. The breakfast wasn't that good and didn't have that many choices. The staff was polite and helpful and the location is really excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EeeeWok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. As well we would like to apologize inconvenience with the hot water. It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit and to show that we can be better than the last time. Please contact me directly during your next visit to our hotel.
Yours sincerely

Matthias Ramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Due to a business trip prior to the Christmas day - i decided to bring our family out for a special Christmas. The hotel suited our needs and great value for money. The rooms were spacious and clean and the hotel staff were most helpful indeed. A great breakfast and lots to chose from and certainly very filling. The hotel provided us with 10CHF per room to spend at the restaurant in the hotel. One thing to note when staying in Zurich over Christmas - shops close earlyish on Christmas eve and don't open until the 27th. So most of Zurich is very quiet on Christmas Day and Boxing day - all the major shops and the Christmas markets all shut.It didn't matter for us as we planned mountain tours on both days. You will be able to find restaurants around but may need a little exploring to find them out. We found a great eating place ( also serves great coffees) around the corner at the hotel Hilti - serves vegetarian food - fantastic choice, you can top up your plate with as much as you want, you just pay by the weight of the food you have put on to your plate. Excellent value - worth a try.
A couple of things - this hotel is centrally located and great place. 10 minute walk to the station, if you buy a train ticket remember you are allowed to catch the tram ( and very efficient ) network - just check your ticket which areas you can use it in - also its great to hop on to the tram after a tiring day out - the tram stop is very near the hotel. The old town, 15 minute walk away from the hotel - go along the road Oentenbachgasse - this is a quick route to the old town and a lovely olde worlde buildings - great place to go for a drink in the evenings.
Christmas markets close after 8:30/9pm. Also the hotel is very near the coop store - here you can pick up reasonably priced food and drinks - might help with your budget whilst staying in Zurich.
Mountain tours - great value for money.
Will be returning again.

Room Tip: The best tip i can offer is to have a room which faces internally onto the court yard - and not a on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your very nice feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. With great pleasure we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Yours sincerely

Matthias Ramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This centrally located hotel is terrific value for Zurich. The room was clean and warm and had such comfortable beds. Breakfast was fine and the staff so helpful. The reception staff deserve a special mention, they were pleasant and friendly and fulfilled our every request with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobysmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very glad to hear, that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Sorell Hotel Seidenhof and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.
Yours sincerely
Matthias Ramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citerna, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Seidenhof is certainly our hotel of choice for a short stay in Zurich.
Next to Jelmoli parking and very close to the station and the
famous Bahnhof Strasse they offer very good value for money,
notably in the weekends. When you choose a superior room,
you will certainly not be deluded, those rooms are beautiful and very
spacious.
The only thing that is slightly disappointing is the breakfast,
but that is a minor issue compared to the rest.

Room Tip: If you want a guaranteed quiet night, ask for a room on the inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Seidenhof, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and would be very pleased to welcome you again in the Seidenhof. And if you will continue to recommend us, we thank you kindly.
Yours sincerely
Matthias Ramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#30 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#35 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexander
#38 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Hotel City Zurich
#71 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#52 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Seidenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Seidenhof

Property: Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
Address: Sihlstrasse 9 | 8001 Zurich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Zurich
#48 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorell Hotel Seidenhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich's Bahnhofstrasse is Switzerland's best address. It's also the address of the Sorell Hotel Seidenhof. A top hotel in a top location for discerning business and leisure guests in Zurich. The Seidenhof impresses guests with its legendary breakfast buffet and restaurant Mishio with its garden oasis. Guests also benefit from room service, porter service, laundry service and 24-hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sorell Hotel Seidenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing